We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Medley's Cottage

The patio + well-kept private garden lead straight down to the woods and lake...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio + well-kept private garden lead straight down to the woods and lake...
...So why not go for a row on the lake on a peaceful summer evening? The quiet is magical. The spacious open-plan ground floor layout gives Medley's Cottage a luxurious modern feel.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The patio + well-kept private garden lead straight down to the woods and lake...
...So why not go for a row on the lake on a peaceful summer evening? The quiet is magical.
The spacious open-plan ground floor layout gives Medley's Cottage a luxurious modern feel.
The stunning kitchen next to the dining area has every mod con. With views to the lake.
We've aimed to provide an elegant and relaxing dining ambience to do justice to your cooking.
Relax in the comfortable lounge; with wood burner, 42 inch HDTV and French windows out to the patio.
The window seat is a nice place to curl up with a book.
On a warm summer evening the patio is an inviting place to dine.
Each spacious bedroom features a king-sized bed. This one in bedroom 1 can divide to form a twin.
Both bedrooms have their own modern, luxury, en-suite shower room. This is the one for Bedroom 1.
Here's the second bedroom, complete with a comfortable, super king size bed.
Bedroom 2 also has a modern en-suite shower room.
Every window from the rear of Medley's Cottage has stunning views over the lake and woods.
The summer house by the lake. One guest called it 'a magic place'.
You're welcome to use the summer house, perhaps for a meal, or to relax and take in the view.
Carp bask in the lake's warm water on a sunny summer's evening.
The flower-filled gardens with far reaching views are all yours to explore and enjoy.
There is an extensive network of woodland paths, with new views at every turn.
The seat by the lake. A wonderful relaxing place to read the newspaper or a book.
Stunning wild orchids and foxgloves spring up in the meadow from time to time.
A wild, white and majestic stag stands for his portrait in a field that forms part of the 18 acres.
Two of our guests were married while on holiday and wanted their photos  taken in the gardens.
The front of Medley's Cottage is a delightful sun trap.
The entrance to Lower Winsford Farm where you'll find Medley's Cottage, Parking is straight ahead
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Janeteric
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just back from a great week at Medleys Cottage. We were two couples holidaying together and Medleys Cottage must be the best we have found. We loved the huge garden and the Summerhouse at the edge of the lake. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed with extra comfy beds and great power showers. Perfect in every way

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thanks for a great review! Do come again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This was our third stay in the suite of cottages owned by John and Anne, and it didn't disappoint! The cottage was finished to the highest standard (as they all are) with everything that you could possibly need. John and Anne are resident on site and there to greet people (and leave cake!) in a friendly but not intrusive way.
The area is lovely and the cottages are in a good location for exploring the area. A walk around the lake on site is always a good way to start the day - very relaxing.
We will be back!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Thanks, Cathy! You're always welcome here :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOODLE201...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an excellent stay at Medleys Cottage. It has 2 top quality shower rooms and large kitchen / dining room, great living room with large TV and DVD player and the piano was a lovely addition. Beautiful view out to the lake where you have the use of the summer house and rowing boat, which was a lot of fun
Anne and John live next door so are there if you have any questions but not at all intrusive.
Luckily the weather was fabulous for us and we enjoyed days out to Bude, Clovelly and Westward Ho!.......all roughly 30 mins away. The towns of Hatherleigh, Launceston, Okehampton and Holworthy not far either. Recommended pubs to eat are Tally Ho, Half Moon. We would completely recommend Medleys cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thanks very much for a great review! Do come again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliz2628
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The setting is idyllic and so peaceful, and the cottage itself is the best equipped property we have ever stayed in. John and Anne are the perfect hosts, remaining unobtrusive but always there to help if needed. We would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thanks for the excellent review, Liz. Glad you enjoyed your stay and do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkieBil...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best 2 bed cottage we've rented.”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is in an idyllic location with good countryside views. The farm building conversion is finished to a very high standard. You don't often get access to this much land with a lake and boat and all at a reasonable price. The accommodation is roomy and appliances are good quality. To get two en-suite bedrooms on the same level, both with walk in showers we have normally had to pay for three bedrooms but not here; it suited our needs perfectly.
Although the approach is perhaps 500 m down a roughish road, there is much to enjoy within a short drive as well as the walkable surroundings themselves. We enjoyed these nearby attractions:
Winsford Walled Garden (50 metres walk)
Finch Foundry at Sticklepath (NT) - excellent ancient forge demonstration
Rosemoor Gardens (RHS)
Roadford Lake - a reservoir with water activities, walks, cycling and the best café service we had in the week
Lydford Gorge (NT) - a good circular walk with café stop half way
Bude - well kept coastal town about 20 miles drive (farthest of these mentioned.

At the cottage there is varied bird life on view through the lounge window and a smart TV which appears to have a recording facility if you take a USB storage device with you. The Wifi is good but the O2 mobile coverage is not. There are games and a large stock of books. You get a friendly welcome (with home made cake); Anne and John are available but not intrusive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thanks for a great review, So glad you enjoyed your holiday here. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful setting.”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a beautiful place to stay, everything you could imagine was available to hand.
Anne and John welcomed us and our lovely holiday began, the views are fabulous, and such an amazing nights sleep in a very comfortable bed!
Great area to explore both Devon and Cornwall.
A visit to Winsford Walled garden just a few steps away was lovely too.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Many thanks for an excellent review. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mg3005201...
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easter break”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Easy to locate, lovely property well presented.
Wonderful views.
Would recommend if you are looking for peace and quiet to recharge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thanks for the review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Medley's Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing