We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JUFA Hotel Montafon
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place quiet location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Jura when in the area for work. It's a nice modern place set in a quiet village.

Breakfast in a morning is excellent quality and of the standard continental style.

Rooms cleaned daily and all public areas spotless.

Luckily no child groups when I was there so it could be a lot louder - guess I got lucky.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Uk1988Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed there one night with my 11 and 14 year old children. The hotel has a very big inside playground/climbing area, plus a playing area outside. This makes it perfect for families with (smaller) children.
Friendly receptionist who warmed up three pizzas for us, as the restaurant was already closed.
Big, spacious room with three beds. Unfortunately it was not very clean (a lot of dust) and we found a sock near the bed.
The hotel is entirely built of natural materials, a lot of wood and wood panels everywhere, much like Scandinavian places i've been to. Usually wood creates to a cosy athmosphere, but I missed that here. There were absolutely no decoration elements in the rooms or hallways. Just the essential, functional equipment: Chais, table and wardrobe closet.
When I headed back to the reception area to get a coffee and enjoy some internet access (only there free wifi), this area was already closed at about 22.45. Disappointing.
The breakfast was quite simple, but ok in the self-service restaurant. You have to leave your dishes on a cart, after you've finished.
JUFA is a new Austrian hotel concept and it may be very appealing to families with children. I did not feel very comfortable, as it has the atmosphere of a youth hostel.
Considering that, the price is certainly not a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If you want a stress-free, no-frills holiday with kids in Austria this is the place to go! Where can I start...we arrived by train to kaltenbrunnen station (car packed up the week before the holiday) which is 5 mins walk from the hotel. I had been told to expect good service for kids in Austria but i was blown away by the infrastructure available for all ages. Ours are 2 and 7 so happy to use the indoor and outdoor play areas (the indoor one is incredible with 2 storeys of climbing walls, wooden ground-based and aerial assault courses). The staff were extremely helpful and carefully explained the various possibilties for days out on the host of cablecars in this region or the daily organised program for those interested.
The room was simple but perfect for our needs...double bed and bunkbeds. toilet and shower room were modern and clean. I wasn't expecting much in the way of housekeeping from this kind of hotel but was pleasantly surprised...they came daily and changed towels as requested.
Food is canteen style...don't expect 5 star cuisine...but again the quality was good for this price-range...always soup, salad, fruit and veggie option available. Great breakfast too!
The Montafon valley is a great place to visit in summer...with an amazing outdoor pool including natural swimming lake. Jufa give free acess to all kids under 24 for certain cablecars/ski lifts in the valley (so definately worth a visit in the winter too!) and adults can buy a pass giving access to all cablecars and public transport for around 50 euros for 5 days in summer. To save money, sign up for the family program the day before for things like the rope-park, llama trekking etc...it's free

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowersui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed in JUFA for 4 days during a business travel to the Montafon area. Definetly it is a nice play to stay with your young or older children, however the hotel needs to improve a lot its cleanliness.

The staff was always very friendly, helpful and speaks very good English, what is not very common in the budget hotels at the area. The rooms have a good standard and, for sure, enough space to a family with two children. The facility also has a lot of activities for all ages, like a nice climbing wall, videos, gym and dance classes. The breakfast is fair and the hotel also offers complete pension, with lunch and dinner included. You can also requested a lunch pack to the kitchen if you are going out for trekking or skying for all day long. I do not have any children, but I suppose this would be nice for parents on vacations.

Additionaly, the hotel has a fair distance from many of the attractions in the area and the city of Schruns, where you will find most part of stores, cafes and restaurants. If you like walking, it is possible to not use you car at all during your time there.

Nevertheless, cleanliness for sure is the weak point of JUFA Montafon. The hotel states in a board inside the room that towels would be exchanged if they were left on bathroom floor. However mines were not, after 2 days laying there. Additionally, the curtains at my room were really dirty and, when I arrived, there were a chewing gum glued on the door, clearly visible. Last but not least, no staff stays at the hotel during the night shift what contributes to silence not being respected, mainly by the youngers that keeps at the corridor talking loud or in their rooms with high music/TV.

Last but not least, Wi-fi is available only in the lobby area, what was not very convenient to me considering I was in a business trip.

All in all, JUFA Montafon is a good value for price if you are going on vacations with your family. But I would say I will not come back there again if I am on business.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have a nice view to the mountains, but the ones on the back are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartholomaeberg
2.0 mi away
Ferienhotel Fernblick
Ferienhotel Fernblick
#1 of 2 in Bartholomaeberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
8.9 mi away
Explorer Hotel Montafon
Explorer Hotel Montafon
#2 of 13 in Gaschurn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loewen Hotel Montafon
Loewen Hotel Montafon
#1 of 5 in Schruns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Verwall
Hotel Verwall
#3 of 13 in Gaschurn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof
Hotel Walliserhof
#2 of 6 in Brand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sporthotel Sonne
Sporthotel Sonne
#1 of 1 in Vandans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JUFA Hotel Montafon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JUFA Hotel Montafon

Property: JUFA Hotel Montafon
Address: Wiesengrund 5, Bartholomaeberg 6781, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Bartholomaeberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bartholomaeber...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — JUFA Hotel Montafon 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Miar gots körig" - Vacation in the Montafon ValleyIn the middle of the majestic mountains of Voralberg's Montafon valley and at the foot of the Golm mountain is the modern JUFA Montafon between the towns of Bartholomäberg and Schruns with the motto "Miar gots körig" (dialect for "I feel great"). It's an ideal place for those who want to experience a wide array of offers for their most wonderful days of the year.Sports and nature, pleasure and wellness: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your JUFA Hotel Montafon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
JUFA Hotel Montafon Austria/Bartholomaeberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing