We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Aard Oakleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aard Oakleigh
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was a great B&B. June was great and general had no complaints. It is somewhat secluded, which we enjoyed. Just to note, if you use a credit card, there is an extra 3 euro charge. I do not have a problem with this, just wish I would've known beforehand so I could've brought a sufficient amount of cash.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gogators77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lovely host, lovely room and lovely food. There was a great choice for breakfast, including fresh fruit salad and home-made granola. The room was very comfortable, clean and private with a lovely view over the surrounding fields. Thank you June.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night in June 2013. The house is beautiful and spotless, and our room had two beds- a double and a twin. We especially enjoyed the balcony and little table on the second floor. We had great weather so it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air with a view of the lovely garden. We had the full Irish breakfast in the morning and June had the best scones....in the galaxy. I did have to wake my husband in the morning because I couldn't figure out how to use the shower, lol. Once we got it going everything was great. Aside from needing an engineering degree for the plumbing, it was a terrific stay. Thanks June!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank july_hymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I picked Aard Oakleigh for our first night outside of Dublin. It was also our first B&B visit so we were a little nervous arriving. We booked through bandbireland and used our CIE tour voucher without a hitch. Our room was very comfortable, clean, quiet, and well furnished. It was on the second floor overlooking the small garden and the fields and cows in the distance. The room's information book had details on local attractions and restaurants.

The host was reserved when we arrived but opened up a bit during breakfast, which was quite tasty. We had the traditional irish breakfast and a good conversation with another visitor from Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ufcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband, daughter, son-in-law and I had two lovely rooms - well equiped and comfortable. The house and yard are beautiful and immaculate. June presented us with amazing breakfasts including the best scones I have ever eaten. Her home made jams and stewed rhubarb were sooo yummy! Aard Oakleigh is just a short drive to Kilkenny and is so peaceful and quiet after a hectic day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinj0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here in late May and absolutely loved it! There were 3 of us traveling so we secured a larger room - everything felt very spacious. Loved the complimentary amenities in the bathroom and free wifi! June was lovely and so accommodating with directions and tips on things to do. We only stayed for one night but made the most of our time - it was nice to walk around the area but we did have to drive into the main town of Kilkenny (definitely worth the drive and spending the day there). The morning breakfast selection was excellent and cooked to perfection! Would definitely stay here again should we have the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katelyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We made reservations for 2 rooms about a month in advance. The day were suppose to stay we called them to confirm our reservation. They had no record of it and no rooms availible. We were not compensated for our inconveince or given a discount for a future stay. They took no responsibility for their error. We checked our email thinking maybe we were wrong, but have email confirmation of our reservation. So we stayed at Norely Theyr another B & B just up the road and had a wonderful stay there! I highly recommend Nearly Theyr over AArd Oakleigh any day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bennettsbridge
5.3 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
5.2 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
5.4 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#40 of 74 in Kilkenny
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aard Oakleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aard Oakleigh

Address: Ballyreddin West, Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Bennettsbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bennettsbridge
Price Range: £69 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aard Oakleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Aard Oakleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aard Oakleigh Bennettsbridge, Ireland - County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing