We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - superb hosts!”
Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a family get together at Tudor House and had a fabulous time. 16 of us took over all the rooms for 2 nights and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The surrounding countryside needs no further mention, but Tudor House is a unique and intriguing building with a fascinating history. Bob and Sheila are the perfect hosts and we all felt very welcome.
The accomodation was very clean and really well presented, with lovely comfortable bedrooms, each with their own quirks and individuality.
Breakfasts were fabulous, with cereals, a great selection of fresh fruit and yogurts, and a fantastic full english option. We also had 2 evening meals which were great - fantastic homecooking using local produce.......and plenty of it!! Bob and Sheila even catered for a member of our family who has a severe milk allergy - nothing was too much trouble for them!
When the weather made the delights of walks through the neighbouring countryside less than inviting, Tudor House has a residents lounge area equipped with a TV, DVD player, books, games etc - enough to keep even the kids entertained. There is also an 'honesty bar' with a selection of spirits, wine and plenty of local ales. It really did feel like home from home - very relaxing and we had a wonderful weekend.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you. We are increasingly asked to look after for bigger groups for celebrations of one sort or another and really do enjoy helping guests with their 'party'.
We are delighted the weekend was enjoyed by all and look forward to the next one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked a two night stay at Tudor House for our first visit to Yorkshire. Sheila & Bob could not have made us feel any more welcome. Our room the Wendslydale was beautiful, very spacious and extremely clean. The food was amazing and all homemade. We can't wait to go for a second visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodnoshguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your trip up t'nurth! We get more & more converts everyday! We look forward to seeing you again on your next adventure north of Watford!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a two night stay at Tudor House at the last minute and we couldn't have had better service! Bob and Sheila made us feel so welcome and we were really impressed that, having given them no prior warning, they provided gluten free cakes and biscuits with our cup of tea on arrival (my husband is a coeliac and has a gluten allergy). They also cooked a mean breakfast with gluten free sausages! Tudor House is in the most beautiful setting with our bedroom overlooking Malham dale and it was so peaceful and relaxing. We will definitely be back and I have already recommended it to all my friends. Thanks Bob and Sheila for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the north of God's own county! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having spent three nights over the Easter bank holiday at Tudor House B&B, we can only enthuse about our accommodation, our hosts and the excellent service Sheila & Bob provided. Immediately upon arrival Sheila greeted us and showed us around the house and put us at ease with her informal, friendly manner. The House being a converted railway station was full of character with a cosy, comfortable feel.

We had the Malhamdale room overlooking the front aspect of the property, with pretty views of the garden and hills beyond. The room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and attractive. The en-suite bathroom was small but with a good size shower unit and over-head shower, again nicely decorated and clean. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.

We had free reign of the lounge and conservatory areas with honesty bar, TV, videos, books etc. These rooms were very comfortable and welcoming, and the other guests we met there were perfectly friendly and a pleasure to chat with. There was plenty of information available for things to see and do in the surrounding area, and Sheila and Bob were at hand each morning to offer ideas for the day.

The breakfasts, cooked by Bob, were delicious with local produce, portions were on the generous side, but you could of course choose as little as you wanted. Fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, local jams and a delicious lemon curd, coffee, teas and juices were plentiful. There was also the option of very good kippers for a lighter breakfast.

Tudor House is located next to an active railway line yet the few trains that passed were not a bother, it was shame we did not see any steam trains pass though!. The house sits in a peaceful and quite location and nicely placed for exploring nearby villages of Malham with its two pubs and pretty village, Settle and Skipton. Many other places of interest are within an easy car trip and our journey across the Dales was absolutely breathtaking.

We really have no adverse comments to make about our stay and would certainly return to continue our exploration of the beautiful Dales whilst staying in perfect accommodation with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your time with us. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just spent 3 nights at tudor house bob and sheila were very nice. The food and accomodation was very good and both bob and sheila were good at advising where to go and what to see .We were made very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reginald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
If you are planning a return visit please do contact us direct as we can generally better any price featured on the major booking sites ( as you used to book with us) as we don't need to pay their commissions and are not clever enough to understand their systems well enough to post an offer on their sites.
I am sure we can find you something that will prompt a 5/5 for value as well as most everything else!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I prefer to go for lots of shortish breaks rather than one or two longer holidays a year. Consequently we tend to experience a number of Hotels and B&B's. We used to stay mainly in hotels until a couple of years ago I stumbled on what sounded like a great place to stay near Malham. We decided to book and were delighted with our choice. We have recently stayed for a third time at Tudor House with hosts Bob and Sheila! Now that I have at last become computer literate-ish I can write a review for this beautiful B&B. The first time we stayed, everything was so perfect we knew we'd definitely be returning and, in fact, booked to stay for my 'big' birthday in June 2013 with my two daughters and their partners. We all had an amazing time even the weather was 'mediterranean' style! Bob and Sheila were marvellous as always and made it a lovely and very special celebration. Absolutely everything about Tudor House is exceptional I cannot recommend it highly enough. Bob and Sheila are wonderful hosts and make you feel like family. The hotel is a very interesting building being a former railway station. The gardens are lovely with amazing views of the stunning North Yorshire countryside. Inside it has been renovated to an extremely high standard and the decor is fabulous. The food is amazing, fresh local produce beautifully cooked by Bob. We can't wait for our return visit- we know we'll never be disappointed. Thank you so much Bob and Sheila!

Room Tip: We like lots of space so always choose Swaledale or Wensleydale as they are the larger rooms. Swale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Look out world, the guys are "on line". Thank you so much for your extensive review of the time you spent with us. It is always a pleasure to have people stay who want to enjoy themselves, and we are only too happy to help.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at Tudor Lodge. We were greeted on arrival by Bob & Sheila and made to feel very welcome. Both Bob & Sheila were very informative providing advice etc regarding both the B&B and places to visit in the Dales. The B&B accommodation is very clean and decorated and maintained to a high standard with a separate, cosy lounge area for guests to use if they so wish. We all enjoyed the fantastic breakfast, (cooked by Chef Bob) and the local produce used was superb. It's evident that Bob & Sheila are committed to providing a high quality, homely B&B for all guests to enjoy...nothing was too much trouble. All in all, a very enjoyable first stay in the Yorkshire Dales. Thank you Bob & Sheila!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Another convert! We are delighted you chose TH as your first base for visiting our beautiful part of the world. We look forward to many more visits to Yorkshire Dales now you know what we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
229 reviews
21 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Harling House, Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range: £84 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing