We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Kilkenny”
Review of Aard Oakleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aard Oakleigh
Columbiana, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Close to Kilkenny”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay outside if Dublin, but not our first b&b experience.
June was reserved upon check in, but so were we as we were unsure of Irish customs. She offered cold water for our room upon arrival, showed us to our room & presented us with a detailed book of information about the b & b/near by attractions in Kilkenny...excellent town to wander around for a day!
Room was immaculate. Chilly in the fall, but electric blanket warmed things up quickly. Hot water shower was great. Woke to beautiful countryside view. Breakfast was filling: eggs/bacon/fruit salad/soda bread/scones & phenomenal rhubarb ginger jam! Absolutely loved Kilkenny & this was a great place to set up "base camp" although the road can be narrow @ times.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed with June on Oct 5. This home is beautiful, with well kept grounds and a very warm feel. June went out of her way to wish my mom a happy 60th birthday. Thank you so much june! I would recommend this home to anyone. Nice easy first data drive from Dublin as well!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmh1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was a great B&B. June was great and general had no complaints. It is somewhat secluded, which we enjoyed. Just to note, if you use a credit card, there is an extra 3 euro charge. I do not have a problem with this, just wish I would've known beforehand so I could've brought a sufficient amount of cash.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogators77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lovely host, lovely room and lovely food. There was a great choice for breakfast, including fresh fruit salad and home-made granola. The room was very comfortable, clean and private with a lovely view over the surrounding fields. Thank you June.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night in June 2013. The house is beautiful and spotless, and our room had two beds- a double and a twin. We especially enjoyed the balcony and little table on the second floor. We had great weather so it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air with a view of the lovely garden. We had the full Irish breakfast in the morning and June had the best scones....in the galaxy. I did have to wake my husband in the morning because I couldn't figure out how to use the shower, lol. Once we got it going everything was great. Aside from needing an engineering degree for the plumbing, it was a terrific stay. Thanks June!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank july_hymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I picked Aard Oakleigh for our first night outside of Dublin. It was also our first B&B visit so we were a little nervous arriving. We booked through bandbireland and used our CIE tour voucher without a hitch. Our room was very comfortable, clean, quiet, and well furnished. It was on the second floor overlooking the small garden and the fields and cows in the distance. The room's information book had details on local attractions and restaurants.

The host was reserved when we arrived but opened up a bit during breakfast, which was quite tasty. We had the traditional irish breakfast and a good conversation with another visitor from Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ufcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband, daughter, son-in-law and I had two lovely rooms - well equiped and comfortable. The house and yard are beautiful and immaculate. June presented us with amazing breakfasts including the best scones I have ever eaten. Her home made jams and stewed rhubarb were sooo yummy! Aard Oakleigh is just a short drive to Kilkenny and is so peaceful and quiet after a hectic day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinj0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bennettsbridge
6.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,922 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,024 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aard Oakleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aard Oakleigh

Property: Aard Oakleigh
Address: Ballyreddin West, Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Bennettsbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bennettsbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aard Oakleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Aard Oakleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aard Oakleigh Bennettsbridge, Ireland - County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing