We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Different Experiences”
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Montacute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have eaten here twice recently with friends, first visit was lovely and service excellent.
Second visit was a bit different... Friend was frowned at by owner for not parking correctly and then once my friend politely replied was scoffed at again by the owner in front of other diners! We were eating a full meal with two very young infants so basically inconvenient especially as she had to leave her child to move the vehicle which actually posed no obstacle for other cars and wasn't at all in the way. Then the owner made another scoffing comment to the waitress about informing us of information on the menu which made us uncomfortable. Owner perhaps needs to lighten up a bit?! Otherwise food good and reasonably priced and love the decor. Shame about second visit. Perhaps we went on a bad day second time...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Charlottelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely couple, great staff, good room & generally all round exceeded our expectations. Food is very good, they really go the extra distance and the service was superb, nothing was too much trouble. They have been here 14 months and you can see how much effort they have made to make a success of it....... loads of little details were catered for. We don't have kids but there were games to play and even in the dining room I noticed there were things to keep them occupied such as clouded pencils and paper, neatly tucked away but within easy reach, it's all this attention to detail that sets it apart from other nice Inn's. Loved it.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Really Friendly service and great value bed and breakfast.
A great selection for breakfast
A great value bed and breakfast, room was spotless, a great selection of food for breakfast and a dinner menu that catered for everyones tastes.
Very friendly staff on all levels and we will be returning in September.
P.S Great Pimms!!
Chris N

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely B&B in a cute setting. Everyone was really friendly and helpful. Nice selection of food included for beakfast too. This was a lovely little find for us, just off the A303 but far enough away not to notice any traffic. The location is great especially if you like nice scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 672,012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Sunny day so decided to walk from Yeovil and hope we could get in for lunch.Went to the other pub in the village solely because geographically it came first. Staff were rude saying they were fully booked as we walked in the door. We didn't feel like staying for a drink in the beer garden. The Kings Arms was another story. Smiling young lady behind the bar. They were busy but we were happy to eat in the garden. Had a nice salmon and prawn salad and my husband had roast beef which he said was excellent.We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only stayed one night as booked in for a wedding close by, but would definately go again for a stay, didnt get to try the food except for a lovely full English breakfast (very good) The lunch and dinner menus looked very interesting. I would really like to go back and try the restaurant at some time. The staff were very informative and friendly and relaxed. the bar look fun but as i said we were out in the evening at a wonderful wedding so will have to experience the whole thing next visit. it would be a fantastic place to go for a weekend away. the owners are really lovely people

Room Tip: we had number 12 but friends had other rooms and they all seemed very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

There are not many places where I have not stayed in this area since my work often brings me to this region - what a splendid surprise to find Derek & Katherine and their splendid staff at what has to be one of the most comfortable Inns within the vincinty of Yoevil. As well as a very warm welcome for my three day stay I was informed that if I wished to dine a la carte they would only be too pleased to accommodate my wishes - I certainly did get spoilt and I have to say at very moderate prices for both my food and well balanced wine list. And so to bed - each of the letting rooms certainly have individual character and I look forward to my next, not to distant, stay in this picturesque "golden" sandstone village. Lots to see in the area for adults and children - don't miss the Fleet Air Arm Museum its a must for all the family!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Address: 49 Bishopston | near Yeovil, Montacute TA15 6UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Montacute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montacute
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Arms, Montacute. Nestling in the shadows of the village church and literally just a stone’s throw away from the National Trust’s Montacute House, the 17th century Kings Arms Inn has an idyllic setting with a bar, lots of comfy sofas, a restaurant and 15 letting rooms. Now under new ownership from February 2013, we are ready to put our stamp on this beautiful building. We look forward to welcoming customers old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Montacute
The Kings Arms Inn Montacute, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing