We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
74
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust lovely garden peaceful village premium room attending a wedding charming hosts thought of everything pot of tea fantastic breakfast full english yogurt following morning on arrival stayed for one night sue arms properties
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Slipper Cottage is a lovely, cosy little cottage in the beautiful little village of Montacute.
We had a wonderful 2 night stay here and were made to feel welcome by Pat and Sue, nothing was too much trouble. The room was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing! Plenty of National Trust properties nearby, along with Wells Cathedral and the Clarks village at Street. The 2 pubs in the village were both friendly and good food was served.We would definately stay here again!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank nikstan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Hi! Nik and Phil

Thanks for the great review.

Glad you had a good stay, and that you got home safely

Might see you in Bude sometime

Pat &Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Slipper Cottage is everything you could possibly hope for: beautiful, comfortable, convenient, and outstanding value. Pat and Sue are incredibly welcoming and made me, as a lone female traveller, feel very much at home. The breakfast is 5 star. A bargain at twice the price. If you are looking to stay in Montacute or any of the surrounding area, don't bother looking anywhere else. Slipper Cottage cannot possibly be beaten and I shall be returning as soon as I am able.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sandalybandaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, Helen, and thank you very much for such a wonderful review. It is not going to be easy to keep up with that accolade!!

Very glad it suited you so well.

Look forward to seeing you in the future

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

On arrival at Slipper Cottage, Sue welcomed us with tea and home-made cake in her comfortable lounge.

We stayed for 3 nights in the premium room. It had an en-suite with a bath and a luxuriously efficient shower. Ample towelling in soft green and pink contrasted pleasantly with the two-toned grey bathroom. Indeed, Sue's refined taste was evident throughout the cottage. And, at her recommendation, we greatly enjoyed relaxed dinners at the King's Arms, just opposite.

Then at breakfast, Sue and Pat provided a feast; generous portions of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices, croissants and a superbly cooked meal.
Whilst serving, Pat would chat to us; he has a wealth of anecdotes on Montacute, Somerset and everything in general.

When, at short notice, we wished to extend, our hosts re-scheduled their timetable, allowing us an extra night in the same room.
We left as friends, clutching a huge bag, full of damsons from the abundant garden.

Thank you Sue and Pat; your warm hospitality perfected our stay and we thoroughly recommend you for a relaxing visit to this wonderful part of Somerset.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidneyCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

A wonderful review - Thank you
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our wonderful part of the country

Hope to do so again

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This has to be one of the most amazing Bed and Breakfast places to stay. The hosts were so welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Our room had everything in it that you could have wanted, from a selection of DVD's to a fist aid kit ! Tea and coffee AND hot chocolate, not to mention an ironing board .The breakfasts set us up for the day, or the wedding that we were attending in this quaint village. So really top marks Pat and Sue, we will be telling all our chums.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Glebe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for a wonderful review!! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a pleasant journey home and your passports got you through the border OK. Must remember to look out for the Orchestra's performances locally.

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

A warm welcome from friendly and helpful hosts topped by a tastefully decorated room and lovely garden set in a picture postcard village! Sumptuous breakfasts at the B&B and excellent pub (King's Arms) a short stroll away for a fine dinner. Montacute is a great base for walking, visiting NT properties and gardens and other attractive small towns nearby. Although set in the centre of the village we were not bothered by traffic at all. Less crowded than the Cotswolds and great for a short break.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank countrycomforts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

What a lovely review- (almost as good as Falmouth Area - lol)
Thanks a lot, hope we see you again

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews