We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
2 Sutton Farm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 Sutton Farm Cottage
Kitchen Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
2 Sutton Farm Cottage
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Master bedroom
View from master bedroom window
Just as the sun goes down in the garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Views to York Minster
Winter views from the lounge window
York Minster
Burnley Hall Gardens, Pocklington
Beverley Minster
Howden Minster
A summer evening at the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sutton on Derwent, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mary E
Warton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely location, cosy cottage and warm welcome - what more could anyone want. I would definitely recommend this property to family and friends and hope to return again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCTrimD
Ceres, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage and excellent location”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Sutton Farm Cottage is a charming little cottage - everything works pretty well, esp. the central heating. We took a winter holiday and were very comfortable the whole time. We used the fireplace and that made things even more cosy. The bedroom with old draped/veiled bed was particularly lovely. The location is excellent - 10-12 mins from a Park & Ride. One only pays for the bus fare into the city (unlike some UK park and rides e.g. Oxford where one has to "pay & display" as well as buy a bus ticket). Then it's 10 mins into the city centre. York is of course wonderful. The farm is also an hour and 20 mins from Whitby, where we took a day trip, and is convenient for the Moors. And the owner is very gracious - had a welcome pack of coffee and chocolates for us, as well as a warm house! Not everyone even thinks to put the central heating on in advance. So all in all, we recommend this rental.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina...
Maleny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yorkshire cottage in beautiful surrounds”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The owners of this cottage went out of their way to make our stay memorable. A basket of Christmas goodies & christmas decorations throughout the cottage welcomed us. The weather was cold outside but the cottage is very warm & has a lovely wood fire which we enjoyed at night. The cottage has a cosy feel to it with lovely rural views out every window. The bedrooms are spacious & tastefully decorated. You need a car for getting around & we drove to the Park & Ride twice to go into York. We recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood fire
Liked least: The proximity to the closest shops
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are much appreciated.
Kind regards
John and Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kat S
1 review
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Absolutely beautiful cottage! We stayed for 2 nights in November with our 2 year old daughter and couldn't fault it in any way whatsoever! Great, quiet location (about 20min drive from York centre) Nice and cosy, felt like home from the moment we walked in! The bed in the master bedroom is the comfiest we have ever slept in. Will definitely be returning in Summer to get more use out of the big garden! The welcome hamper was a lovely touch too. Would highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJackWilt...
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect base”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Gosh stressfull enough to bring your daughter to York University! But thankfully we found a lovely homely base at 2 Sutton farm cottage to calm ourselves down and take a rain check. Filled the visitor book with an essay of what we did and where we went. Right, we had 2 jack russells and had no problem with them with respect to the turkeys in the neighbours garden,not a lot of barking at all, the garden is a fabulous area and enclosed for peace of mind. picnic bench and another bench to sit and enjoy the surroundings.The cottage flows very well, the bathroom, dining room,kitchen,sitting room,utitlity room on ground floor while 2 lovely bedrooms on first floor with one room having a brass bed which was sumptuous. We loved the log burner and were very happy to have oodles of hot water on tap at the end of a day of travel and sightseeing.York is 10mins drive and does not fail to impress while our favourite destination was Harrogate, wow what a jewel, defiinately recommend. Back to the cottage, it has been lovingly decorated with pretty homely furniture and pictures and china, you do feel you are staying in someones home and not a sterile box of bricks and mortar. Thankyou and Bravo!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Yorkshire countryside with good access to York”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Sutton Farm cottage is lovely place to stay. In the quiet Yorkshire countryside but only a couple of minutes to the nearest village and a short drive to the Park and Ride for York.
The cottage is well presented with everything you could need along with a lovely welcome pack. My dog loved the garden. The pub in Sutton upon Derwent has fabulous food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic antique bed in the main bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath D
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We are already missing the cottage , we had a lovely stay. The area is beautiful and the cottage is homely , the beds are comfy and the cottage is really spacious and has a really nice garden an added bonus having WiFi too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing