We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expertise”
Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expertise”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visited for a most pleasant lunch on Tuesday, very agreeable atmoshere and warm welcome on arrival. For myself, the way the staff are properly trained and know how to do everything as it should be was a high spot. So often the lack of direction spoils the day..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackemman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    61
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
58
183
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I wonder if the Durham Ox was the reason why legend has it that the Grand Old Duke of York marched his 10,000 men to the top of Crayke hill! Certainly this atmospheric old coaching house with it's friendly welcome, lovely food and fine ales would be a good enough reason. Not to mention the interesting regular events put on every week. If you haven't been give it a go!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Kiss_Before_I_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIGAN
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have been staying at the Ox for several years and mistakenly thought that I had reviewed it previously.
This is in my opinion the best pub/restaurant with rooms in Yorkshire if not the country!
There are 6 rooms all individually designed with superb large comfortable beds and the bathrooms are wonderful and functional. The toiletries are high quality, there is tea/coffee/Horlicks and hot chocolate provided and the signatory "Yorkie" bar!
The menu in the restaurant genuinely changes with the seasons and there are always delicious specials on offer.
I have dined there on at least 50 occasions and tried just about everything on offer. I find it hard to recall any meal that did not meet my expectations.
Breakfast at the Ox is an event, a wide selection of cereals, including their own muesli, creamy yoghurts, fresh fruit, and fresh fruit juices, a bottle of "fiz" is provided to liven up the fruit juice and the morning should it be required! The hot food is all freshly made, the usual full English is on offer as well as Eggs Benedict and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The toast is made from bread made on the premises.
The beer (I drink Black Sheep and Timothy Taylors Landlord) is superb, well kept served with a scrumptious "head" and the wine by the glass choice is equal to any city wine bar. The wine list changes regularly and all are competitively priced. The cocktails are a work in progress.
Last but certainly not least the staff are the most friendly, efficient, and professional group that I have ever encountered, from the owners and managers right through the barmen, waiters and cleaners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We detoured out of our way to visit this place, as they claim to be dog friendly. Got inside & politely checked were we could go with dogs. We were brusquely told that they don't allow dogs (the dogs in question are Yorkie Westie crosses & well behaved).
We definitely won't be going back there - EVER.

I don't normally leave negative reviews but this place needs to get its act together. Either it is dog friendly, in which case why did they tell us they weren't, or they're not, in which case why do they claim all over the internet that they are ?
If you are intending to go there with a dog, my advice is to phone them & check first.

We backtracked about 2 miles to Easingwold and found about 4 pubs which really were dog friendly & ate at one of those. It's a delightful little market town & well worth a visit.

On our return journey we stopped at The Carpenters Arms just outside Thirsk and food, service & ambience were all excellent, as was their dog friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomC1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I spent several nights at this fantastic little hotel over Easter weekend with my dog and can only say the most positive things about it. From arrival, we were greeted warmly and shown to our room -- a beautiful, two-floor/two-bedroom suite with a kitchen and large sitting area at the back of the property. The suite was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. We had dinner in the pub at the front of the property and the food, service and ambiance were all excellent. Overall, a fantastic experience. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveller323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Durham Ox for one night during an England excursion and what a lovely experience it was! Crakye is a sweet village with very pretty walks in the surrounding areas which are detailed in a little information booklet in your room. Our room was very large with a sitting area and tv and the bed was divine! We went for a lovely walk with our two small dogs (yes - they allow dogs!) and then had a delicious meal in the restaurant. We just can't fault the place - it does Yorkshire proud!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visited the Durham Ox for my wifes birthday. First time we have visited, and will definately be going again. Lovely setting with great views and a great village. Had booked an overnight stay, and the room we stayed in (Lavender cottage) was superb. Lovely furnishings, huge comfortable bed and excellent, modern bathroom - all at a great price.We booked dinner in the restaurant, and what a superb experience. The menu all looked appetising, but we ended up plumping for the 'Gourmet Experience' - and WOW, what an experience it was.Each course was mouth-watering, and the highlights were the seafood platter, and the Chateaubriand was cooked to perfection. We were given as much time as we needed at our table - which was appreciated to give us time to savour the platters that kept on coming! The staff were excellent all round, and can't wait to dine here again. One final point - we came down for a late breakfast the following morning, and this was also superb - excellent choice of the highest quality, with some great touches such as a glass of Bucks Fizz or Bloody Mary if you felt that way inclined!! Already looking forward to our next visit, and well done and thank you to all at the Ox for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The cottages all seem excellent, and have the benefit of being away from the pub & restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSeniors2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
3.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
686 reviews
13.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
2.1 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Property: The Durham Ox
Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Crayke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing