We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to refresh body and mind.”
Review of Ampleforth Abbey

Ampleforth Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Abbey Church - Visitor Centre - Tea Room - Gift Shop - St Alban's Sports Centre with Fitness Suite & 25m Swimming Pool - Woodland Walks & Lakes - Orchard Tours on selected dates Whether you are looking for a tour of the Abbey, beautiful walks or simply time to reflect, you are assured of a warm welcome. Visitors are invited to spend the day at Ampleforth and enjoy the facilities that we offer including a tea room with a fantastic selection of food and beverages, the Abbey gift shop which stocks everything from keyrings to our own cider and our state-of-the-art Visitor centre, providing a comprehensive insight into the history of Ampleforth. Admission to the Abbey and Grounds is free but we do welcome donations to support the work of the Abbey and the Benedictine Community.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Came here with friends as a birthday treat. Although we have lived in the area for years, we have never visited before, but most definitely will be back.
The abbey and surrounding area is absolutely stunning. The abbey, itself, is very plain, but has an aura of such spirituality and calm, that brings peace to all. This is one of the reasons why I would go back.
The other reason is a bit more down to earth!! The cafe serves the most amazing food, extremely good value and delicious. The cream tea is wonderful. Delicious fresh, well filled sandwiches; scone, cream and jam and then lovely cakes all served with lots of lovely tea. (or coffee if you prefer)
The shop has some lovely gifts, as well as religious items. the staff in both the cafe and shop are very pleasant and helpful.

2  Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleforthAbbey, Marketing Officer at Ampleforth Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It sounds as though you had a real treat for your birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Ampleforth Abbey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Myself and a few cycling friends visited the Abbey after we finished a bike race which ended in the college grounds.

The cream tea gets 5 stars; generous portion of cream! And the tea is, of course, Yorkshire tea.

Service was very good. Very pleasant and beautiful setting.

Highly recommend.

1  Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleforthAbbey, Marketing at Ampleforth Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I hope it was Sunday you were here and managed to get the sunshine instead of the rain on Saturday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A stunning and immaculately maintained property. Grounds are a wonderful place to stroll in total peace and quiet The Abbey Church, and the buildings in general, are not dark but rather light and bright. A must visit if you are in the area. Don't miss the Shop and Tea room !

1  Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleforthAbbey, Marketing Officer at Ampleforth Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is definitely the place to come if you want some peace and quite from the stresses of life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arrived in the early evening to hear Monteverdi's Vespers in the Church as part of the Ryedale Festival. It was my first visit and I found the grounds of the Abbey and the views breathtakingly green and tranquil. We enjoyed a preconcert glass of wine on the terrace and from our seats in the Church gallery lost ourselves in the Vespers. The acoustics of the Church projected the voices and the period instruments beautifully. We emerged around 10.30 to a full moon over the grounds. It was an amazing evening in every sense. A wonderful place.

1  Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleforthAbbey, Marketing Officer at Ampleforth Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are so pleased you had a lovely evening. The concert was absolutely wonderful and you are right about the acoustics!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went over on a Sunday morning having not been for years. The place has changed somewhat as it now caters for visitors much more. The Shop, Visitir Centre and Abbey are well-worth a visit. Try some of their produce!

Thank johntheorganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmpleforthAbbey, Marketing Officer at Ampleforth Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear jorgan47.

Thank you for your feedback. We have always welcomed visitors but you are right about the visitor centre. It opened two years ago as our visitors wanted to know more about how the Abbey and Monastery worked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ampleforth Abbey also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Nunnington, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ampleforth Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing