We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fair Review”

Montacute Country Tearooms B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montacute Country Tearooms B&B
Ranked #4 of 5 Montacute B&B and Inns
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fair Review”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Montacute Country Tea Room,and Toy Museum attached, is obviously a unique location which could add to its quirky charm. The accomodation booked - selected using previous reviews and its three star rating - was clean, the breakfast adequately comprehensive and well cooked, the bed comfortable and, though the room was very very small (one had to move furniture in order to close the door to the room), it did also offer a shower.However, much less impressive was the overpowering smell of cooking fat on the ground floor where it was located as part of the general shop area, and the fact that the non ensuite WC, was actually just the tea room's public toilets with broken seats! My suggestion therefore -apart from finding a much more effective air extraction system, for the general comfort of staff and guests alike -would be that this particular room should no longer be marketed as a guest room. I later learned that the' budget' price at this establishment, for non ensuite accomodation, was actually more than a single with facilities at the comfortable pub nearby! Three stars seems extravagant, one nearer the mark!

Room Tip: Don't rent the downstairs single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

There were some good memories at the TV toy museum but at £6.99 it is ridiculously over-priced.
It consists of some dusty looking books, models and board games behind plastic sheeting, housed in a long hut. I realise this is the collection of an enthusiast but then it should be priced accordingly. Pop in if it is an interest and you're in the vicinity but I wouldn't make a special journey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a gem to find, so interesting with all the film and TV memorabilia (that makes you feel your age when you recognise all the ancient stuff!). My husband and I and our special needs adult son had the family room for a one night stay and were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble, even finding a bowl large enough for our son's FIVE WEETABIX breakfast! The best part for my husband was discovering that Mr.Hicken discovered the autobiography of 'JACK THE RIPPER', but he still thinks is was Kominski!
We fully intend to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathersee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

my partner and myself stayed here for two njghts,when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised the owners were very friendly. the room we stayed in was lovely and clean and had tea and coffee making facilities.the breakfast was very good plenty of choice and the full English was very good! we would book to stay again and would recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Went here out of the blue for the T.V and Film place. Really enjoy walking around this place brought back some great childhood memories of t.v.
Very good for the price the whole family really enjoyed it.
The only down side is finding the place as this is not on a main road and not well sign posted, not much to see in the village as one of them places if you blink you will miss it.
Parking is easy only a few feet away and FREE.
Hardly any steps so great for wheelchair users.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourdriver72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is not your average B & B, the rooms are fine the shower is brilliant , you won't get bored here , all around the breakfast/tea room are posters from old TV series. We enjoyed staying there in every respect, the only teenie weenie whinge is that we didn't like your scrambled egg! others probably will though. Well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

my two sons and i stayed here for two nights. first impression of the village was excellent charming and quiet and very peaceful, we had a very warm welcome when we checked in, the room was very clean, tea and coffee making facilities where good.
bed's where very comfortable, en-suite was very clean and roomy.
Breakfast was good set us up for the day, all ready book to return next year

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montacute
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
339 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montacute Country Tearooms B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montacute Country Tearooms B&B

Property: Montacute Country Tearooms B&B
Address: 1 South Street, Montacute TA15 6XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Montacute
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montacute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montacute Country Tearooms B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Montacute Country Tearooms B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montacute Country Tearooms B&B Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing