We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slendid Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Slendid Hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Great hotel, on a small beach, rooms modern, lovely bathroom. Gorgeous pool. Went B&B, breakfast good by greek standard. Bus stop right outside to Skiathos Town or you can walk in about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    246
    79
    16
    5
See reviews for
314
462
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Only just got round to writing this review, i stayed at Kassandra Bay in June 09 and i loved the hotel, loved the beach, loved Skiathos, a shame i cant say the same about the staff here. Our room was on the ground floor and lovely, very spacious, nicely decorated, clean and modern. The bathroom is lovely considering most greek bathrooms are far more basic. The pools are beautiful, and the gardens are wonderfully kept. The beach is gorgeous and there were always loungers avaliable. I thought breakfast here was ok, there could have been a wider selection but what there was tasted good and was fresh. The onsite restaurant was nice, we ate there once for dinner and a few times for lunch. However i have to say this wonderful hotel is being ruined by the staff. There was not 1 single member of staff who i would say was friendly. Reception staff were very matter of fact, they didnt go out their way to help, and were short when you asked them questions. One of the reception staff was also like a strict headmistress. She would wander the hotel in the day looking for people to tell off. For example, me and my boyfriend who are both adults, would jump into the pool if we fancied a dip, as opposed to walk to the steps at the other end. We wasnt diving or splashing, but she marched over and asked if we would stop before we hurt ourselves. Another day the pool was empty and so we were playing some volleyball, just softly so that the ball never left the pool, she said we had to stop incase the ball hit someone in the head. And also that you couldnt walk quickly around the pool because you would slip. We saw various other people being 'told off' for splashing/leaving towels on seats/going on grass etc. The pool bar is really lovely, lots of drinks to pick from nice sandwiches but again we never saw the 2 staff at the bar talk to anyone but each other. They never smiled, never asked our name, nothing.

I dont want to make the hotel sound bad, because as a hotel its one of the prettiest ive ever stayed in, i love the pool, i loved our room, but if staff interaction is important to you maybe pick somewhere else. If you just keep yourself to yourself and your just looking for a lovely hotel then you will most likely love kassandra bay.

Skiathos itself is beautiful! Be sure to eat at the windmill restaurant when you are in town, its amazing! Also paraxenos is great.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth. U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

In my opinion this hotel is not worthy of a 5 star rating. The rooms were very small and not well catered for. The breakfast is not very good at all. The bar staff are not customer focused at all. The position of the hotel is excellent I must say with good views and a lovely beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snave059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed at his hotel in June. The room was excellent, recently refurbished. Breakfast at the hotel was nothing special, certainly not 5 star standard. More like a good 3 star. Didn't feel that the staff were very friendly, especially the bar man at the pool bar. When returning at night after going into Skiathos town, we went to the bar for a drink. There was only one other person drinking there and they just ignored you, which explains why there was never anyone there on the nights we went back to the hotel. It sadly lacks the special touches of a 5 star hotel that you would expect for the kind of money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Having just returned from this hotel feeling extremely dissapointed ,the room with a sea view i booked had a car park view.I paid extra for a sea view ,the staff couldnt even be bothered to say good morning ,the breakfast is a joke ,we heard nothing but complaints we even tried to leave a week early ,but no flights back.This is the first holiday i did not enjoy ,this hotel is expensive and i my opinion is more 3 star i wish i had gone elsewhere ,it was a pleasure leaving .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByAppointment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed here 21st Aug to 4th September. Nice hotel, very contemporary communal areas, kids play area quite good (so the kids said), and it looked clean and well kept. Also a table tennis table. Hotel has free internet access, free pool/beach towels provided in your room which are changed every 2 days, contemporary style rooms and modern updated bathrooms, and when we were there there wern't many Brits so pool beds were available every day even as late as after lunch - no silly people booking beds with towels at the crack of dawn. Nice mix of nationalities at the hotel - Greek, Swedish, Austrian, American etc. There is a gym but I never ventured into it as you had to obtain a key from reception before you could use it - put me off a bit. There is an a la carte restaurant on site and a pool bar doing lunctime snacks, but we never ventured into that either as the hotel is quite expensive and you can walk into Achalaides and pass a nice bakery. Husband went there to obtain sandwiches and then brought them back for a lunchtime. We did once have the toasted sarnies from the pool bar and they were like cardboard. Nice taverna on the beach for lunches and evening meals. The only problems with the hotel are that they don't have a shop on site selling sun creams, newspapers, books, water etc etc, you need to bring that home with you from Skiathos town on a night time. For a 5 star hotel I would have expected fresh juice at breakfast rather than the cordial they served every day, and there is no variety with the breakfast and after a while I got sick of tinned fruit and Greek yoghurt! You can have bacon, eggs, mini hotdogs, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, pastries, fresh fruit (check its not mouldy or covered in wasps), breads (no toasting machine), jams, and stewed fruit along with the usual salami, olives and cheese which all sounds a lot, but we stayed in a 4 star hotel last year on Rhodes and there was a chef making fresh pancakes or fresh omlettes every day and the choice was much better than the Kassandra. The hotel staff are reasonably friendly, although the daytime pool barman (not Kostas he is lovely) is really moody and unfriendly. Nearly everyone complained about him. Also be aware that the maisonettes on the hotel website are not the ones you will get if you book with Olympic and they are smaller (approx 5 foot shorter and 5 foot narrower than the ones which are on their website!) and they are located at the back of the hotel which on the one hand gives you a stunning view out to sea, but on the other hand is right beside the main road and all the noise that goes with it. Also you have a much smaller balcony. We couldn't get on the bus into Skiathos town most nights as by the time it got to bus stop 8 it was totally rammed full of people, so we walked to the Esperides Hotel (about 15 mins) and got the water taxi, or got a taxi from the hotel. The second week was quieter and so we did get the bus into town and it was never a problem getting the bus back at night. The hotel has two lovely pools and both are suitable for children as long as they have their arm bands on as they are both fairly deep. There is a separate kids pool with red umbrella waterfall which the kids liked. I couldn't understand when i was looking for reviews on this hotel why there wern't any on trip advisor since 2007 but after staying there it is apparant that not many Brits go there. There is no evening entertainment, not even a Greek night (you need to go to the Paradise Taverna on a Thursday night for that), and most of the guests disappeared during the day presumably to one of the many lovely beaches, so it is a really relaxing place - if you can stop doing the mandatory wasp dance! Sun beds on beach are free and the watersports from the beach are good, eldest daughter went out on the sofa ride which she said was fab. We booked a cruise from Kassandra Cruises located on the Old Port around Skopelos and Alonnisos and for two adults, one 10 yr old and one 5 yr old were charged 60 euros which wasn't bad and the cruise was worth it. We saw dolphins swimming by the boat and saw the back of the church used for filming in Mamma Mia. We have had a nice holiday, and despite initially worrying that there wern't any other British kids there for our girls to play with we did meet some lovely British and other nationalities and the kids have had a great time and made some lovely friends. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes for a relaxing break, but if you want to get into town easily and if you like a bit more going on, and if you like more variety at breakfast time then i would have to say probably not. They have spent a lot of money on the hotel and if they can change the quality and variety of breakfast, introduce a small shop/stand for essentials, even do money exchange (no they don't even change your travellers cheques!) little things that would make this a really special 5 star hotel. Even introducing their own water taxi or their own courtesy bus into town would be a major advantage and give it more credibility as a 5 star hotel. After staying at the Lindos Mare in Rhodes last year I have to say I was disappointed with the Kassandra Bay, although I did love Skiathos as an Island.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny-babe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The setting of this hotel was great...on a nice quaint beach, beautiful pools and outdoor lounging areas. We selected this hotel because we were traveling with a 21month old and they had a playroom, were located on the beach and had a kiddie pool. Upon our arrival, the hotel staff acted as if they were doing us a favor by showing us to our room. the reception staff were very "matter of fact" and did not pretend to go out of their way to help us, or offer any more information than needed. just not what one would expect from a 5 star hotel, especially at the rates they are charging. the interior of the hotel has a lot of potential...great furniture, but poor attention to detail (ugly plastic flowers in vases,..the last time i saw such flowers was at a cemetary).... the rooms were OK..the only nice thing was the bathroom, quite updated and modern. the views from the rooms spectacular. the buffet breakfast left very little to desire....again not something you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The playroom was extremely dark and not very inviting. Overall it was a pleasant vacation and i would recommend the hotel to friends with kids but only if they charged half the price of what they are charging in August just not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fao2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasilias
3.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,053 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
929 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 83 in Skiathos
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA

Property: Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Address: Vasilias, Vasilias 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Vasilias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel in Skiathos, Sporades islands in Greece. Overlooking the beach of Vasilias, Kassandra Bay is situated among olive and pine trees that add to the scenery a relaxing aroma. Recently renovated, the hotel is lavishly decorated with bright colours, whilst the rooms offer amenities that help embody the feeling of being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Bay Skiathos
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA Skiathos/Vasilias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing