We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excellent”
Review of River Garden B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Garden B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 West Camel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked this place at very short notice (about 3 hours) and arriving late at night. Neither of which seemed to inconvenience our hosts, Kim and Barry. They were there to greet us with a warm welcome to their barn in spite of hour. Our room was spacious enough to house the 3 of us (including 2 year old) and was so comfortable we all slept through what a local friend of ours described as "the worst storm here for years".

Breakfast was a welcome treat. A great list to choose from. Loved the idea that the cooked breakfast menu wasn't so much a menu but a list of options you could choose from to put on your plate. A small touch but gave a welcome, homely feel. Simply a "what would you like?" question, rather than a "this is what you can have" statement.

Stepping outside in to, albeit, sodden daylight gave us our first proper view of this impressive barn. A beautiful structure that wouldn't be lost sat at the head of a vineyard offering cellar door tastings. This place has been beautifully renovated and deserves success.

We wish we could have stayed longer but needs must so we set off feeling grateful for the rest and knowing we'd found an idyllic spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Abbie,
Thanks for your lovely feedback. We are really glad you had a good time and hope to see you again.
Kim & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for River Garden B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was cosy and recently decorated, with a good telly and French windows out onto the patio and garden, leading down to the river. We went for a two room option where you share a bathroom with the room next door, which is great for families and is very good value. The full English breakfast was excellent and the owners offered to get us anything in that we fancied for subsequent days after the first morning. They could not have done more to be friendly, welcoming and to provide suggestions for local sights. The location was perfect, just far enough off the A303 not to hear it but still very convenient for the local main road network. The village is charming and very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penders65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello Alan & Eva,

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would come again. All the best for your wedding - we wish you a perfect day!

Kim & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently spent the Bank Holiday weekend at this B & B, it was as a result of undertaking the Tour of Wessex 3 Day Cyclo Sportive based in Somerton.

The location was very convenient for this event, the owners are very Cycle Friendly and have a room to decant your precious steed into.

The B & B itself was of a very high standard very clean and well furnished with a fab view of the Graden and River, a place to sit outside and relax as well.....PLUSH is the word.

I did not choose the ensuite option and shared facilities which was no problem at all the facilites were perfect the showers were perfect with plenty of power and hot water.

Great nights sleep, the owners could not be anymore welcoming!

Thank you very Much

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompey_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Paul,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the review & we hope to see you again. Very impressed at the amount of cycling you did over the 3 days, and with no obvious signs of aching muscles!

Kim & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night and wished that it was longer. The owners have only been open for a few months which we were not aware off before we booked. But there were no teething troubles whatsoever. As has already been said the original beams are immense giving real character to the room. We can really recommend this charming B and B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Richard,

Thanks for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come again for a longer stopover.

Kim & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arriving late in the evening in pouring rain, I was given a warm welcome and offered tea and home made rock cakes (with chocolate!), delicious and made me feel at home straight away!
Stayed in the tastefully furnished "blue" room with cosy and comfortable furniture ensured I had a wonderful night's rest. Stunning views of the gardens and delicious breakfast - cant wait to visit again. Many thanks Kim and Barry you have the perfect B & B!
Toiletries supplied were excellent too :-)

Room Tip: All rooms to a high standard.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello Fiona,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We hope all is well & look forward to seeing you again.

Kim & Barry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a 2 night stay here everything was perfect, Kim and Barry very helpful, and there if needed in fact they had just the right balance of care.Bed very comfortable, breakfast superb will be staying again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello Martin,

Thanks very much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you all coming back again.

Kim & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A fantastic little privately owned B&B, in West Camel just outside Yeovil. Great location for touring around the sites of Somerset and Devon, like Glastonbury, Sherbourne and Yeovilleton.

The room was delightful with original oak beams, well furnished with lovely ensuite bathroom supplied with great toiletries. The bed and quiet dark room provided for a very peaceful and comfortable night's sleep.

An excellent breakfast was served each morning in their spectacular upstairs dining area, each time tailored to individual requests (and anything up to and including a Full English).

The owners and hosts Kim and Barry have setup and run River Garden with exceptional attention to detail. They make guests feel welcome from the very first moment (providing coffee and home-baked treats on arrival, served out in the garden thanks to gorgeous spring weather); until final departure. They have lots of relevant, local tourist information available and provided some excellent recommendations for local dining.

Highly recommended and look forward to visiting again in the near future...

Room Tip: The Blue Room with it's ensuite bathroom is excellent!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Tim,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd love to see you both again and we have plenty more recommendations for things to do and places to eat!

Kim & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Camel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
230 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hawk House
Hawk House
#3 of 3 in West Camel
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Liongate House
Liongate House
#1 of 1 in Ilchester
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Garden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden B&B

Address: Parsons Pightle Back Street | Back Street, West Camel, Yeovil BA22 7QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Camel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Camel
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Garden B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Garden is a converted barn in the heart of the beautiful village of West Camel, where you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. Free on-site parking.Kim & Barry provide 4 rooms with direct access to the garden. Breakfast is served in the Grand Hall with its 17th century oak beams and stained glass.Free WiFi, 32" Sony Freeview TV, power showers and luxury toiletries in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Garden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Garden B&B West Camel, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing