We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace and calm”
Review of Hay Meadow Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hay Meadow Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Beaworthy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace and calm”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

just returned from a wonderful weekend at hay meadow farm and as previous posters to this forum have stated it really was a beautiful place to stay,Duncan and his family make you so welcome and the breakfasts set you up for the day, we also tried the evening menu which was fabulous. so if you want 'an away from it all' peace and quiet in a relaxed environment this is the place for you..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CURLY95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
130
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our thanks to Duncan and his family for making us feel very special and for spoiling us rotten. Hay Meadow Farm is a magical place, so peaceful and beautiful, the nicest place we have ever stayed for a relaxing break. Nothing is too much trouble and the food was out of this world. The cottage is quirky and delightful, spotless and simply heavenly. We visited during atrocious weather and it was still perfect. We will be going back as often as we can. Thank you so much everyone, Duncan, Claire & Celia for giving us a little piece of heaven to look forward to. Shell & Kev X

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarke2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our belated honeymoon in Devon. What a wonderfully relaxed, magical little place. It took our breath away how beautiful the cottage was and Duncan and his family have done a beautiful job with its renovation. If you stay, Duncan's cooking is second to none and he cooked us the most amazing roast beef with all the trimmings on Sunday. Exceptional! We can't wait to go back and will definitely be staying in the very near future. Thank you so much Duncan & family!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a combined business/leisure trip and what a beautiful place it is, absolutely worth all of the positive reviews. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years, there are some absolute gems out there and this is definitely one of them.
Lovely welcome on arrival with tea and scones. The building has more nooks, crannies and period features than you can shake a stick at! We stayed in the Orchid room as I needed a wifi connection, internet speed was excellent. The bed was huge and very comfortable with a quilt you can cocoon yourself in. Lovely shower, nice and cosy and a desk should you need to do any work.
The breakfasts are plentiful and excellent quality and the freshly squeezed fruit juices are not to be missed, the sausages and mushrooms are a treat too. They do evening meals as well which, based on the quality of the breakfast, I would imagine are very good. You need to book before 12 on the day should you want a meal but this is well documented on the website.
The hosts are lovely and very welcoming and have done a superb job in renovating this beautiful house. Hope to visit again in the future.
You won't go far wrong staying here, Hay Meadow Farm is a fantastic retreat away from it all and you will be well looked after.

Room Tip: If you want wifi then book the Orchid room, the owners did let us have a look in all the rooms as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstelleRob43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived at hay meadow farm on a Saturday afternoon. Our first impressions from the outside, were simply 'wow'! As the 12th century thatched cottage farmhouse radiated its natural beauty and energy, sat in a location from heaven. We were then welcomed by Duncan and baby rubyn with a lovely presented pot of tea and scrumptious cream scones.Duncan was ever so polite, accommodating and enthusiastic that we were to enjoy our stay. After our tea we were then shown to the clover room where we were staying and were instantly blown away, the entire room was immaculate, oozing character, from the Jacuzzi bath to the inglenook fireplace, with functioning wood burner and the most comfortable bed imaginable!! Shortly after being acquainted, Duncan and baby Rubyn with his super strength, stocked up our log pile and lit the fire for us. After watching a DVD from the collection provided and warming up by the fire. Jane then introduced herself and welcomed us accordingly. We then discussed our supper requirements and she was more than accommodating. Supper was delicious! So much flavour and seasoned to perfection, a lovely wholesome hearty meal, executed incredibly well, topped off with the ambience of the dining room fire. The next morning we awoke, feeling very relaxed and not wanting to leave. We had breakfast, again stunning produce and service, cosy by the fire. We would highly recommend hay meadow farm to anyone. Jane, Duncan and baby Robyn are a delightful family, welcoming you into their home on a professional level. We are planning on our next stay already. Thankyou for such a wonderful stay. Toby and charlotte.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you want to get away from everything and chill out, then Hay Meadow Farm is definitely the place to go. The building is beautiful, as is it's location, nestled away on it's own plot of Devonshire countryside. More often or not, when you stray off the beaten track you find the best places, and this is no exception. The proprietors have really pulled out all the stops, their attention to detail in every aspect of your B+B stay is flawless. Food fit for kings and queens and hospitality way above and beyond the norm are just two very good reasons to stay at this exemplary establishment. The only slight problem is……you may never want to leave!
We cannot recommend it enough.
A and H.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Clover room, with it's log burner and jacuzzi bath, it's a perfect room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamfoxyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It’s a true find if you’re looking for a peaceful and relaxing get away. We were given the warmest of welcomes with a fresh pot of tea and homemade scones. The family and owners love this old house and that really shows in the way it’s been looked after. They are a lovely couple and were ready to help plan a day out with many great ideas. The food was fantastic and extremely good value. It’s so quiet you can feel like you’re the only one for miles and yet still be within a short drive of some great sites like Bude beach. We could not fault anything and will be returning next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: They all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaworthy
19.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
386 reviews
12.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Leworthy Farmhouse
Leworthy Farmhouse
#2 of 14 in Holsworthy
140 reviews
7.9 mi away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
870 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bickford Arms
The Bickford Arms
#8 of 14 in Holsworthy
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Meadow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Meadow Farm

Property: Hay Meadow Farm
Address: Hay Meadow Farm | Ashwater, Beaworthy EX21 5DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Beaworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beaworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hay Meadow Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hay Meadow Farm is a warm, cozy and friendly guest house situated between Holsworthy and Launceston on the Devon & Cornwall border. A fresh home cooked evening meal is available and an amazing breakfast selection - fresh, fair trade and organic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hay Meadow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Meadow Farm Beaworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing