We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beyond excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crayke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazelwood Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Crayke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Well where to start, I found this beautiful B and B after rejecting a few others, it was to be a surprise for my husbands Birthday/ Retirement.
Contacted Nettie who came back to me really quickly and so I booked 3 nights, on arrival we were shown our room ( Hazelwood ) and invited down to the parlour once we had settled, the room is just stunning with a lovely view over miles of fields, everything was spotlessly clean and your every need catered for.
We ventured downstairs to the parlour which is really lovely and cosy, and within minutes Nettie came through with a tray loaded with tea and an enormous chocolate cake with candles lit for Mike's Birthday, just little things like this make such a difference, we sat and enjoyed the tea and cake and returned to our lovely room to unpack,it was then I noticed an ice bucket containing a lovely bottle of fizz, and 2 glasses what a lovely touch, there are thick towelling robes for your use should you want them,we unpacked and looked through the folder for places to eat, and both places we ate at we're really nice, good food, good value and warm welcomes at The Durham Ox in the village ( ate there twice ) and also at The White Bear at Stillington where the steak pie is just lovely, tender meat with a good flavour.

We came back and settled for the night, had a good nights sleep every night, it is so quiet and because all the furnishings are top quality ( beautiful thick lined curtains ) also blinds which you actually don't need to use as the curtains do their job to perfection blocking out ALL light.
The next morning we experienced one of the best power showers we have ever used, down to breakfast which s served until 09:45 each day so no rushing about first thing which is just what you want when you're having a break from normality, there is everything you could want on the sideboard from cereals, fruit breads, muesli, croissants, fresh fruit salad, juices yoghurts, etc etc............. You can also ave porridge, and Netties full Yorkshire breakfast which is just so filling we couldn't eat anything until the evening as we were stuffed.

I know I have gone on and on but we have only ever stayed at 2 other places ( in Scotland ) where we cannot wait to go back as we know what to expect, lovely spotlessly clean rooms, wonderful breakfast but more importantly a warm welcome,WELL DONE NETTIE many many thanks for making our little break so exceptional, we will be back, oh I almost forgot they also have an absolutely beautiful black Labrador called Riley, the best behaved dog we have ever met, big snogs Riley xxxxxx

Room Tip: Stay in any of the rooms they are all beautiful from what we saw, be prepared for the best of the be...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eloise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Hazelwood Farm Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just spent our second visit at Hazelwood for our wedding anniversary, and it was every bit as perfect as the first time.
We arrived quite late - around 7.30pm - but were still welcomed by Annette like old friends, and treated to hot drinks and home made cake and warm mince pies in the lovely parlour.
Stayed in the Minster View room this time, and it is absolutely beautiful. Huge room with the biggest and most comfortable bed ever. Totally spotless everywhere, and everything we needed is provided - right down to soft fluffy robes for after a long hot bath.
You just HAVE to have the proper Yorkshire breakfast, made with all local produce and perfectly poached eggs from their own hens.
On our last morning (which was our anniversary day), I had arranged with Annette to have some flowers on the breakfast table as a surprise for my wife. Sure enough, a beautiful bouquet was waiting for her. Nothing is too much trouble for Annette, and everything done with a smile.
If you are anywhere near York, this is simply the BEST place you could imagine to stay.
Already looking forward to our next time.

Room Tip: Minster room is huge and on the ground floor, but all the rooms are just beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edmo2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our second stay at Hazelwood Farm and it was every bit as fantastic as our first visit. A very warm welcome awaited us by the superwoman that is Annette, every bit as bubbly and enthusiastic as ever. She took us in to the parlour where freshly made shortbread and mince pies awaited us - VERY TASTY, washed down by a yummy spiced Apple Juice and a hot chocolate. This time we stayed in the Minster Room which was absolutely massive, beautifully furnished, wonderful views, stylish bathroom, - this room and the Hazelwood room that we stayed in last time are definitely two of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. Breakfast was gorgeous, hubby had the works, I had the mushroom and cheese omelette - all of which was very very tasty. Annette was amazing as not only did she accommodate a guest with a very bad hangover (sorry Annette - too much tasty brandy!!!), she picked us up when were unable to obtain a taxi. Nothing is too much trouble for Annette, she is so professional that even if she was having a bad day, I don't think you would ever be able to tell, a rare quality in a person these days. On our departure we were waved off by Annette's hubby and Riley the dog, - thanks for a lovely stay, can't wait to return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LOUISE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our forth visit and once again absolutely fault less! Netty was, as always, so welcoming, lovely, caring, thoughtful and the perfect host. We have recommended the B&B to so many people who have also said exactly the same as us. The personal touches make us feel so special and a million miles away from our daily busy lives it makes us want to keep going back, which we will. Nothing is too much trouble and I know whatever we wanted our wishes would be granted. The best what more can we say....counting down to our next visit! Thank you, thank you, thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 night break in the Minster Room. Nettie is the perfect hostess with tea and scones on arrival, even providing ice for our evening G&T and Riley the dog is a delight. Our room was warm, spacious and comfortable and we wanted for nothing. Breakfast was superb. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingertrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

"Nettie" thank you so very much for making our third visit to your lovely Hazelwood Farm B&B just brilliant!! You so deserve all the previous 98 excellent reviews, because they are all justified as the attention to detail and service that you provide is just amazing!! Loved the Hazelwood Room and fully understand why this is classed as your favourite room, it was lovely. Really enjoyed taking my friend "Riley" for his walk he is so much more obedient since our visit last of year, he even managed to stay off your Dad's ploughed and seeded fields. We are now both looking forward to our next visit and to be honest it can't come quick enough!! Thank you again Clare & Paul.

Room Tip: All three are just spotless.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kebuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We saw this bed and breakfast on Four in a Bed and liked the area and thought the host was lovely. We decided to book for a couple of nights after our Wedding and we could also take in some of the sights of York as neither has been there before. Before we went I contacted Annette to ask if she would put rose petals on the bed as my wife likes things like that. She made the rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed. I let Annette know it was our honeymoon and she offered a discount on the room. When we got into the room she had bought us a bottle of wine which was a very kind gift. Our room was amazing with fantastic views of the Yorkshire countryside. The room was spotlessly clean, large, plenty of wardrobe space and the en suite was also spotless with complimentary toiletries. The breakfast was beautifully cooked everyday and plenty of it. We have booked to go back next year. Annette is a wonderful person and her personality is brighter than the Yorkshire sunshine. Thank you, you made our mini honeymoon very memorable. I refused to pay Annette's kind offer of the room discount, I paid the full room rate and even the actual room rate is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
3.4 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
7.4 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
2.3 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Durham Ox
The Durham Ox
#1 of 1 in Crayke
337 reviews
2.4 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
48 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B
#5 of 12 in Easingwold
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelwood Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mosswood lane | Crayke York, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crayke
Price Range: £55 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelwood Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury farmhouse B&B situated on the first rise from the Vale of York and within walking distance of the stunning village of Crayke in an area steeped in history. Breathtaking and uninterrupted views across farmland to York. All bedrooms are south facing, en suite and furnished to a high standard. South facing garden and terrace. Full and hearty Yorkshire breakfast served every morning. Guest parlour to relax in. Close to York, Thirsk, the North Yorkshire Moors, and within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales and East Coast. Perfect cycling and walking from the door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hazelwood Farm Bed And Breakfast
Hazelwood Farm Hotel Crayke
Hazelwood Farm Bed & Breakfast Crayke, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing