We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best overall motel discovered on my south island tour”

Mount Richmond Estate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Richmond Estate
Rai Valley, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best overall motel discovered on my south island tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Quality and cleanliness of the units were excellent. Friendly welcome and great food all at very reasonable prices. I would recommend this motel to all. Spacious units with all mod cons and lovely woodland view all around, beyond the well kept grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaninnzreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wow, this place was absolutely exceptional. We loved the quiet seclusion of the detached cabin with a view over the lawns to the woodland. The cabin was the most spotless accommodation we had ever had, it seemed like nobody had ever slept in it before! The kitchen was beautifully appointed with nice kitchenware. The hard working owners were very kind and attentive. They really went that extra mile to make our stay in the area as enjoyable as possible, organising our wine tour and driving us to the meeting point and back. We had such a relaxing stay in this beautiful area. The area itself is lovely, but it's also accessible for trips to the Abel Tasman National Park - perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Sort of a slightly mixed review for this establishment I'm afraid, although in some parts it was superb. Fantastic little chalets which were immaculately presented and scrupulously clean. A double and a twin room, kitchen and open plan dining room/lounge were all very well appointed and very comfortable. What let it down for us was the lack of privacy from other units (ours was closely grouped with other in a garden setting) and road noise from the countless large trucks on the nearby main road to Nelson. Not at all what we expected. Be prepared for a lack of evening dining choices. The cafe on site closes at 6, as does everything in the local village of Rai Valley. Havelock is just over 20kms away and well worth the trip. In some ways, staying in Havelock itself might be a better option if you want access to dining and entertainment. But the Richmond Estate is a lovely place to sit in the sun and look at the forest.

Room Tip: As far from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Although the location may seem a bit obscure, it is, in fact, the best place to be to access the best of the Sounds - French Pass, Tennyson Inlet, and all the bays on the way. The accommodation comprises excellent cabins that all look like new, are spotless, comfortably furnished, very well equipped and generously sized. There are good laundry facilities and wifi connection, and each cabin looks over the large green to the arboretum and hills beyond. The family are helpful, very friendly and attentive, and will provide great meals in the café to order, if desired. All this adds up to very comfortable, convenient and easy living in a beautiful location, at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Having just toured Nelson to Greymouth, and everything reaching out from there, this is by far the best accommodation. Best price, friendliest, most comfortable bed, fantastic shower, etc., we have had yet. Beautifully situated in lovely Rai Valley. Definitely a must!! Plus lovely hot spa pool!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

When I booked this property I actually thought it was a lot closer to wineries etc (wotif kinda screwed me on that one)...turns out I was wrong as they are quite far from here!! Having said that, it didn't matter as I've had a great time here, the property is STUNNING, the views are gorgeous and it feels completely secluded. The rooms are very nice too with everything you need for a basic meal but do be aware that in NZ a 'full kitchen' may not offer an oven as is the case here. Be sure to stock up on food from either Nelson or Blenheim (depending on which way you are driving from) as there really isn't much in the way of shops out here. There are also 2 beautiful golden retrievers that sort of roam the property, Shiloh and Dakota, i have fallen in love with them. There's lots of woodlands to explore. Really wish I had taken a tour with the staff to see the glow worms....maybe next time. It's my last night tonight and I'll be sad to say good bye

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieK1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Like a lot of reviewers, we stumbled upon this place whilst driving from Nelson to Blenheim. Needing a cup of coffee, we saw the sign and pulled in. The owner suggested we inspected one of the motels and we were amazed at the quality and amenities. We had arranged while in Nelson to stay at a motel there, but decided to ring and cancel and booked at Mount Richmond instead. We arrived just in time for Sunday lunch in the cafe, quite the best roast beef dinner we have ever had!
The motels themselves are perfectly fitted out with everything you could possibly need. The view after dark of the night sky was worth the 120 dollars a night the motel cost us!
The owners could not have Been more helpful, even allowing us to hose down our car after a drive to French Pass. In short, the best place we have stayed in during our seven weeks in New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cconnor124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Richmond Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Richmond Estate

Property: Mount Richmond Estate
Address: 7090 State Highway 6 | Rai Valley, Rai Valley 7192, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Rai Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rai Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Richmond Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine 10 acres of parkland in the countryside! This is Mount Richmond Estate with fully equipped, newly refurbished motel units. Set on a plateau, just a couple of kilometres from Rai Valley township, with excellent access from Havelock (20mins), Blenheim (50mins), Picton and Nelson (50mins). Eight individual motel units are 2-bedroom with modern, well-equipped kitchen, bathroom, and lounge/diner with TV, DVD player and Freeview. All units have a north-facing deck for that sunny aspect. Air-conditioned for your comfort. Facilities include tennis court, basketball, croquet, spa pool, plus acres of parkland to relax in with native birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Richmond Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing