We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stumbled across Tudor House while searching online for B&B in the Yorkshire Dales. It turned out to be much more than we expected. The accommodation is easily at 4 star level. The individually cooked breakfasts are positively heroic! The site alongside the railway line adds another layer of interest, even if you aren't a mad train buff, with a large guest sitting room looking out on the tracks. And there is an impressive collection of information to help you make the most of your visit - both written materials and the local knowledge of hosts Sheila & Bob, which they are more than happy to share.

We will definitey be back and would have no hesitation in recommending Tudor House to others.

Tony, Frances & Tomas

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you! We are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Dales and look forward to seeing you again all the way up t'nurth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Tudor House within 3 months. Our first stay was for just 1 night - this time for two. Bob and Sheila are great, friendly hosts. The house is charming (it is a converted railway station alongside the Settle-Carlisle railway line). Full of railway and movie nostalgia and is a fun, relaxed and very different place to stay that is full of character.

Sheila was on the front doorstep as we pulled up ready to greet us which is a lovely, personal touch. Our bags were taken up to our room which has been recently been refurbished to a very high standard. We particularly liked the little touches such as soft monogrammed wool dressing gowns hanging on the bathroom doors. The bathroom is luxurious with a walk in drench shower. We ate one of Bob's fine evening meals which was excellent - all locally sourced food. Another lovely touch was a complimentary bottle of Presecco as it was my other half's birthday which was a surprise gift........ Al ittle note for first time guests - if you would like to eat at Tudor House, you do need to give Bob 24 hours notice so that he can buy in the food for your meal chosen from their set menu......There are however great pubs to eat nearby - particularly the Lister Arms in Malham which we have eaten at and can highly recommend......

For those who (like me) are not railway buffs, train noise at night is barely noticeable (freight trains are quite frequent Mon-Sat) but it is a converted railway station and is very much part of the charm of staying at Tudor House.

Our 2nd visit was every bit as enjoyable and comfortable as the first and it certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuncanSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you! We look forward to the third (and fourth....) visit and will do all we can to make sure you enjoy them as much as the first two. See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a very beautiful part of the country. Sheila and Bob go 'the extra mile' in order to assist you in any way which might make your stay more enjoyable. It is a very unusual house with interesting, theme-based memorabilia and a huge array of leaflets, books, videos etc. to enhance your knowledge of the area. Although our room was small, it was very comfortable and well appointed, so not a problem, and the bottles of water provided, along with mints and small chocolates were a nice touch! Great, eclectic decor all round. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidp1234p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. As forward bookings are now getting quite busy if you can plan far enough in advance the next time you come we will try to ensure one of the deluxe double rooms is available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We always perform thorough Trip Advisor research before booking anywhere [because we are fussy] to ensure that:
a. There is a good sample size of ratings/reviews
b. The majority of ratings are good or excellent

Sample Size for Tudor House
211 ratings is a more than good enough sample size to make the average rating meaningful
Average rating, to one decimal place [where Poor = 1 and Excellent = 5] is 4.9 out of 5

Ratings for Tudor House
94% Excellent Ratings – 199 ratings out of 211 are excellent
97.5% of ratings Excellent or good – 206 ratings out of 211 good or excellent

In fact, the ratings would be even higher if it was not for the fact that the odd idiot has booked without doing any very basic research and then unfairly rated Tudor House for things they should have known about before booking. For example to moan that a B&B that is a converted railway station, is near a train line is a bit like buying a car and then moaning that it doesn't have wings!

So the decision to book Tudor House was easy, a 'No-Brainer', we considered the risk that 206 out of 211 people who had stayed there previously were wrong was negligible and were satisfied that we could book with confidence.

In summary
- Tudor House is a great location for the Yorkshire Dales
- Plenty of parking space
- Wi Fi
- Excellent Breakfast [fresh fruit, cereal, full English, kippers etc..] I had not had kippers for
breakfast in years these kippers were done to perfection with a poached egg
- Bob and Sheila are excellent hosts and went out of their way to accommodate our nearly two
year old
- Bob and Sheila have great local knowledge and happy to spend time with guests advising
and recommending days out etc….in addition to this there are plenty of books/information
available
- Spacious bedroom
- Plenty of space downstairs to sit and read, drink, watch television/DVDs or relax etc…
- Occasional trains passing not a problem for us, in fact our toddler was fascinated by them
- Very good shower with plenty of power [where so many B&Bs disappoint Tudor House
excels]

It is difficult to find fault with Tudor House, Bob and Sheila have obviously worked hard and deserve to get such high ratings and are obviously continuing to work hard to maintain such high ratings.

I will be recommending Tudor House to family and friends.

Thanks Bob and Sheila, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of the time you spent with us, and your very kind conclusions! Inspired by your effort I have spent some time on the TA site and discovered we are the highest ranked B&B in Yorkshire with a "Terrible" or 1/5 amongst our reviews. Wonder where we might be had this fabrication not been allowed?
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at TH soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I would really recommend this B&B. Its in a lovely location right by the railway. Don't be put off by this, trains are very infrequent and caused no disturbance at all. We stayed in a small room with orient express style bunks, with en-suite shower. Very happy with this, so cosy and well presented. The owners are very friendly and cannot do enough to assist. Sheila & Bob even offered us a lift to a local hotel for a wedding party.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for this lovely recommendation. The wonderful "Orient Express" room is proving very popular, especially amongst those who do their research and know what to expect on arrival. We hope to see you back ah TH soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Tudor House and we were not disappointed. Sheila and Bob make you welcome from the minute you step through the door. Our room was immaculate and the food is locally sourced and delicious. The hearty breakfast sets you up for the day. Bob is an excellent cook and their evening meals are fabulous. On Sheila's advice we visited Fountains Abbey and gardens. We were glad we did. The abbey and restored mill were well worth the visit alone. The gardens were also extensive and beautifully kept. We will definitely be back, we could not stay anywhere else but the Tudor House.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlyBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you once again, and for the lovely card sent by the old fashioned 'snail mail' !! It got back from the framers just after you left but will be on the dining room wall for you to see the next time you head south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Tudor House for one night on our return from a break in Scotland. What a wonderful surprise.
Sheila made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived until we left the following morning. The property is immaculate,soaked in history (which Sheila related with enthusiasm) and furnished to a very high standard.
Breakfast was wonderful - lots of healthy choices as well as a substantial fry which my husband enjoyed.
We will definately return, hopefully when the steam train chuffs past this lovely abode.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irene004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you. Hopefully next time you are passing through you can take a little more time to enjoy our wonderful part of the world. We are delighted you enjoyed your short time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
228 reviews
21 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Harling House, Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range: £83 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing