We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab hotel in beautiful Skiathos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Magic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Agia Paraskevi
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fab hotel in beautiful Skiathos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Magic Hotel in Agia Pareskvi. The Magic Hotel is lovely and has some very thoughtful touches for a 4 star hotel. The hotel is located at bus stop 16, about 15 mins from Skiathos Town and 15 mins from Koukainaires. Agia Paraskevi beach is just a 2 minute walk from the hotel. It is a lovely beach with a mix of sun beds and umbrellas as well as free beach if you don't want to pay for the sun beds (8 euros for two sun beds, umbrella and a free drink). There is a bar/restaurant on the beach which is nice if a little pricey for Greek prices.

Near the hotel (less than 2 mins walk) there is a supermarket and about 4 restaurants all of which are lovely. Platanias is part of the Magic Hotel 'group' and serves Greek and international food. Boubanikas is a pizza restaurant with lovely pizzas from a wood fired oven. Meso Strata is a beautiful white washed restaurant on the main road serving traditional Greek food. Kythina is another lovely restaurant run by Christos again serving some lovely Greek cuisine.

The hotel rooms are well proportioned and look like they have been recently decorated. The views from the balcony are just to die for with beautiful vistas of the sea and mountains. The rooms come with bathrobes and slippers which I thought was a lovely touch. There isn't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room but this didn't cause us a problem.

The staff in the hotel could not be more accommodating and were all so friendly. They would do anything for you and go out of their way to make sure they made your stay enjoyable.

Breakfast is plentiful with both a continental offering and cooked breakfast. Fresh fruit from the hotels gardens is provided and changes depending on what's in season. There is a lovely terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast overlooking the sea.

All in all a truly lovely hotel with some very dedicated staff. Well done Magic Hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Normski3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    46
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
144
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We look back with longing and nostalgia at the wonderful time we had at the Magic Hotel and we plan going back there soon. Our two children 13 and 15 years were entranced by the view from the balcony, the luxury of the rooms, the amazing breakfasts and they had great fun in the swimming pool. Obviously the free wifi was essential for them and the computers in reception useful for me. Just a few minutes walk to the beautiful, genuinely sandy beach of Agios Paraskevi - great and not overcrowded at all in August. We had great times with pedalos and played pig in the middle type games for hours on end in the water. It was a great base to visit the other very special beaches nearby.

Room Tip: As long as you've lots of energy the view from the top of the hotel is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy1000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance from the sea (200m) and is staffed with very nice and friendly people. Rooms were very nice and cosy, with a beautiful view towards the sea. Wi-fi in the rooms is very spotty (I think they specifically said that it's only for the public areas), however I had wi-fi coverage on the beach(!!). Breakfast is decent, nothing extraordinary. What really impressed me, however, was that the mattresses were absolutely fabulous. Sleeping on the coconut mattresses is an out-worldly experience in itself, and I cannot stress this enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirciulici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Can someone tell us how we book this hotel? I have looked on all the tour operators websites and cannot find it?

We have been to Skiathos 7 times and live it. Went to another country this year for a week...what a load of poo!

We miss our little island and will be back next year for sure.

Please advise.

Tony & Janice

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janice039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiathosMagic, Front Office Manager at Magic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Janice,
Thank you for your message.
You can book direct with us, either by email or via our website.
I think your partner has already been in touch with us.
I will be in touch soon by email with our rates and availability for next summer.
Looking forward to meeting you next year!
Kind regards,
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is the best hotel in this area. Period. Why? Well mainly due to the excellent staff. You will read below of Monika, a Brit, and Nicos who manage the place extremely well. But this applies to ALL the staff there. Because it is a small hotel, I think 35 rooms, they get to know you very well and genuinely have a great attitude to guests. I loved them.

We had the Executive Suite. WOW. Huge lounge, big bedroom with 4 poster, main bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms in have stayed in with jacuzzi and washing machine, a second shower room that was so useful, two TVs, fridge and massive double width balcony with two loungers, a table and two chairs with a glorious sea view chucked in for good measure. Get the picture and it wasn't too expensive. Other guests we spoke to in regular rooms also reported they were good, and the maid service was one of the best I have ever come across.

It has a small pool with a bar with minimal food available but a full drinks service, from the delightful Alina. Also never problem in getting one of the comfortable loungers with nice towels provided. They also give you towels to be able to take to the beach!

It is very nicely designed with lots of nooks and crannies and uses what looks like local stone. It is built into the hillside, as many Skiathos hotels are, so there are a number of steps to climb, if you don't like steps then done come here, or perhaps even Skiathos.

It has a good location as it is close to probably the best beach in South Skiathos, which the only part of the island easily reachable, and the great and cheap bus service from outside the hotel gets you into Skiathos Town quickly.

Other people we spoke to in Skiathos Town or tours talked about their hotels. In particular the big ones being Skiathos Princess, the entrance of which reminded me of a crematorium, and the Palace. Both hotels did not get rave reviews from them, in particular surly staff. I think the Magic scores well because it is so small that the influence of Monika and Nicos has a big effect. Try it yourself, I promise you will not be disappointed. Happy to take email questions.

PS DO NOT miss going to the airport and get closer to planes landing and taking off than you can do anywhere in Europe, what a rush.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Executive Suite grab it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Have stayed at Magic Hotel on 3 separate occasions now and the experience is always fantastic. An incredibly relaxing environment with very helpful and friendly staff. A perfect base from which to explore the Island. Modern facilities. Great food. Great views. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICANDPAUL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were staying as a couple for a 4 day trip for a wedding and were there with mostly Greek friends. We stayed in a suite.

The welcome was laid back and although not overwhelmingly friendly was good enough.

This hotel is immediately opposite the Princess hotel and you can walk to the beach there and its restaurants in five minutes. This makes up for the poor breakfast in this hotel and absent kitchen otherwise (the pool food here is mediocre at best). It is also well situated for other beaches.

The room was comfortable and while you do not get a 5 star service nor do you pay for it. Indeed I think the service was better than I would expect for the very reasonable tariff. The room was spacious and clean with a large, clean bathroom and a second toilet. The bed was comfortable and the view was over the pool and sea from the balcony. The complimentary wifi worked on the balcony but not in the room.

The pool is small but clean and pleasant. The lobby is also comfortable and there are two computers there with internet if you need them.

My only complaint was that when we asked for a late checkout by a few hours in the afternoon we were told it would cost a 50% of the tariff. Nobody had booked the room for that night so it was too much - we declined and used the pool showers and changing room to wash up before our flight. This was actually fine.

In spite of the lack of flexibility over the room extension I would happily stay here again as it was a reasonable price, comfortable, clean and well situated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Paraskevi
0.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.9 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Hotel

Property: Magic Hotel
Address: Koukounaries Road, Agia Paraskevi 370 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Agia Paraskevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Agia Paraskevi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Magic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 6km from the town and 250m from the sea, the Magic Hotel commands the ultimate panorama over the bay of Agia Paraskevi.The Hotel was established in the early 90s by a local family who take great care in maintaining quality, excellent service, comfort and serenity for their guests. The Magic Hotel is perfect for a romantic retreat, a family vacation or just an extra special holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Magic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Hotel Skiathos/Agia Paraskevi
Skiathos Magic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing