We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farewell Gardens Motor Camp and Holiday Accommodation
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at Farewell Gardens for 2 nights, in a tent. It was my first camping break on my own so I was a little unsure of what I was doing but the managers couldn't have been more helpful. Really lovely people.
The site has the friendliness and cosy feel of a small site, but has amenities one would expect at a larger site - heated showers (no extra cost), laundry, well equipped kitchen, a communal dining/lounge room (which was useful due to the torrential rain we had whilst I was there!)
As mentioned by another reviewer, the pitches are grassy and level, and the ground was soft enough to make pegging the tent easy but not so soft the pegs came out in the howling wind we had. Very sheltered pitches was a blessing. I felt the pitches were a little close together but the planting between gave an element of privacy which helped.
The area is beautiful - walking distance to the Farewell Spit nature reserve and cafe, and a short drive to Wharariki beach, both of which must be visited. Eco bus tours to the Farewell Spit lighthouse can be booked from the campsite which is another must do if at all possible.
Not the cheapest place around but well worth it. I'll definitely be back again, I loved it there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Perfectly situated at the base of Farewell Spit, and close to the wonderful Wharariki Beach, this fairly large camp site felt very small and intimate. We were tenting, and our pitch was on grass, which was very even, the ground was soft enough not t o run the risk of bending tent pegs, and the site was nicely surrounded by garden, so we didn't feel we were too close to our neghbours. The site has two small but well-equipped kitchens, so although the site was fairly full, we didn't feel we were having to wait for other people to finish with the kitchen so we could use it. As the owners have commented on one review, the toilet/shower block has recently been extended, and again we never had to wait for a shower in the three days we were there. The sound of the ell birds and the buzzing of the bees in the flowers made for a very restful background. Would definitely stay here again if we are back in this part of the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the apartment, which has excellent views of the sea and is right next to everything you could want near Farewell Spit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at their two bedroom apartment in January 2012 and it was amazing!
We were three adults and one child, aged nine.

They had one bedroom with two single beds and one with a double and a single, a well equipped kitchen, bathroom with separate toilet and a nice, little living area with an amazing view out to the inlet.
Also a great deck outside which we could not use because of the really strong wind.
This time we only stayed one night, but we will be back!
The location is great, close to Farewell Spit, the beach, Wharariki Beach, Cape Farewell and the Horse Treks up there.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The camp offers campsites, cabins, campervans and that apartment. It is a bit of luxury on a campgro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in one of their on-site caravans with our daughter in a tent to the side. Great location as there is plenty to do in this part of the world if you like to explore.
Bathrooms clean with soap etc supplied, washrooms have paper towels, camp kitchens (2) small but very well appointed with fridges, cookers, microwaves, cutlery and dinnerware.
Good BBQ and a few essentials for sale in the office if needed.

Can be a bit windy up Farewell Spit way, and we did have a few blowy days, but this campground offers quite a bit of shelter via trees, fences, hedges etc.

We found ourselves volunteering at a whale stranding which was an incredible experience (although ultimately a very sad affair) which made the whole holiday very special combined with the good well-priced accommodation and plethora of day trip options by bike, foot or car.

Swimming options a bit limited - confined to estuary at full tide.

Room Tip: The caravans are a great option -have power and a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benbo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

a Very clean camp , a great place to stay . only 15 min walk to the Cafe and a view of Farewell Spit. Many beach and bush walks. Seals can be be seen on the beach near by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

On the surface this is a pretty basic and cheap campervan / camp site. However, it makes up for its basic provision with a certain friendliness. Pitches are grass, many with power, none with water. The camp kitchen is clean and reasonably well equipped, the two showers are a bit basic and insufficient for when the camp is full, the washing machines work. Its location is very isolated and its views outstanding which is why people come here. There is no Wifi or internet access and no Dump so make sure your camper van is both emptied and full before you come. There are no shops anywhere in the vicinity although there is a fairly expensive café / restaurant near by with opening hours which reflect the season. The camp does not pretend to be a top notch all facilities camp, it is a quiet camp with great charm where there are no hassles, in a location which is unbelievable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarewellGardens, Manager at Farewell Gardens Motor Camp and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Since this review an additional bathroom was installed providing an extra shower and toilet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Bay hotels
14.6 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
11.2 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
108 reviews
22.7 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages
14.8 mi away
Golden Bay Holiday Park
Golden Bay Holiday Park
#11 of 15 in Takaka
35 reviews
12.1 mi away
Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Westhaven Luxury Lodge
#3 of 6 in Collingwood
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farewell Gardens Motor Camp and Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farewell Gardens Motor Camp and Holiday Accommodation

Property: Farewell Gardens Motor Camp and Holiday Accommodation
Address: 37 - 39 Seddon Street | Port Puponga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Golden Bay
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing