We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a peaceful trip away.”
Review of River Garden B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Garden B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 West Camel B&B and Inns
gloucestershire
1 review
“Beautiful place for a peaceful trip away.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As soon as we arrived i was impressed with what i was welcomed into. The owners were lovely and the room spacious, spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. We arrived on the 3rd of July which was a lovely day so spent time in the garden which our bedroom doors allowed us on to. The garden was beautiful and well looked after. We stayed 2 nights and each morning had a delicious cooked breakfast which gave us a good start to our days out. We are hoping to make a full week of it next year as there are plenty of places to visit in the area. I would give the River garden 10 out of 10 and definitley recommend it others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Both,
Thanks for your review and recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to see you again.
Kim & Barry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
38
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here on the 19th June after the local Holiday Inn over booked. What a treat! Really great accommodation and surroundings and the owners could not have been more helpful. I would recommend the River Garden to anyone.

Room Tip: they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burdieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Andy,
We were glad we could help after the disappointing start to your evening! Happy you enjoyed your stay.
Kim & Barry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I, as well as our daughter, son-in-law, and 18 month old grand-daughter stayed at River Garden earlier this week. What a terrific place...? The proprietors, Kim and Barry, were wonderfully warm hosts - almost like we were house guests of theirs, rather than paying visitors. Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Delicious breakfast too. Beautiful gardens with the rooms opening directly onto a terrace and the lawns rolling down to the River Cam. A walk around the village before you leave is also a must. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi to you All,
It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as our lovely village. Hope to see you again.
Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were looking for a convenient stop off to break up our journey on the A303 and ended up finding a real gem of a B&B. Such a warm and friendly welcome when we arrived with tea and delicious cake in the garden! The room was extremely comfortable, with everything you could need and spotlessly clean. Our two boys loved the garden, which we had french doors leading out to. After a delicious cooked breakfast, which kept us going for the rest of the day, we were a little sad to have to rush off to continue on our journey. Next time we will be visiting for longer and exploring the local area! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiEW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Nikki,
Thanks for your comments. We are so glad your boys loved the garden and that you had a good stay. It'll be great to see you for longer next time.
Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived in rain which continued for most of our stay so we didn't get to see a lot of the garden but ample tea in the upstairs lounge with some tasty lemon drizzle cake was very welcome.

Our room was spacious, clean, well-equipped and friendly. Doors onto the garden allowed us to enjoy watching the rain from inside. Everything worked properly. Breakfast was what it should be with lovely local fresh bread though I'm not fond of little pots of jam. The 5 star kitchen certificate was proudly displayed, rightly so.

All in all this place is run to a very high standard while managing to be homely and friendly. That's not easy so we were very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hersom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello Simon,
Thank you for your review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked this place at very short notice (about 3 hours) and arriving late at night. Neither of which seemed to inconvenience our hosts, Kim and Barry. They were there to greet us with a warm welcome to their barn in spite of hour. Our room was spacious enough to house the 3 of us (including 2 year old) and was so comfortable we all slept through what a local friend of ours described as "the worst storm here for years".

Breakfast was a welcome treat. A great list to choose from. Loved the idea that the cooked breakfast menu wasn't so much a menu but a list of options you could choose from to put on your plate. A small touch but gave a welcome, homely feel. Simply a "what would you like?" question, rather than a "this is what you can have" statement.

Stepping outside in to, albeit, sodden daylight gave us our first proper view of this impressive barn. A beautiful structure that wouldn't be lost sat at the head of a vineyard offering cellar door tastings. This place has been beautifully renovated and deserves success.

We wish we could have stayed longer but needs must so we set off feeling grateful for the rest and knowing we'd found an idyllic spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Abbie,
Thanks for your lovely feedback. We are really glad you had a good time and hope to see you again.
Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was cosy and recently decorated, with a good telly and French windows out onto the patio and garden, leading down to the river. We went for a two room option where you share a bathroom with the room next door, which is great for families and is very good value. The full English breakfast was excellent and the owners offered to get us anything in that we fancied for subsequent days after the first morning. They could not have done more to be friendly, welcoming and to provide suggestions for local sights. The location was perfect, just far enough off the A303 not to hear it but still very convenient for the local main road network. The village is charming and very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penders65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello Alan & Eva,

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would come again. All the best for your wedding - we wish you a perfect day!

Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Camel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
6.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawk House
Hawk House
#2 of 3 in West Camel
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Garden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden B&B

Property: River Garden B&B
Address: Parsons Pightle Back Street | Back Street, West Camel, Yeovil BA22 7QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Camel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Camel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Garden B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Garden is a converted barn in the heart of the beautiful village of West Camel, where you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. Free on-site parking.Kim & Barry provide 4 rooms with direct access to the garden. Breakfast is served in the Grand Hall with its 17th century oak beams and stained glass.Free WiFi, 32" Sony Freeview TV, power showers and luxury toiletries in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your River Garden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Garden B&B West Camel, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing