We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was easily the best B&B I have stayed in, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome and at home.
We arrived and were given a short tour of the building, you don't need to be a railway enthusiast to appreciate the place, it is just wonderful. We were then treated to a coffee and cake outside in the sunshine and were able to relax in the peace and quiet, sit and listen to the birds singing. The odd train rumbling past adds to the comfortable feel of the place.
The views to the front of the house are tailor made to sit and and enjoy a glass of wine and a chat in the evening as night falls.
Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious, it was also very comfortable with a lovely bathroom and a shower.
Sheila, thank you for welcoming us and our boys. It was a real pleasure and we will be back, that will be a first :)

Room Tip: Get what you can, they are all good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you. We could not ask for any higher praise, there is only one "The best".
We are delighted we made you feel that way.
We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully for a longer more relaxed stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
227
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not have picked a nicer place in the dales to stay. Bob and Sheila are so nice and friendly. The room we had was huge and comfortable, huge bed and plenty of space. I cannot fault the breakfasts served as they are so good, great selection and different flavour sausages each day!
Nothing is too much trouble for them. We will recommend you to all our friends. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you! When our regular guests bring friends & relatives with them it seems to bring added pressure to deliver as they often tell such positive stories about us! We are delighted to have delivered and of course we couldn't do it without the help of our great local suppliers, their sausages really are the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is not your average B +B. With Sheila on hand to ensure you have everything you need and Bob's great feasts, you can well and truly relax. Nothing is too much trouble. Our party took over the whole house so it felt like a holiday rental but with all the catering done for us! Sheila went out of her way to ensure we were looked after without being intrusive. We had a huge bedroom and beautiful bathroom and appreciated all the little extra touches like toiletries, bottled water and dressing gowns in the room! Special mention also for all their efforts to cater for our son's severe allergy. Thanks to Bob and Sheila he stayed safe all weekend and was able to eat to his heart' s content!! Not an easy feat

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you and we are delighted all went well! It is a difficult balance to strike, trying to offer a comprehensive 'service' but still be an owner managed B&B but one we try hard to make. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a family get together at Tudor House and had a fabulous time. 16 of us took over all the rooms for 2 nights and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The surrounding countryside needs no further mention, but Tudor House is a unique and intriguing building with a fascinating history. Bob and Sheila are the perfect hosts and we all felt very welcome.
The accomodation was very clean and really well presented, with lovely comfortable bedrooms, each with their own quirks and individuality.
Breakfasts were fabulous, with cereals, a great selection of fresh fruit and yogurts, and a fantastic full english option. We also had 2 evening meals which were great - fantastic homecooking using local produce.......and plenty of it!! Bob and Sheila even catered for a member of our family who has a severe milk allergy - nothing was too much trouble for them!
When the weather made the delights of walks through the neighbouring countryside less than inviting, Tudor House has a residents lounge area equipped with a TV, DVD player, books, games etc - enough to keep even the kids entertained. There is also an 'honesty bar' with a selection of spirits, wine and plenty of local ales. It really did feel like home from home - very relaxing and we had a wonderful weekend.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you. We are increasingly asked to look after for bigger groups for celebrations of one sort or another and really do enjoy helping guests with their 'party'.
We are delighted the weekend was enjoyed by all and look forward to the next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked a two night stay at Tudor House for our first visit to Yorkshire. Sheila & Bob could not have made us feel any more welcome. Our room the Wendslydale was beautiful, very spacious and extremely clean. The food was amazing and all homemade. We can't wait to go for a second visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodnoshguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your trip up t'nurth! We get more & more converts everyday! We look forward to seeing you again on your next adventure north of Watford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a two night stay at Tudor House at the last minute and we couldn't have had better service! Bob and Sheila made us feel so welcome and we were really impressed that, having given them no prior warning, they provided gluten free cakes and biscuits with our cup of tea on arrival (my husband is a coeliac and has a gluten allergy). They also cooked a mean breakfast with gluten free sausages! Tudor House is in the most beautiful setting with our bedroom overlooking Malham dale and it was so peaceful and relaxing. We will definitely be back and I have already recommended it to all my friends. Thanks Bob and Sheila for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the north of God's own county! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having spent three nights over the Easter bank holiday at Tudor House B&B, we can only enthuse about our accommodation, our hosts and the excellent service Sheila & Bob provided. Immediately upon arrival Sheila greeted us and showed us around the house and put us at ease with her informal, friendly manner. The House being a converted railway station was full of character with a cosy, comfortable feel.

We had the Malhamdale room overlooking the front aspect of the property, with pretty views of the garden and hills beyond. The room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and attractive. The en-suite bathroom was small but with a good size shower unit and over-head shower, again nicely decorated and clean. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.

We had free reign of the lounge and conservatory areas with honesty bar, TV, videos, books etc. These rooms were very comfortable and welcoming, and the other guests we met there were perfectly friendly and a pleasure to chat with. There was plenty of information available for things to see and do in the surrounding area, and Sheila and Bob were at hand each morning to offer ideas for the day.

The breakfasts, cooked by Bob, were delicious with local produce, portions were on the generous side, but you could of course choose as little as you wanted. Fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, local jams and a delicious lemon curd, coffee, teas and juices were plentiful. There was also the option of very good kippers for a lighter breakfast.

Tudor House is located next to an active railway line yet the few trains that passed were not a bother, it was shame we did not see any steam trains pass though!. The house sits in a peaceful and quite location and nicely placed for exploring nearby villages of Malham with its two pubs and pretty village, Settle and Skipton. Many other places of interest are within an easy car trip and our journey across the Dales was absolutely breathtaking.

We really have no adverse comments to make about our stay and would certainly return to continue our exploration of the beautiful Dales whilst staying in perfect accommodation with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your time with us. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
912 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing