We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 West Camel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect retreat”
Reviewed 30 October 2009

second time i have stayed at the walnut tree yet again not disapointed just love everything about it the staff the rooms the food cannot wait to return

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    42
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
68
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We've often stopped off at the Walnut Tree for lunch on the way to Devon but decided to stop for the weekend this time. It was a nice friendly hotel with good food, the restaurant was a bit dear so we ate in the pub which was fine. A nice village with some good walks. The Fleet Air Arm Musem nearby is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Having stayed there just recently ,I found it very friendly and with a great atmosphere ,the food was well presented and good portions.the only thing i found missing was not having any biscuits on the tea tray in the bedroom ...but otherwise it is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANMOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I stayed here on business recently and had to write a review as The Walnut Tree was absolutely great. I stay in a lot of hotels through work and after a 6 hour drive to get to Yeovil to get for a meeting, wasn't expecting too much. The hotel/B&B was warm and welcomg (yes the decor is quite flowery but that's what I'd expect from a B&B plus the place was spotless and very cosy). There were plenty of locals drinking in the bar which gave a nice ambience and always suggests a good establishment. The staff were professional and friendly, and when we sat down to dinner we (me and 2 colleagues) were blown away. The menu was the type which is changed daily, which always bodes well, and the food was fresh, home-made by the chef (the owner?) and was absolutely delicious. The same can be said for breakfast. I opted for the full English which was cooked to perfection and not at all greasy. Throughout our stay the staff were constantly attentive but unintrusive to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. They even let us keep our room after checkout time when we needed it to work in. I would definitely return if going back to Yeovil - it's only a ten minute drive away from the town too. We booked direct with the hotel and at an amazing rate of about £80 including breakfast, I think it beats a lot of the big-chain hotels we stay in hands-down.

  • Liked — The food and the great service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsALeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2007

A good value basic hotel. The room decor was a bit "80's" but clean and spacious. The staff, however, were excellent. Very friendly and helpful, particularly at breakfast where they seemed to be on a mission to feed you! I was on my own but the pleasant atmosphere resulted in guests getting into conversation. A good place to stop on a business trip and I would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lillibet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

I stayed in this hotel for just one night on business. Whilst often advertised as Yeovil, it is in fact about 10 km out of town in the tiny village of West Camel. Its location about 1 km from the A303 places it a good position for those travelling along that highway or touring the area. The hotel has a good feel about it which, for me, was spoilt only by an extremely uncomfortable bed (very lumpy mattress). This place has won an Egon Ronay Award for food and this is reflected in the prices - cheapest lunch time meal was £8.95 and cheapest evening main course was £13.50. I paid £72 for B&B which is I thought was quite expensive for is in effect only a country pub. There is plenty of parking and staff were courteous and polite. Overall impression was good, if not a little over priced.

  • Liked — Great atmosphere, just felt good.
  • Disliked — A very lumpy mattress. Expensive food.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Old_Waspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Camel
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
6.1 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
3.6 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hawk House
Hawk House
#3 of 3 in West Camel
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Garden B&B
River Garden B&B
#2 of 3 in West Camel
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Fore Street | West Camel, West Camel, Yeovil BA22 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Camel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Camel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant West Camel, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing