We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Carents House

Carents House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carents House
Ranked #5 of 5 Montacute B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent accommodation in a quaint village, apartment style was a bonus, everything you needed and more, would certainly visit again if in the area. The village has two pubs, an interesting church, a folly on top of the hill overlooking the village, and of course Montacute House a National Trust property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is a charming B&B in the historic village of Montacute. Accommodation was a pleasant suprise - apartment style with own sitting room and small kitchen area. Wonderful breakfast and room(s) has everything you need from DVD player to lovely touches such as jars full of Cuppa soups and sweets.Diana was most welcoming and informative. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebourneidentity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I am in two minds about writing an honest review here as I fear I shan’t be able to book again because it will be fully booked as a result! However, I shall keep my fingers crossed…..

I wanted to get away for a few days on my own but without the need to drive too far so my first search criterion was Somerset. After that, I searched for a B&B with specific requirements, rather than a town or village, and came up with Carents House. It looked and felt right and the comments were all positive – as well as the price being excellent value.

What really sold it to me was that it offered extra space - at normal B&Bs all you have is your bedroom and occasionally a guests' lounge which, inevitably, seldom offers solitude. At Carents House, you get the usual bedroom with en-suite shower room but this one also comes with a kitchenette (with sink, full-size fridge, microwave and tea and coffee making facilities) and a small lounge with TV and DVD and your own dining table where you are served a fantastic breakfast. On top of this, the lounge leads onto a balcony/terrace which overlooks the garden and nearby church – what a joy to come back after a day out, take your chilled wine from the fridge and sit on the balcony with a good book. Absolute bliss!

The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was spotlessly clean and fresh smelling; there is ample wardrobe space.

Diana’s breakfast has to be the best (and biggest) cooked breakfast I have ever had – anywhere. The taste and quality of the ingredients were excellent and the portions, enormous. I certainly didn’t need to find anywhere for lunches while I was there. Diana is a fabulous hostess and really makes sure you lack for nothing.

On the first evening I ate at The Phelips Arms – and didn’t bother to discover if the other pub in the village was as good because the food, prices and service were first class. The duck was superb.

Montacute is a lovely, quiet village and Montacute House is very close by – it’s well worth a visit, especially if you like walking as the grounds are extensive. The local area is very pretty and there are several National Trust properties in the vicinity, and Yeovil and Clarks Shopping Village at Street offer good opportunities for retail therapy.

As I indicated, I do so hope that Diana isn’t fully booked when I want to return, perhaps with my husband next time, as return I surely will. Thank you, Diana, for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newforestpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Myself and my Fiancee stayed for 4 nights at Carents House. Accommodation was excellent, breakfast beyond belief, my fiancee couldn't get enough of the full English Breakfast. Diana is a superb hostess and see's to all needs if asked. Free WI-FI which you don't get many places now, lovely views and very quiet. Montacute is a little gem of a village with Carents house in the centre. We are planning to go back again soon and also thinking of having our wedding there and we live in Glasgow. 5 stars everytime. Would and have recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Old school friend and I on gardens visit to Somerset mid July, decIded to stay overnight in Carents House (bed and breakfast) in Montecute, Somerset. Delightful hamstone village, beautiful church with tower, two pubs, village shop. Carents House in middle of village between the two pubs, a 4* b and b, clean and tidy. Booked a twin room, found we had a twin room with ensuite shower-room, small kitchenette area with sink, fridge, microwave, lounge (sofa, table & chairs,with large tv, digital, dvd). Off the lounge, balcony overlooking garden and village church - amazing for £60 room. Offroad parking.
Good, substantial full english breakfast served in lounge. Excellent value for money. A good base for touring in area.

Helpful?
2 Thank plantoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montacute
0.0 mi away
The Phelips Arms
The Phelips Arms
#3 of 5 in Montacute
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#1 of 5 in Montacute
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montacute Country Tearooms B&B
Show Prices

Been to Carents House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carents House

Property: Carents House
Address: 7A Middle Street, Montacute TA15 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Montacute
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montacute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Carents House Montacute, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing