We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Honeymoon...a few improvements needed though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked 10 days at this hotel months and months ago after conducting lots of research. we wanted a small hotel out of the way and a nice quiet location. After reading the recent reviews we were very nervous, and I contacted the hotel on Facebook and my email to confirm we had a room. The hotel replied to my emails straight away confirming we had a room. We did look into cancelling but we would have lost to much monies. So we decided to carry on with the trip but we were not expecting much. We were actually pleasantly surprised and we had a wonderful time.

I think the best way to break down the review to be helpful is what we liked and what needs to be improved:

What needs to be improved ....

Reception - There are mainly 2 ladies that work on reception we personally found the lady who manned reception in the evening a lot more helpful. When we checked in we were told that we had to stay in a non sea view room for the first night and would then be moved to the right room. Now we decided not to worry to much about this after reading the reviews about people not getting rooms ,we were grateful to have a room. However I do think we should have been given an explanation as to why this was happening.

We had emailed months ago in regards to the possibility of upgrading to the private pool suite. We asked about this when checking in, and we were told by the reception day lady that the room was fully booked for the whole stay. We later discovered this was not true so we were slightly disappointed.

Also though the hotel knew it was our honeymoon they never acknowledged this at all. My sister had tried to organise for us to have a bottle of bubbly in our room when we arrived but she said she found the hotel to much hard work when trying to organise this so didnt bother.

Rooms - To be honest there was nothing really wrong with the hotel rooms (we saw 2 - room 112 sea view room and 104.. i think which was not a sea view). The rooms were a fine size, with good sized balcony. The beds were very big which was nice and the bathrooms were fine, the non sea view room had a wet room bathroom where the sea view room had bath and shower. My only comment would be for a 4 star hotel the rooms were slightly basic thats all and they do need a bit of TLC.

Half Board - its not worth it really. There is a daily menu for half board which gives you a choice of starter and main. There is also a salad and dessert. My feedback is that its a fairly limited choice and if we went back I would just go B and B. However the hotel was flexible with us so we only had dinner twice and the rest of the time had lunch and were able to order off the menu.

What we liked...

So now the positives and to be honest there are a lot. I think from reading some of the reviews people are being overly picky and this is most probably done to the fact people are anxious before they even arrive due to the terrible reviews and the FAKE reviews.

The pool area is just amazing, so quiet and peaceful. We spent many a day just chilling by the pool all day. Yes they played music by the pool but we didnt find these to loud at all. The pool is very clean and the sunbeds are fine.. they are not the newest but are comfy. Also though there are not a lot of sun beds this never seemed to be an issue as people were always coming and going.

Location - is exactly as we thought, up a hill with views to die for!!! In the evening we enjoyed having a glass of asti and just looking at the views ;-)

Staff - The bar and waiting staff were just lovely. Especially Starvos who was the guy who did offere waiter service for drinks and food all day by the pool. He was always very friendly and took the time to talk to us on a daily basis. To be honest all of the bar/waiting staff were nice saying hello etc

Food - YUM ;-). Though slightly overpriced the food is lovely, its presented lovely and is very tasty.

Transfers to and from town.... yes the mini bus was small the driver was flexible and did as many runs as needed.. so we never had an issue.

I think the hotel doesnt do it self any favours really which is a shame, there is an issue with overbooking and they seem to be ignoring this. The reception staff seem slightly stressed all of the time due to the overbooking etc. If they could sort out these issues and update the rooms we would def return as we really liked the hotel in general as the location for us was just perfect ( we had a jeep for 7 days to get around)

So my advice would be if you have booked at this hotel dont panic.... make sure you confirm via email, facebook etc that you have a room. If you have a room you can relax and enjoy your stay ;-)

Room Tip: 112 was nice as it had a lovely view and was near to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank monica552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

we played the game at the Kivo Hotel have we a room have we not. We're told we had a room for 2 nights and then had to move to another room. We came back from the beach asked for the room key to sea view room and Manager/ Owner Stone face said why are you moving because you told us to. She gave us the key opened the door and there were people in it. Went back to Stone face who gave us another key to a different room opened the door and it had not been cleaned,went back and she made us feel bad that it was our thought. She sent the cleaners in after 20 mins. Next day came back from beach room had not been cleaned again she said it was our thought because we had the only key to the room.
If you want a sunbed you have to get up early as there are only 22 beds to 40 rooms. At 6 pm you have to vacate the pool area every night as they set all the tables up for the restaurant for outside guests which she cares for more then paying guests that are staying at the Hotel.
There is a courtesy bus which has 7 seats and only goes at 10 am 1 pm 5 pm 7 pm but you will have to queue in the car park which can take up to an hour to get a lift. If you want to go at a different time you can pay for this 3 euros per person if available or 9 euros for a taxi.
Good Points
Staff are lovely, The views are fantastic and the breakfast.
Bad point
Manager/owner constant arguing with guests do they have a room or are they being moved to other hotels due to over booking.
You will need a car or you can walk down a goat track which takes 30 mins you would not want to walk up very steep.This hotel is a bit too far out of the town.
We loved Skiathos but would not return to this Hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
13  Thank steveBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After an abysmal star when we wondered what we'd come to, we actually enjoyed our two weeks in Skiathos but this hotel is not without it's problems. We were welcomed by the reception staff with a complementary juice and had a short wait for our standard sea view room.
We were initially disappointed with the room as it didn't look as good as shown on the hotel website but it was big and clean with a large bed. The negatives were that the furniture was of a utility standard with just adequate storage space, the bed was hard, the bedding didn't fit, there were no tea/coffee making facilities (we may have been mistaken to expect it), TV reception very poor with hardly any channels or DVD, no slippers/robes all as listed on website, or a minibar - just a little fridge with 2 bottles of water. The bathroom was tired and the shower leaked all over the floor, the flush didn't work properly and, as we heard they management were terrible at getting repairs dealt with, after a few days my husband adjusted it so it thankfully worked. There were ants in our room. Having said all this, none of it (apart from the flush!) worried us too much as we don't spend much time in our room.
The reception, restaurant and pool areas were lovely with stunning views, probably the best on the island. The hotel is off the beaten track so you need a car, especially as we heard the 'smallest shuttle bus in the world' service was slow and people were queuing for an hour in the evening to get into town. There can also be a shortage of sun beds as they are reserved very early in the morning by towels.
Breakfasts were ok but if anyone says they were wonderful, they obviously don't have very high expectations. If you want anything special you have to order it and pay for it. Evening meals were wonderful but, as they don't seem to encourage half board bookings, the menu was very very limited. There is an a la carte menu available. There is a breakfast restaurant upstairs and one other restaurant, with some tables indoors and some outside. I asked where the reputed Asian and Japanese restaurants were and I was told it was just a matter of choice on the menu with a page of each. Strangely, we were never asked if we wanted a drink during our meal or saw a wine list. We always had to ask.
The staff are lovely and very hardworking but lack leadership being disorganised at times. Sometimes your plate is whisked away when you are still eating, other times you have a long wait between courses. Once we gave up on the dessert and sometimes had to order coffee twice. I have to say the service did improve massively throughout our stay partly as the numbers of staff were increased. The housekeeping staff are friendly, unobtrusive and thorough.
The main problem as described by previous reviewers is the management which is disorganised and ineffective as to be non-existent. The manager seems to potter around and I cannot agree with the reviewers who said she was friendly and helpful. She never spoke to us except to say hello during our second week and that was because my husband spoke first. She also looks miserable. In fact, the only time I ever saw her speak to any guests was when she was seemingly trying to sort out their problems in reception where they sat, usually with their suitcases and probably no room! However, she often seemed to have time for her social life in the evenings with visits from groups of friends for drinkies on the terrace!
The time we asked for advice from the relevant member of staff, all we got was a shrug and 'I don't know' in response. We did find out, though, that it isn't worth bothering with the private beach as it was a public beach with no facilities and dirty.
Surprisingly we had a lovely holiday. We felt sorry for the staff who do their best. The owner needs to take a look at the manager's performance if he/she wants to bring this hotel up to a 4 star standard. It's a shame as it's in a beautiful setting.
There has been some very varied comments about this hotel. I would generally only believe the ones from reviewers who have made more than 2 reviews previously as you end up not knowing what to believe. We had a laugh when we read some of them! We didn't experience many of the problems and had a good time but we saw and heard about them happening around us.
This hotel is a mixed bag and a case of you pays your money, you takes your chance!

Room Tip: Check with the hotel on-line that your room is still available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
17  Thank Frank007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been to kivo suites for the last few years what an amazing hotel, staff are so friendly would do anything for you when asked.The suite we were in was excellent and clean.The view from the balconies is spectacular looking over skiathos town and skopelos island.This is a romantic hotel and we have seen several weddings here, It is a very special setting. We can`t wait to go back next year and meet all the staff again as we now consider them our friends ..

Room Tip: excellent views of Skiathos town and Skopelos island especially from the top rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave12345Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have recently had a wonderful week holiday at the Kivo Hotel.
Fabulous hotel, perfect location. Matoula and her team can't do enough for you. Everything is kept perfectly spotless and breakfast was wonderful, if you book to stay here you will not be disappointed.
Our room was cleaned daily to a very high standard, clean towels, sheets ...
Breakfast is very good with a good choice, and always served with a smile and often with daily extras like fried eggs, omelettes and... Anastasia always makes the most friendly, smiley impression morning after morning at breakfast which wakes you up even before your first cup of coffee.
Thank you Matoula and your team for making our holiday so perfect.
We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul5Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked the kivo via a recommendation from a trusted friend , the reviews where superb but changed from May onwards which became a concern , on arriving at the hotel I don't think we absorbed the beauty as we was worried about the lack of room availability . Our room wasn't ready and the staff seemed vague so our concern was growing we never got complimentary drinks but decided on a large cocktail to steady the nerves .. Most guest waiting felt the same as us, we finally got our key and was taken to our room which wasn't the sea view we expected room 107 I believe we was looking at the negatives after all the bad reviews , I noticed no kettle we ask at reception and when we returned that evening we had a lovely kettle , also our wardrobe door was broke but promptly repaired ..The room was perfect the cleaner was fantastic and I loved our view although we had a little wall it really didn't change the beauty of this hotel , I think we was looking for the negative on arrival due to the fact you expected it to be bad . Breakfast was lovely the staff at breakfast are great the views are breathtaking we was lucky to have a car so the hill wasn't a problem . We stayed by the pool the first day taken it all in, we did witness a argument between guest and manageress so we know the booking system has failed the hotel .. We had a meal booked for the Saturday night it was one of the best meals we had on the island we did only eat here the once as we found a gorgeous taverna located on achladies beach called paradise and we spend lots of days on this beach so wasn't really at the hotel much , but it was lovely arriving back to the peaceful environment the kivo offers .. We personally had no problems staying at this hotel and would defiantly return if we could be guaranteed a room...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday staying at this hotel.

Day 1 Our initial evening was like a night from "Faulty Towers" after reading the reviews about a brilliant chef we booked a table for 8pm. We sat waiting for at least an hour with the menus and no drinks, eventually a lady came over saying she was the Manager! to see if we were happy, we informed her that we were still waiting to order, she assured us that everything was on the menu, when in fact she did not have a clue! We eventually ordered and received a nice meal at 10.30pm but it was no way a superior meal. The excuse for poor service was that they were very busy due to the guests for the wedding on the following day eating at the restaurant and everyone arriving at the same time. The bar and waiting staff did try to make amends and we got a free bottle of wine when we asked for one.

Day 2 Wedding day - not a lot more we can say on this, which has not already been said by the other reviews. When we returned from our evening out at the Windmill which was an excellent meal, service and location, we decided that if you can't beat them you have to join them, so we ended up dancing with the wedding party and were made welcome by the bride and guests, they even gave us Greek dancing lessons.

The Wedding was not the issue it was how the management dealt with it that was the problem.

The minibus driver was probably the most miserable person in the hotel and the timetable of the minibus was very poor and not as described in the brochure.

Rooms were very basic and clean as you would expect. Views are exceptional,

We had a fabulous time on Skiathos and would recommend the Island to everyone even if the "dirty roads" as described on the maps were a little!! scary at times, they were well worth it as we visited some fantastic places and beaches, which could not have been found easily without a car.

To conclude the hotel Management need some basic training on how to look after all their guests if they want to keep the previously high ratings.

This hotel could be a superb venue: perhaps they should take lessons from their staff!!!!
who were very helpful and friendly in all ways, they could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: 215,216,227,228.229 brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank JEH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasilias
3.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,164 reviews
2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#28 of 84 in Skiathos
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel

Address: Vasilias Beach, Vasilias 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Vasilias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Price Range: £50 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon a small hill with a panoramic view of the Aegean sea, a hotel in Skiathos with an exceptional personality is waiting for you combining the comfort of a grand resort with the personal services of a boutique hotel. A series of all-white cottages with red-tiled roofs lies in the 15 acres of a green garden just a few minutes from our private beach dusted with white sand and lapped by turquoise sea. Kivo, one of the top hotels in Skiathos, is characterized by its elegant decoration, artistic mood and idyllic meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kivo Hotel Vasilias
Kivo Hotel And Suites
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel Skiathos/Vasilias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing