We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Carents House(Montacute)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Phelips Arms(Montacute)
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanes Hotel(West Coker)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Preston Bed & Breakfast(Yeovil)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Manor(Yeovil)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
71
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely gardennational trustfriendly hostsexcellent breakfastattending a weddingpeaceful villageyogurthomemade breadfull englishan overnight stayon arrivalfollowing morningstayed for one nightwarm welcomesuepubsarms
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Slipper Cottage is a lovely, cosy little cottage in the beautiful little village of Montacute.
We had a wonderful 2 night stay here and were made to feel welcome by Pat and Sue, nothing was too much trouble. The room was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing! Plenty of National Trust properties nearby, along with Wells Cathedral and the Clarks village at Street. The 2 pubs in the village were both friendly and good food was served.We would definately stay here again!!

Stayed: October 2016
Thank nikstan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Hi! Nik and Phil

Thanks for the great review.

Glad you had a good stay, and that you got home safely

Might see you in Bude sometime

Pat &Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Slipper Cottage is everything you could possibly hope for: beautiful, comfortable, convenient, and outstanding value. Pat and Sue are incredibly welcoming and made me, as a lone female traveller, feel very much at home. The breakfast is 5 star. A bargain at twice the price. If you are looking to stay in Montacute or any of the surrounding area, don't bother looking anywhere else. Slipper Cottage cannot possibly be beaten and I shall be returning as soon as I am able.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank helenandjameshoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, Helen, and thank you very much for such a wonderful review. It is not going to be easy to keep up with that accolade!!

Very glad it suited you so well.

Look forward to seeing you in the future

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

On arrival at Slipper Cottage, Sue welcomed us with tea and home-made cake in her comfortable lounge.

We stayed for 3 nights in the premium room. It had an en-suite with a bath and a luxuriously efficient shower. Ample towelling in soft green and pink contrasted pleasantly with the two-toned grey bathroom. Indeed, Sue's refined taste was evident throughout the cottage. And, at her recommendation, we greatly enjoyed relaxed dinners at the King's Arms, just opposite.

Then at breakfast, Sue and Pat provided a feast; generous portions of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices, croissants and a superbly cooked meal.
Whilst serving, Pat would chat to us; he has a wealth of anecdotes on Montacute, Somerset and everything in general.

When, at short notice, we wished to extend, our hosts re-scheduled their timetable, allowing us an extra night in the same room.
We left as friends, clutching a huge bag, full of damsons from the abundant garden.

Thank you Sue and Pat; your warm hospitality perfected our stay and we thoroughly recommend you for a relaxing visit to this wonderful part of Somerset.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidneyCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

A wonderful review - Thank you
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our wonderful part of the country

Hope to do so again

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This has to be one of the most amazing Bed and Breakfast places to stay. The hosts were so welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Our room had everything in it that you could have wanted, from a selection of DVD's to a fist aid kit ! Tea and coffee AND hot chocolate, not to mention an ironing board .The breakfasts set us up for the day, or the wedding that we were attending in this quaint village. So really top marks Pat and Sue, we will be telling all our chums.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Glebe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for a wonderful review!! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a pleasant journey home and your passports got you through the border OK. Must remember to look out for the Orchestra's performances locally.

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

A warm welcome from friendly and helpful hosts topped by a tastefully decorated room and lovely garden set in a picture postcard village! Sumptuous breakfasts at the B&B and excellent pub (King's Arms) a short stroll away for a fine dinner. Montacute is a great base for walking, visiting NT properties and gardens and other attractive small towns nearby. Although set in the centre of the village we were not bothered by traffic at all. Less crowded than the Cotswolds and great for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank countrycomforts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

What a lovely review- (almost as good as Falmouth Area - lol)
Thanks a lot, hope we see you again

Pat & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews