We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 3rd time, our last time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chassey-le-Camp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Camp Romain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chassey-le-Camp
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our 3rd time, our last time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

On our way home from southern France we like to tour through the wineyard of Burgundy. Tuis was our 3de visit to this hotel and we decided this was definitly our last time. The people at the reception and at the restaurant are so nervous and do not pay attention to you at all. The rooms are very small and the beds and pillows are so soft that we had a bad sleep. This time we had a bigger bathroom than before. but why a curtain that is dirty?
The room was dusty and had spiderwebs at the ceiling. The food at the restaurant is ok. Their winelist is great. Families with children are seated at the orangery, not as great as the restaurant itself.
Breakfast at the verandah was great, so was the wheater that day. But why small croissants and pain au chocolade and not the real one?
After checkout we decided this was our last time mosly for the uncomfortable beds

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    83
    34
    13
    4
See reviews for
44
91
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Camp Romain. We arrived at 10.00 and had asked for a small salad for dinner. We did get served quite quickly but it was worst salad I have ever eaten. The staff was friendly but nervous, we didn't complain but decided not to have dinner. Our friends who had arrived earlier, had a full course menu and were also very dissapointed. Our room was tiny, with a toilet almost in the room and we paid the same price as our friends who had much larger rooms but also complained because of the noise. You litteraly here your neighbours talking. Breakfast was OK, quite elaborate but basic. Family with kids might enjoy the place because there's a pool (indoors & outdoors) but as the weather wasn't great we didn't enjoy it. Overall next time I would look for a "maison d'hôtes" with more charm.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RnoAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We spent a nice family week-end with children and 3 grandchildren(3,6, and 8 years old) in this hotel that we know since 20 years. Located in the middle of nowhere between the vinyards.of Burgundy. Spacious family room in the main building. The double and triple rooms in the annexe are more modern. Everyone was pleased with the indoor and outdoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, tennis and minigolf. Decent french cuisine, breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. You can enjoy your meals and drinks on the beautiful terrace with splendid view. A lot to visit in the neighbourhood : wine castles, wine tasting, and Beaune. Rent a bike, or take yours along like we did. This is our favourite family adress, we are pleased to share it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichtervelde
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel , first was in june 2009 .
We knew from our first visit that the decoration/furniture of the rooms is worn and olddated , beds not very comfortable , but on the other hand there is the relaxation center ( indoor pool , sauna , steam room , jacuzzi and also massages ) , an outdoor pool , and not at least the position . It is situated in a village with only a few houses , the area is " green " , in the evening there is almost no noise and the view from the terrace of your room or the restaurant/bar is lovely .
Most of the staff are friendly . Breakfast is good , one minus : why do some customers get coffee served at table and do others have to get it themselves from the buffet ?
We were not the only ones to question this .
The tittle " ups and downs " refers to the restaurant . We had three diners and only one was fully satisfactory . It felt as if there are two teams in the kitchen ; one team can handle the stress : plates come regulary and the foor is prepared the way it should be , but team 2 gives you long waits and some of the food is either under or overcooked .
There is also no " plate of the day " or light stuff for lunch , so if you stay at the hotel during the day you are almost forced to go out for lunch . I think the hotel could gain a lot by giving this issue more attention ; at noon the restaurant was deserted while another restaurant " L'Escale at Remigny, 1,5 km on the road to Chagny ,was full .
All in all it certainly is a good place for a stop over on the way to the south , also for a weekend but for longer stays I would like to see some changes done to the catering and the comfort in the rooms .

Room Tip: certainly ask for room in annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remieten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

While almost impossible to find without a GPS or detailed map, this hotel benefits from its isolation to offer a rare combination in the usually expensive Beaune area: absolute quiet, a rural environment, down-to-earth lodging at honest prices. The number of return guests seems to suggest this is a successful formula.
The hotel is located in a tiny old village at the foot of a high hill which once was home to a Roman camp; the hike up to the site is very nice, with panoramic views once on top, a bit steep but good exercise prior to the good meals one is bound to eat in this area, and at the hotel's very good restaurant.
The rooms are basic but fully satisfactory; those in the annex are newer, but perhaps more bland and slightly stuffier due to the very effective insulation. There are some family rooms as well.
The highlight of the Auberge du Camp Romain is its restaurant, which is perhaps a bit more upscale than the hotel. It serves above average traditional hearty fare at decent prices, and has a good selection of local wines, some of them less known (even one from the village!) but well worth discovering. The bonus is not having to drive after drinking, which is hard to avoid in Burgundy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mos505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed in what was billed as a "family room'' in the annex. It was really just a large double room (with space for 2 extra beds). The cleanliness/decor/etc of the room was not the greatest. The lobby to the annex (separate building) has a very strange smell emanating from an indoor fish pond. Lighting in the annex hallway and lobby is fluorescent light. The plus to this property was its location and the restaurant. The indoor pool was smallish (especially for the number of people/kids) and water was cold. You had to walk outside from the annex building to reaach the pool. There is also an outdoor pool (not open due to the unseasonably cold weather) that looked very nice. Similarly, there is a large terrace that looked to be a wonderful place to sit outside and enjoy the view (but weather did not cooperate while we were there).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_in_der_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

We originally found the Auberge in the 80s - two lines in the red Michelin guide with a 3-star hotel rating. The hotel changed owners a few years ago and our opinion of the place remains that it is a great place to stay. 1) Rooms are simple and comfortable (in the main building bathrooms have tubs; in the annex there are showers). 2) Prices remain very reasonable for rooms or demi-pension. Low season special offers are quite good as well. For a double room with an extra twin bed, desk and chairs, balcony overlooking the vineyards, breakfast buffet and dinner (not including reasonably priced wines from local vintners) we paid 146 euros/day for the two of us. 3) The inn has an indoor heated pool, sauna, outdoor pool, tennis courts; they can arrange horseback riding, there are many pedestrian walks and trails in the area, as well as wineries. 4)The main building also has a computer, a lot of seating areas, meeting rooms, billiard table. 5) The dining room is quite elegant and the food never disappoints. The current chef is really excellent. The best part is you don't have to worry about drinking and driving after dinner. 6) Staff have given us great recommendations for restaurants on our excursions to nearby places of interest - Chalons, Saulieu, Dôle, Cluny, Paray-le-Monial, and of course Beaune and Dijon. Outside of low season, there are many châteaux in the area open to the public and lots of outdoor activities.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraEOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chassey-le-Camp
3.3 mi away
Chateau de Bellecroix
7.2 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lameloise
Hotel Lameloise
#1 of 6 in Chagny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotellerie du Val d'Or
Hotellerie du Val d'Or
#1 of 1 in Mercurey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Camp Romain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Camp Romain

Property: Auberge du Camp Romain
Address: D409, 71150 Chassey-le-Camp, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chassey-le-Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chassey-le-Camp
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing