We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect venue and menu”
Review of Le Chameleon

Le Chameleon
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Humansdorp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is a great daytime restaurant, serving breakfast and lunch. You walk through a funky antique and trinkets store to the restaurant. Service is great and the food is well presented at a reasonable price. (Rand 220 for two main courses and a bottle of wine)
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect venue and menu”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you are looking for a bite to eat between Port Elizabeth and Plettenberg Bay look no further. It came as a very pleasant surprise. The place is quaint, service and food good, and prices very reasonable. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricanintheDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We absolutely love this place! The décor is something between what you'd think a corner in Buckingham Palace would be like & your very posh granny... (I have been to Buckingham Palace!)
You can find almost anything here, and you'd buy something you don't even need or want, but that is just what this place does to you. You want to take some of that home.
Back to the food. Really good food! Fresh & delicate - but proper portions!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“A cornucopia of delights”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a delight to visit this little jewel in the desert -it is a veritable treasure trove of dersirable collectables and there is a sizable selection of locally made jams and preserves on sale as well. I feel the greatest drawcard is the little restaurant with its highly ornate Victorian decor. The interleading rooms provide a variety of seating options, the ambiance is truly olde worlde, the service friendly and efficient, the menu varied and surprisingly good. I can higly recommend the bobotie spring rolls with a chilli dipping sauce - definitely more ish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilldutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting stop for lunch!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

On our way to Addo and had been given a recommendation for this restaurant from our B&B in Oudtshoorn.. Couldn't believe it when we pulled up outside a row of garages/car repair shops as it didn't look like the type of place that you'd find a decent meal!! Very pleasantly surprised, delicious fish chowder and homemade ginger beer - yummy! The actual restaurant is so quirky, with vintage clothes and jewellery, knicknaks and foodstuffs for sale in the main restaurant. We ate in the garden, complete with fountain and service was good, My brother's meal of oxtail wasn't so great - too may bones. not enough meat. It was weird, I felt like I was in the Brighton Pavillion as the décor was so 1900s! Give it a go, I enjoyed it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sueskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We called in on our way back from Addo Elephant Park for a light meal. The service and food was first class and most reasonably priced. I would highly recommend Le Chameleon. Well done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ines_at_Candlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chameleon also viewed

Humansdorp, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Humansdorp, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Le Chameleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing