We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all good...”

Mount Richmond Estate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Richmond Estate
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We discovered Mount Richmond Estate last winter when we stopped in for a coffee at Foresters Café on our way to French Pass. We asked to look at a unit and were impressed enough to plan this year’s trip around a stay here. And stay we did, just leaving yesterday after spending two nights in Charlotte, one of the estate’s lovely units. I have nothing but good things to say …our unit was nicely fitted, warm, comfortable, well equipped, spacious, fresh and spotless…the proprietors were friendly and helpful. The free Internet and Sky TV a wonderful thing on a wet, wintery evening. There were plenty of extras too… a large shower with good water pressure and no shortage of hot water, roomy king sized bed, lovely Manuka honey bath products, bedside reading lights and a light over the dresser in the bedroom, daily servicing, an outdoor hot tub and tasty flat whites in the café’ (the food smelled tempting too). All for a very reasonable rate.

We’re light sleepers and had a few concerns about the units backing to SH 6, but we need not have worried; other than the occasional jake brake, we heard very little after dark. We slept like logs.

I’d return to Mount Richmond Estate in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the motel at Mt Richmond estate for two nights during Easter weekend and it was overall a lovely experience. Owner Robert and his father originally from the UK operates the motel very nicely and an on-site cafe (menu looks interesting althrough we ran out of time to try). There is a spa pool behind the cafe that is free of charge for guests to use, we enjoyed it very much especially in such a quite surroundings, you could hear the birds singing and look at the moon and stars.
We got a free upgrade to a two bedroom from Richard as we asked for twin beds and he kindly offered us one bedroom each. The motel units are in good quality, very new and well maintained. The temperature gets a little cooler here than outside the valley, but with double glazed windows and air conditioning, you don't feel the cold much. And the double glazed windows have made sure no road noise even your room is on the road side.

Location wise, it's half way between Blenheim and Nelson, we took day trips to Nelson and bays in the sounds within an hour drive. And we enjoyed the quiteness at night at this estate.

Would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay away from the cities and doesn't mind a bit of travel on the road. Btw. it's good value compare to general motel prices in Nelson or Blenheim.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wandazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Mount Richard is right by the roadside en route to Nelson and an easy base for day trips out to the Sounds , Elaine Bay was a favourite with a great little kayaking Company out there , all this can be booked at reception withn no extra dharges. Mount Richard is an odd location and consists of revamped forestry buildings , but what a fabulous transformation , the self contained units are erring on perfect , in fact they are ! Lovely accommodation run by cheery helpful family hosts , they should receive heaps of praise for what they have done here , great stuff. Be absolutely gobsmacked with the tui chorus each night , a beautiful sound with brilliant accommodation, thanks so much , a great two nights rest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VisitScotlandFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have stayed here three times. It is spotless, tidy and the staff are friendly. They have everything you need to cook for yourself in the cabins, but I would also recommend eating in their restaurant as the food is good and not too expensive.

I would certainly choose this place to stay if I needed to get to Picton the next morning, but wanted somewhere relaxing and peaceful to spend the night. I hope more people take advantage of this place

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelMoreNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We'd stayed at the Mt Richmond Estate several times before, but that was a few years ago. We knew they had made some changes, but they've done a fabulous job. The old cabins have been completed rennovated, the spa area is great and the cafe makes great food.

Our plan was just to get away and relax - and we did just that. the weather wasn't good, but that just meant we had to chill out, and this is certainly the place for it. Great hosts - on the last day we asked how much it would cost to stay in until 1pm (we didn't want to go home too early) - they didn't even charge us a cent - just asked us to come back and visit again, which we certainly will do.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We were driving the road from Nelson to Picton / Blenheim and as we enjoy staying out of the major centers and finding more rural spots, we were keeping our eyes open for a B&B or nice motel. After passing gorgeous hilly landscape, we saw a discreet sign for Mount Richmond Estate. You can't see the property from the road, but thought we'd take a look. It's a beautiful property with fully refurbished, bright clean, modern, private, self contained two bedroom cottages. Everything we needed and more! We even had free wi fi, so we skyped our son in Canada for a long chat, did our laundry and then had a spa (hot tub) under the stars. We had a king bed and a wonderful sleep. We were so delighted to have found this spot and recommend it unreservedly to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank getawaygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Part of a short trip around the top of the south, arrived after a long day driving from Christchurch after the TranzCoastal train was cancelled, and getting there later than planned. Quickly realised that this place deserves to be better known than it appears to be - it's a recently opened business, and all the better for it from our point of view. Our ten month old loved the space and the welcoming owner's dogs, and we loved the great service and high standard of accommodation. The rooms are standalone cabins set in a parkland area which used to be an old forestry camp, with a cafe/restaurant as well. After a long day the owners were really great, reopening the kitchen and providing us great evening meals. Two other unexpected guests turned up and we had a pretty relaxing meal, with our little 'un crawling around the comfy dining room. Next morning the log burner was fired up against the early autumn mist, but the units and cafe are probably the warmest, most modern and comfortable rooms I've come across in NZ for a long time. Add to that's great outdoor forest setting complete with glowworm grottoes and birdlife and you have a winner.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stimntef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Richmond Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Richmond Estate

Address: 7090 State Highway 6 | Rai Valley, Rai Valley 7192, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Rai Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rai Valley
Price Range: £93 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Richmond Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine 10 acres of parkland in the countryside! This is Mount Richmond Estate with fully equipped, newly refurbished motel units. Set on a plateau, just a couple of kilometres from Rai Valley township, with excellent access from Havelock (20mins), Blenheim (50mins), Picton and Nelson (50mins). Eight individual motel units are 2-bedroom with modern, well-equipped kitchen, bathroom, and lounge/diner with TV, DVD player and Freeview. All units have a north-facing deck for that sunny aspect. Air-conditioned for your comfort. Facilities include tennis court, basketball, croquet, spa pool, plus acres of parkland to relax in with native birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Mount Richmond Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing