We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hay Meadow Farm
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Hatherleigh)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Hotel(Okehampton)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Endsleigh(Milton Abbot)
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down(Okehampton)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
US$581
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
178
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathlog burnerhome growncomfortable bedidyllic placewonderful showerlocal townnorth cornwallbeautiful roomromantic breakwonderful hoststhe ground floorbreakfast was deliciousfollowing morningwarm welcomemarmaladenothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at Hay Meadow Farm over the Easter 2013 weekend. The place is truly amazing and the perfect spot for a relaxing weekend away. We stayed in the Clover Room which was lovely and cosy and the shower was amazing!! The food is this place is something else, the breakfasts are huge and the freshly squeezed orange juice is not to be missed. We ate at the B&B on two of the nights and again the food was outstanding. In addition to this we were welcomed back at the end of each day and served coffee and homemade cakes, they were really yummy !! If you are looking for a chilled out break with amazing hospitality and fine home cooked food then this is the place to go. We have told so many family and friends about Hay Meadow that now want to visit and we can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRSFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I have just spent a really relaxing time at the lovely Hay Meadow Farm. On arrival we were met by Duncan who made us feel very welcome with tea and scones which we had on the patio. Our room was just perfect, with good quality furniture and bedding and a log burner which was a lovely touch. The en-suite bathroom was large enough to have a Jacuzzi bath and a separate powerful shower.
We decided to stay for dinner and were not disappointed, the steak was cooked to perfection with home made chips, mushrooms, tomato, peas and salad. Duncan and his wife Jane were very attentive to our needs which made us feel very special indeed.
This definitely is a first class B&B and look forward to visiting again in the near future.

Room Tip: The Clover room was on the ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubblyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had an amazing stay at Hay Meadow Farm over the 2013 Easter weekend. We received a very warm welcome after a long journey with a yummy cream tea! We stayed in the Orchid Room with our 21 month old son. The room is plenty big enough for three and the bed is huge! It has a great shower, and the tv/DVD is handy when you have a little person with you. The organic full breakfast was huge and delicious - it sets you up for the whole day. The sausages and freshly squeezed OJ were our favourite. We had dinner every night as our son was in bed. The homemade meals are fresh and lovely, my favourite was the satay chicken kebab. It is handy having a sat nav to find it - it is in a lovely rural location but a sat nav helped us find it quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were looking for a night away, somewhere peaceful, romantic, and off the beaten track. We couldn't have done better than choose Hay Meadow Farm.

The house itself is amazing - an 800 year old cottage set near the brow of a hill in the Devon countryside, with only a telephone wire and the distant rooftop of another house to suggest that much has changed in the last 8 centuries. Outside, it's all ivy clad stonework and thatched roof; the inside has been renovated very sympathetically but with a nod to modern tastes - with slabs of timber for shelving, a bannister created from a sculptural branch of one of the local trees, muted colours and good quality furnishings in natural materials.

The dining room has a log burner in an old stone chimney, and when we arrived on a particularly cold afternoon, Duncan (who, along with his other half Jane, runs the B&B) lit a fire and brought out a tray of tea and scones, slathered with jam and cream. Even the china was beautiful Denby - typical of the attention to detail with which the owners have planned their business.

Our room 'Clover' was their slightly more expensive double room, on the ground floor (but still not really suitable for wheelchair users, as you have to access the room and the ensuite via two or three steps and some awkward turns). It had a massive 6 foot wide oak bed, furnished with a fluffy white cotton quilt and pillows, a lovely window seat with sheepskin and cushions, oak chest of drawers and built in wardrobe, a flat screen tv and tea & coffee facilities. The room was big, although the low ceilings might be a bit of a drawback for the tall (we're both 6 ft, and had to stoop to get about - something we might not want to do for more than a day or two!) The view, a bank of daffs and primroses, field and sky, was lovely at this time of year. The biggest selling point of this room, in winter at least, is the log burner - which made the room very cosy and romantic.

When we booked, we had ordered dinner, which we ate by candlelight in the dining room, and which was a good home-cooked meal (steak and salmon with chips, and a bowl of ice-cream). The food was unpretentious, freshly prepared, and plentiful. Just as well we shared the pudding, as the next morning, we were served the most ridiculously enormous and delicious full English breakfast that we've ever had: 2 locally made sausages, 3 rashers of happy bacon, a couple of eggs, beans, mushrooms, fried cherry tomatoes, and stacks of toast. We manfully washed this down with fruit juice (literally 'freshly squeezed' - we heard the juicer in full throttle and Jane brought in two glasses brimming with foamy apple juice), and fresh coffee and tea.

The only drawbacks we felt were that the bathroom was a bit chilly (although this was over the coldest Easter Monday on record) and that the 'free wi-fi' couldn't be accessed from our room or various spots in the dining room - because of the thick walls. That said, many visitors will be coming to Hay Meadow farm to escape the rat race, so that might be an advantage for some!

Also, on the night we stayed over, we were the only guests - so we were able to monopolise the chairs by the woodburner in the dining room and ate in that beautiful room on our own, which made it feel very special indeed. If the place was full, it might not feel so romantic - but that said there are tables on the patio outside, so in high season there would be more space to spread about.

In summary, we would really recommend a stay here - we were away for a night, but really switched off and felt rested and spoiled - which is surely what a romantic break is all about.

Room Tip: There are 4 double rooms - we sneaked a peak at them all. In winter, go for 'Clover' with its woodburner. Otherwise, the other 3 on the first floor looked equally as lovely, and all had ensuites with showers.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaGrandissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews