We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok food, limited choice, tries to be upmarket”
Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok food, limited choice, tries to be upmarket”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our second visit to this area and to this pub. The staff are all well trained and the service is good but it just lacked the friendly feel. Food was good but the choice seems limited and the price ranges from reasonable to very expensive with little in between. Ate here over 2 nights and pleased with all meals, but just felt the place tries to be fine dining and loses out on atmosphere. The early bird 7 7 7 deal is good value.

Room Tip: Get there before 6.30 and order your food before 6.45 and you can enjoy the 7 7 7 menu, which is 7 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    61
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
58
182
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visited for a most pleasant lunch on Tuesday, very agreeable atmoshere and warm welcome on arrival. For myself, the way the staff are properly trained and know how to do everything as it should be was a high spot. So often the lack of direction spoils the day..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackemman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I wonder if the Durham Ox was the reason why legend has it that the Grand Old Duke of York marched his 10,000 men to the top of Crayke hill! Certainly this atmospheric old coaching house with it's friendly welcome, lovely food and fine ales would be a good enough reason. Not to mention the interesting regular events put on every week. If you haven't been give it a go!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Kiss_Before_I_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIGAN
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have been staying at the Ox for several years and mistakenly thought that I had reviewed it previously.
This is in my opinion the best pub/restaurant with rooms in Yorkshire if not the country!
There are 6 rooms all individually designed with superb large comfortable beds and the bathrooms are wonderful and functional. The toiletries are high quality, there is tea/coffee/Horlicks and hot chocolate provided and the signatory "Yorkie" bar!
The menu in the restaurant genuinely changes with the seasons and there are always delicious specials on offer.
I have dined there on at least 50 occasions and tried just about everything on offer. I find it hard to recall any meal that did not meet my expectations.
Breakfast at the Ox is an event, a wide selection of cereals, including their own muesli, creamy yoghurts, fresh fruit, and fresh fruit juices, a bottle of "fiz" is provided to liven up the fruit juice and the morning should it be required! The hot food is all freshly made, the usual full English is on offer as well as Eggs Benedict and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The toast is made from bread made on the premises.
The beer (I drink Black Sheep and Timothy Taylors Landlord) is superb, well kept served with a scrumptious "head" and the wine by the glass choice is equal to any city wine bar. The wine list changes regularly and all are competitively priced. The cocktails are a work in progress.
Last but certainly not least the staff are the most friendly, efficient, and professional group that I have ever encountered, from the owners and managers right through the barmen, waiters and cleaners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We detoured out of our way to visit this place, as they claim to be dog friendly. Got inside & politely checked were we could go with dogs. We were brusquely told that they don't allow dogs (the dogs in question are Yorkie Westie crosses & well behaved).
We definitely won't be going back there - EVER.

I don't normally leave negative reviews but this place needs to get its act together. Either it is dog friendly, in which case why did they tell us they weren't, or they're not, in which case why do they claim all over the internet that they are ?
If you are intending to go there with a dog, my advice is to phone them & check first.

We backtracked about 2 miles to Easingwold and found about 4 pubs which really were dog friendly & ate at one of those. It's a delightful little market town & well worth a visit.

On our return journey we stopped at The Carpenters Arms just outside Thirsk and food, service & ambience were all excellent, as was their dog friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomC1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I spent several nights at this fantastic little hotel over Easter weekend with my dog and can only say the most positive things about it. From arrival, we were greeted warmly and shown to our room -- a beautiful, two-floor/two-bedroom suite with a kitchen and large sitting area at the back of the property. The suite was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. We had dinner in the pub at the front of the property and the food, service and ambiance were all excellent. Overall, a fantastic experience. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveller323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Durham Ox for one night during an England excursion and what a lovely experience it was! Crakye is a sweet village with very pretty walks in the surrounding areas which are detailed in a little information booklet in your room. Our room was very large with a sitting area and tv and the bed was divine! We went for a lovely walk with our two small dogs (yes - they allow dogs!) and then had a delicious meal in the restaurant. We just can't fault the place - it does Yorkshire proud!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
8.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
7.4 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#4 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Property: The Durham Ox
Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Crayke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing