We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome spot - quiet and everything you need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Richmond Estate

Mount Richmond Estate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Richmond Estate
Waihi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome spot - quiet and everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at Mount Richmond Resort and we had a fabulous time. Beautiful location, lovely and peaceful with excellent units that offered clean, tidy, and very comfortable accommodation across 2 bedrooms plus lovely bathrooms with excellent showers. You have your own deck to sit in the sun and watch the Tui's in the trees. They have a cafe on site where you can get food, or take your own and BBQ on your deck. It was a really good stay and offered excellent value for money. Way better than backpackers accommodation that was here previously, this is now a great place for those looking for a peaceful getaway at a reasonable price. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bularangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We didn't actually stay at the motel - we called in the day we were travelling from Motueka to Picton and we'd just driven quite a bendy, twisty road and I was just thinking longingly about stopping for a coffee when I saw the sign for the cafe/restaurant here. The coffee and food was lovely - I can recommend the carrot cake and the lemon meringue pie!!
And the owner was lovely - he was serving in the cafe and so friendly and when we asked if we could see a unit, he organised for us to be shown through one, and it looked really nice. A 2 bedroom unit, spacious bathroom and a good kitchen area. Only about 20 - 25 minutes to Havelock so handy for exploring the area, but at the same time, it feels like it's absolutely miles from anywhere so you can go there to just get away from it all! Think I'll be planning a stop there next time I go to New Zealand!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn13_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

I stayed one night in Mount Richmond on my (cycling) way from Picton to Nelson. Their website said they offered backpackers dorm accomodation but once I got there, it turned out they were redoing the whole place as self contained chalet-type accomodation.

I couldn't afford a whole self-contained room to myself but they were kind enough to meet me halfway to backpacker prices. It was nice to have my own kitchen, even if basic, but the bathroom was outside - across the hall as it were, but still outside which isn't pleasant in the middle of the night!

On the plus side, because they were redoing the whole thing, I was literally the only traveller - I had the outdoors hot tub to myself!

Beware of sandflies in that part, I didn't get any in Picton or Nelson but definitely plenty in Rai Valley.

All in all this is probably a good spot for a family on a bit of a vacation but not really a backpackers stop.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis_in_transit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2008

Stayed for one night over Easter on our way to the West Coast and had a great stay!
We took the motorbike and they let us park it right out the front of the lodge room so we knew it was safe which was good.

The rooms were great - little individual lodges with a kitchenette and a bathroom.
They were older but clean so that was good.

The lodge / resort is set on a big property so the places aren't too close to each other, there's heaps of privacy.

They had tea and coffee facilities which was nice, and a nice old dog who liked to be patted!

The bathrooms were older but clean. We had a small electric heater that wasn't working, but it wasn't really cold so we didn't bother asking for another one.

Manager was really nice as well.

That night we went for a ride around Okiwa Bay - i think that's how it's spelled and the scenery is just amazing!

We paid $80 which was a bargain, so all in all a good stay.
One thing though - it said on the website that there was a hairdryer in the room but there wasn't - so i was a bit disappointed about that.

  • Liked — the location - was on a large pretty area
  • Disliked — was older, but was still clean
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate_miller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rai Valley
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
18.3 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Richmond Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Richmond Estate

Property: Mount Richmond Estate
Address: 7090 State Highway 6 | Rai Valley, Rai Valley 7192, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Rai Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rai Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Richmond Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine 10 acres of parkland in the countryside! This is Mount Richmond Estate with fully equipped, newly refurbished motel units. Set on a plateau, just a couple of kilometres from Rai Valley township, with excellent access from Havelock (20mins), Blenheim (50mins), Picton and Nelson (50mins). Eight individual motel units are 2-bedroom with modern, well-equipped kitchen, bathroom, and lounge/diner with TV, DVD player and Freeview. All units have a north-facing deck for that sunny aspect. Air-conditioned for your comfort. Facilities include tennis court, basketball, croquet, spa pool, plus acres of parkland to relax in with native birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Mount Richmond Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing