We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful tranquil sanctuary.. Home from home.”
Review of Hay Meadow Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hay Meadow Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Beaworthy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived at hay meadow farm on a Saturday afternoon. Our first impressions from the outside, were simply 'wow'! As the 12th century thatched cottage farmhouse radiated its natural beauty and energy, sat in a location from heaven. We were then welcomed by Duncan and baby rubyn with a lovely presented pot of tea and scrumptious cream scones.Duncan was ever so polite, accommodating and enthusiastic that we were to enjoy our stay. After our tea we were then shown to the clover room where we were staying and were instantly blown away, the entire room was immaculate, oozing character, from the Jacuzzi bath to the inglenook fireplace, with functioning wood burner and the most comfortable bed imaginable!! Shortly after being acquainted, Duncan and baby Rubyn with his super strength, stocked up our log pile and lit the fire for us. After watching a DVD from the collection provided and warming up by the fire. Jane then introduced herself and welcomed us accordingly. We then discussed our supper requirements and she was more than accommodating. Supper was delicious! So much flavour and seasoned to perfection, a lovely wholesome hearty meal, executed incredibly well, topped off with the ambience of the dining room fire. The next morning we awoke, feeling very relaxed and not wanting to leave. We had breakfast, again stunning produce and service, cosy by the fire. We would highly recommend hay meadow farm to anyone. Jane, Duncan and baby Robyn are a delightful family, welcoming you into their home on a professional level. We are planning on our next stay already. Thankyou for such a wonderful stay. Toby and charlotte.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you want to get away from everything and chill out, then Hay Meadow Farm is definitely the place to go. The building is beautiful, as is it's location, nestled away on it's own plot of Devonshire countryside. More often or not, when you stray off the beaten track you find the best places, and this is no exception. The proprietors have really pulled out all the stops, their attention to detail in every aspect of your B+B stay is flawless. Food fit for kings and queens and hospitality way above and beyond the norm are just two very good reasons to stay at this exemplary establishment. The only slight problem is……you may never want to leave!
We cannot recommend it enough.
A and H.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Clover room, with it's log burner and jacuzzi bath, it's a perfect room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamfoxyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It’s a true find if you’re looking for a peaceful and relaxing get away. We were given the warmest of welcomes with a fresh pot of tea and homemade scones. The family and owners love this old house and that really shows in the way it’s been looked after. They are a lovely couple and were ready to help plan a day out with many great ideas. The food was fantastic and extremely good value. It’s so quiet you can feel like you’re the only one for miles and yet still be within a short drive of some great sites like Bude beach. We could not fault anything and will be returning next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: They all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A wonderful B&B with a very warm welcome. The building itself is beautiful and the rooms extremely good. Also the owner Duncan and his team made us feel very welcome and cooked us up a very tasty and filling breakfast on both mornings we were there. Have told all our friends and family about this one.

Room Tip: Family room a little bit tight for space although very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After a harrowing drive this place appeared like a magical haven of peace, nestled in the Devon countryside. A warm welcome, a pot of tea with the traditional scones and we began to feel relaxed again.
We stayed in Clover, it had duel aspect windows, one with a seat and the option of a beautiful log burner-if needed-but the central heating was sufficient.
The breakfast was excellent, wide choice and perfectly cooked. I wish I had noticed they did evening meals on request, as we needed one on the sunday night, due to staying in out of the storm!
Bed was comfy and blissfully clean and crisp. Bathroom was warm and cosy.

This is a place to return to. But beware....news will travel and it will be popular so book early.
We look forward to seeing it next summer and enjoying the idyllic peaceful countryside.

NB. We went to Devon for a family wedding and have relatives in Halwill Junction, just around the (Devonshire!) corner. It has an Inn and small shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValnGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We got lost looking for this B&B as we had no GPS/SatNav. We called and were given directions from our location. Upon arrival Duncan served us a pot of tea outside it was a beautiful day and very peaceful area. We checked our room and you have to be prepared to duck if you are over 5ft 7". Tea and coffee were provided in room, the bed linens were top quality, wifi did not work in the room but worked in the dining room. Breakfast which is included is amazing. I am not usually a breakfast person but Duncan managed to convince me otherwise. It was superb. Duncan and Suaresh (sp?) work pretty hard to make your stay memorable. This old home is 800 years old and they have done an amazing job renovating but keeping the old world charm. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are infirmed then you may wish to book the room on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Strongly recommended, perhaps the best place I have visited for many – many years! We went with my daughter and son who are in their early twenties and we all enjoyed every minute of our stay. It is simply perfect for all ages and interests. A place where you can enjoy quality, excellent service, beautiful environment, character, taste, warmth, not forgetting good, homemade food; overall an unforgettable experience that fills up your memory bank. Both my daughter and son will soon go back again with their own friends, whilst I can’t wait to do likewise myself. A visit to Hay Meadow Farm is never enough… it is one of those places that you feel so very special at that by the time you check out, you have already planned your next trip over. I thank the management so much for the superb hospitality offered; they have earned every single word I say and so much more.
See you again.
Lillian

Room Tip: You may have a problem here as you will find it hard to choose from, all rooms are simply great, muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hay Meadow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Meadow Farm

Address: Hay Meadow Farm | Ashwater, Beaworthy EX21 5DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Beaworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beaworthy
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hay Meadow Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hay Meadow Farm is a warm, cozy and friendly guest house situated between Holsworthy and Launceston on the Devon & Cornwall border. A fresh home cooked evening meal is available and an amazing breakfast selection - fresh, fair trade and organic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hay Meadow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Meadow Farm Beaworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing