We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostal Casa Blanca is a gem.”
Review of Hostal Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa Blanca
Ranked #2 of 8 Comala B&B and Inns
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hostal Casa Blanca is a gem.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Located a couple of blocks from the zocalo, Casa blanca is in a perfect location for a peaceful stay. It's beside the river, which provides greenery and sightings of many types of birds.
Casa Blanca is run by a wonderful couple, Rosa and Miguel and their son, Victor. They all speak English well. Relaxed, homey, clean, comfortable, this is a delightful place to stay. They provide a breakfast of fruits and locally baked breads, tea and coffee, and guests can meet each other over their morning meal, if they are so inclined. There are three beautiful patio seating areas, in which guests can relax and chat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the most quiet. All are quiet at night. Several of the rooms share a bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathw770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this lovely hostel. It is clean and lovingly decorated. The proprietoress, Rosa was so kind and helpful to us! When she learned we were interested in birding, she put us in connect with a local birding guide, Bob who was kind enough to drive us around the beautiful countryside scouting for local birds. We stayed in one of the upper rooms. It was very spacious. We also enjoyed our visit to the hacienda Hidalgo which is easy walking distance from the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieMQ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
207 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Note: Comala is not Colima. Comala is a quaint 'Pueblo Magico' (Magic Town) located just 8 miles from busier Colima. The architecture is so inviting with white adobe houses and red tiled roofs. Hostal Casa Blanca is an easy 3 block walk to the main center. Comala is tiny and compact with main zocolo (square) lined with restaurants and food stalls and bougainvillea plants all around. Towering above, in the distance, is Colima Volcano.

Hostel Casa Blanca is B&B style. The place is so clean, comfortable and inviting. Hosts Rosa and Miguel are so friendly. Breakfast was amazing. There is a lovely sitting area on the second level that has a wonderful collection of indigenous masks from the region. Right in front of the Casa, a free shuttle picks up visitors to take them to the Alejandro Rangel Hidalgo University Museum.

Room Tip: This is a great place for couples. Tastefully-decorated and romantic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeaningfulTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I just returned from a trip to Mexico with two other gals. We started in La Manzanilla on the coast then took a bus to Colima and a short taxi ride up to Comala. Rosa and Miguel were wonderful hosts and so very accommodating. This is one of those places where you could eat off the floor it's so clean. The 7 room options have a variety of beds. Some with 1 or 2 or 3. We had a 3 bed room that was perfect for us. Comfy beds, very nice decor, soft towels. Lots of space in the room and a good sized wardrobe to hang clothes and unpack. Plenty of bathrooms to choose from so everyone doesn't have to wait around to take a shower. The suite upstairs has it's own bathroom. Actually they've just installed a solar hot water system that provided us with great showers after a long day of visiting the museum. It was a nice 25 minute walk up to Hacienda de Nogueras to view the works of Alejandro Rangel Hidalgo and wander through the gardens.
We would wake up to find Miguel making coffee and setting our yummy pastries from the local bakery. Right up on the corner was the juice stand. The Hostal Casa Blanca is just two blocks from the town square. It was nice to be able to get on the computer and check mail or look up information about things we wanted to do.
They have a nice website with photos. www.casablancacomala.com

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echosalvaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Hostal Casa Blanca is one of several bread-and-breakfast type hostels in Comala, a small town worth visiting for its culture and nearby attractions.

We loved it here and highly recommend it - it's a very friendly and very clean place located within about 1 minute walk to the central jardin, where there are several excellent local restaurants and shops.

The rooms range from $400-600 pesos; some have bathrooms and television, and others have a shared bathroom nearby. There is a central kitchen with all facilities (very clean) and a great upstairs deck with a view of the trees along the river, a nice place to relax. It is a great place for anyone, including families, as you can have a suite or several rooms.

Breakfast is served - coffe and local pastries and sometimes more, all very delicious. Also - big plus - it has wireless internet in the lobby and some of the rooms.

It is usually very quiet in a Mexican way - no traffic roar, but Comala is full of bells, parades, roosters, etc. Comala is a very nice little town near the Fuego Volcano, Suitchilan, and archeological sites, and the Hacienda Nogueras (only about 5 minutes from the hostel) has a very interesting museum with ancient pottery, art, and beatiful garden.

Well worth a visit!

  • Liked — clean and friendly budget accomodations
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chipTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comala
0.3 mi away
Casa Alvarada
Casa Alvarada
#1 of 3 in Comala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hacienda de San Antonio
6.2 mi away
Hotel Hospedajes del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Dinastia
Hotel Dinastia
#14 of 21 in Colima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mision Colima
Mision Colima
#2 of 21 in Colima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
7.6 mi away
Reserva La Cofradia
Reserva La Cofradia
#1 of 8 in Comala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Blanca

Property: Hostal Casa Blanca
Address: Calle Santos Degollado 75 | Col Centro, Comala 28450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Comala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Comala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Casa Blanca the perfect place to stay and enjoy your vacation. Very clean, quiet, comfortable and charming with 9 different rooms to choose from, Price range between 450 and 650.excellent location, just one block From the main Square Plaza and Comalas centro where you'll find all the most popular attractions, restaurants , shops, cafes,Eco Park, Nogueras Museum, Colima and beautiful Volcano. All rooms have ceiling fans, cable TV and WIFI. You can enjoy its open areas. Living room, kitchen , terrace, balcony and hallways. You 'll feel right at home.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa Blanca Comala, Mexico - Colima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing