We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, nice hotel, shame about the service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for one week at the beginning of July2014. The transfer time was really quick and the reception staff were friendly, and couldn't have been more friendly. We were on a bed and breakfast basis, which we were really pleased about as the buffet dinners didn't look up to much and we would have missed some of the glorious restaurants the restaurants locally. The breakfast menu was quite reasonable, but there weren't really enough staff on occasions,and it was a bit of a bun fight at times. The biggest let down in the hotel was that there were too many of the waiters and waitresses who were a little surly, and didn't know the true meaning of service. This is by no means a blanket criticism, as some of the staff were consistently polite and friendly. The reception staff are absolved from any criticism. We highly recommend getting out for dinner, The Windmill's views are to die for. The Olive Land will come and pick you up and bring you back free of charge, and the views again are superb. The taxi boat from the beach into town was a lovely way to get into the heart of Skiathos town.

Room Tip: get a sea view room set a little bit further back from the restaurant, quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KassandraBayResort, General Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear colin b,

thanks for your feedback.
I am very sorry that we could not fulfill your expectations.

I have discussed your criticism with the accordingly departments in order to improve the service level.

We hope to welcome you again at KBR in future!

Kind regards,
Angeliki Thanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We came back today from a week in KBR. We enjoyed the room. we had 210 and 211, in our room 210 there was an excellent Wifi. The room was clean, but not perfect. Towels change two times a day, bedding every 2 days. Breakfast okay, maybe a little to much. The staff in breakfast super, after 2 days he knows my daughter and I likes a cappucino. To bad that there were a lot of people that put towels on the sunbeds near pool and beach. It's against hotel rules, KBR did not do anything about this. we use the beach and pool mostly at the end of the day, so it was for us not a big issue. All the staff were nice, and yes they even smile. Overall we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception have the best Wifi. How higher the room the better the vieuw.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KassandraBayResort, General Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear Anita S,
thanks for your feedback.

Nice, that -overall- you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to meet you again at KBR!

Kind regards,

Angeliki Thanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day, bed and breakfast stay in a split level family room with a sea view. Our party included 2 adults and 2 teenagers aged 17 and 15. The reason for our stay was to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

Prior to the holiday I had regularly read the reviews ( mostly good ) and was hoping it would be a good stay.

Firstly, the good bits ... As others have said, I cannot compliment the maid service highly enough, the room was cleaned twice a day with clean towels and bedding every evening. The sweets left on the pillows were a nice touch.

The sea view was excellent and the reception staff were always friendly.

Now the bad bits .... Breakfast was not an enjoyable experience, it was more like eating in a motorway service area, the regular search for a table for four, the grumpy harassed looking staff, the greasy bacon and eggs. We had to go searching for tea spoons as they seemed to be hiding them.

The resort is isolated with no supermarket nearby. You tend to rely on the water taxi , which when it runs is excellent but for 2 nights it did not run because it was too windy.

The bus service is regular but at peak times they are crammed full and don't stop.

There was the usual towel reserving for sun loungers and I did witness an argument between 2 families on the Sunday morning. Although it is supposed to be a private beach, people do get the water taxi out from the town and use the beach .

The room was a real hike from reception, accessable by using 2 lifts and ramps / steps .

The wi-fi only worked on the balcony and in reception.

A forgettable experience and I will not be returning

Room Tip: Rooms in the 700's are a long distance from the reception area but do have a good sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wandenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KassandraBayResort, General Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear wandenway,
thanks for your feedback.

I regret that your stay with us was less than perfect.
We have already taken over your ctiticism into our 2015 planning.

Kind regards,

Angeliki Thanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here in a family room with our 2 children(8&12) in July 2014. Room was open plan and very spacious - in the new wing with a large balcony and excellent views. Overall standards in the hotel were very good - breakfast buffet was very good and food around pool was good. We were on half board but we only used the evening buffet 3/4 times but found the food there excellent as well. One small issue was a defective shower in our room which wasn't fixed despite a request to take a look at it. We only used the pool on a couple of days but found no problem getting sunbeds, We didn't use the beach as our kids prefer somewhere a bit more lively. The water taxi into skiathos town was a great service and great value as it was the same price as the bus. The hotel has a bus stop right outside which provided a good service to the town and to the larger beaches on the island. Koukounaires beach (largest on island) is about 15 mins on bus, Our kids loved it. Wi-fi was poor and only worked in reception. Overall this hotel was excellent and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_BRath32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KassandraBayResort, General Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear Mark_BRath32,
thank you very much for your feedback!

I'm sorry that the issue in your bathroom hasn't been fixed immediately.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at KBR and we all are looking forward to meeting you again here at Skiathos!

Kind regards,

Angeliki Thanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We came to Skiathos to visit friends who were out here, this wouldn't be our primary choice destination. Having said that the people on the island, the weather and the beaches off the beaten track are quite delightful.
On arrival I ordered a bottle of champagne, it was dom perignon and appropriate I felt to kick off the holiday - it was priced at €190 on the menu. The waiter came over and said - we will charge €290 now for the champagne and if it is corked you will pay €190! For a five star resort I was shocked and stunned and not a little amused. Basically this translates into - if you like it pay us 50% extra - if you don't - we get our money and margin you get to be unhappy. Where is the 5 star service in that? The rooms are mediocre, the shower is broken, the staff have terrible English and a poor understanding of their own menu, the private pool and outside area is not private whatsoever - in fact it's completely overlooked and the plunge pool is salt water and rusty. I will attach pics if the app allows it.

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KassandraBayResort, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Greg S,
thank you for taking time to post your comment on trip advisor.
Following your comments about the incident with the champagne i would like to express my big surprise to what you have written. The champagne is correctly priced at 190 euros on the menu but the specific champagne that we offered to you was a Dom, year 2000 and not in our menu. The Dom was held in our cellar and our maitre made a special offer due to the exclusivity of the champagne. You agreed on the price and you enjoyed this special bottle at a very special price so please appreciate this. If trip advisor allows it we will post a photo of the label of the champagne to verify its speciality and age.
Our staff is English competent and we have not received any negative feedback until today. Regarding your claim about the shower, we always ask our guest to notify us as soon as they see something that is not in order in the room. We checked our log book but did not find any reports druing your stay regarding your room.
Last, the rooms with private pool are part of a hotel complex, have really spacious outdoor area with sunbeds, furniture and grass area. Please remember you are not in a private villa and cannot expect to be 100% secluded.
One last comment, in any other five star hotel worldwide, your stay wouldn't be allowed after the big fight you had with your partner at 3 o'clock in the morning which disturbed our valued guests. So please appreciate the fact that we protected you and did not call the police.
One significant element of privacy is respect of the fact that you are in a hotel complex and have to be discreet and decent.
I wish you and your partner good luck for the future.

Thank you

Kinf Regards,
Angeliki &
Kassandra Bay F & B team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from a 10 day holiday at Kassandra Bay Vasillias Skiathos. This is a lovely hotel in a great setting and a brilliant family holiday destination. I visited with my daughter, son in law and 12 year old granddaughter, we stayed in a family room, it is just one large room with the second bedroom and bathroom on an open landing. ( not much privacy ) The hotel and rooms are spotless, the rooms are cleaned daily. , The WiFi is unreliable but free, best in the reception area. Both swimming pools use salt water which my granddaughter hates but eventually she got used to this. The sea is warm, clear, clean and pretty safe. Stefano and his family run the water sports, which are reasonable priced. Can recommend taking a boat out for the day, great fun, cost us about 120 euros. This is a great way to visit the other small islands within view and take lunch on one which is a family run beach shack, and then meander around the coast line. Great for snorkelling too.

we stayed on a half board basis but if I visited again I would take the B&B option as although the breakfast can not be faulted the evening buffet option is pretty uninspiring with a limited choice in my experience of other 5 star hotels in Greece. The lunchtime a la carte menu is good at around £10 to £12 a head. There is a good restaurant next door just off the beach which I can recommend and a nice alternative to the hotel, here wine is sold by the carafe and food is freshly cooked to order ( mussels delicious )
The staff at the hotel are without exception pleasant, polite and very helpful.
Nice padded sunbeds on the beach with parasols along with bar and food service, just press the call button and Nico comes running to take care of you. ( Nico works very hard tip him )

The hotel is not too far from Skiathos town where there are many more places to eat and shop. There is an excellent water taxi service from the hotel's beach to town , a not so dependable bus service or a 35-40 minute walk.

Our holiday was with Thompson, they sell excursions but I think it's better to make your own arrangements as they are pretty pricey and most of the trips they try to sell are available in Skiathos town in the port and cheaper. Would also recommend getting a taxi to the airport instead of using their transfer arrangements which leave you waiting in the blazing sunshine for the transfer bus ( 15 minutes late asked to be in place 10 minutes early ) and a two and a half hour wait before your flight. The airport is tiny, busy with few facilities and filthy toilets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzannemary46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KassandraBayResort, General Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear suzannemary46,
thank you very much for your detailed and valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you and your family again at KBR in near future.
Take care, have a nice winter!

Kind regards,

Angeliki Thanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a deluxe double room in the new wing with an enormous room and an enormous balcony almost like another room in itself. Fantastic view. All areas of the hotel were kept clean and tidy. There were two pools, one quiet and the other had a children's area. The first week we were there it was fine as far as sun beds were concerned but toward the end of the last week the old thing of towels on the sunbeds started. Really annoying people!!!! Hotels really should do something about this. One of the best places we stayed you were allocated your sunbeds at the beginning of the holiday and you didn't have to get up early on your holiday. It should be a rest after all. Anyway, aside from that, breakfast was great. Loads of choice and staff were really helpful accommodating me as I was on a certain diet. We at the hotel on many occasions for lunch and the food was of good quality. Really nice. The waiters were run off their feet though, both at breakfast and lunch. It was nice to go down to the sea for a swim. Beautiful, clear and clean sea, beach ok although not the best. Still good to go down and swim though. One of the things that made our two weeks was meeting some really nice people. Really friendly atmosphere amongst the guests. The location is fantastic - water taxi on the beach and a bus stop on the road. The close proximity to Skiathos Town meant that we could easily go in there every evening. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view room was lovely to sit out, relax and look at the lovely view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cala2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasilias
3.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
957 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
784 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA

Address: Vasilias, Vasilias 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Vasilias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Price Range: £151 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel in Skiathos, Sporades islands in Greece. Overlooking the beach of Vasilias, Kassandra Bay is situated among olive and pine trees that add to the scenery a relaxing aroma. Recently renovated, the hotel is lavishly decorated with bright colours, whilst the rooms offer amenities that help embody the feeling of being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Bay Skiathos
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA Skiathos/Vasilias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing