We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene situation”

Souda Bay War Cemetery
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Souda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Suda Bay War Cemetery is located approximately 5 km east from the centre of Chania (Xania). There are now 1,500 Commonwealth servicemen of the Second World War buried or commemorated in the cemetery. 776 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate a number of casualties believed to be buried among them. The cemetery also contains 19 First World War burials brought in from Suda Bay Consular Cemetery, 1 being unidentified. There are also 7 burials of other nationalities and 37 non-war burials.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Serene situation”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This war cemetry is situated in an 'off the track' spot at the head of Souda Bay. The grounds are immaculately maintained and the headstones commemorating the fallen in World War II are kept in beautiful condition. Even the small flower beds are well-cared for and laid out with perfect symmetry.

We've visited the cemetry on a number of occasions when visiting Crete and it really is moving to see the headstone inscriptions for so many young servicemen from different countries. The atmosphere is special and ironically peaceful and quiet. The people responsible for the upkeep of the cemetry deserve the highest praise for their care and attention in honouring those who served and made the ultimate sacrifice in the Battle of Crete.

Last visited in July 2012.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank keithward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    44
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Powerful and Important”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is so important to remember the Battle of Crete and that the freedom we take for granted was won at considerable cost. It was also the most beautifully kept grounds we saw in Crete.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Griffo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a beautiful and tranquil cemetery that provides a great resting place for the mostly WWII soldiers interred here. It is very near Chania airport and I highly recommend stopping in to pay your respects.

We also met an elderly man outside who had a pack of dogs with him. He told us that these dogs had been abandoned and that he was looking after them. We gave him some money to buy them food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelswithHetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arc-les-Gray, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Peaceful place.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Set in a lovely place in Souda bay,hard to imagine what these brave men went through,well kept and looked after by the Greek people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daveh729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lest us not forget”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My son who is doing history for GCSE wanted to visit and so we arrived one hot lunchtime. There were a few other people in the cemetery grounds which are immaculately maintained and read about the evacuation of the Allies from Crete in late Spring 1941. Visiting made the events all the more real for seeing the line after line of gravestones. Well worth the stop and it certainly made me re-evaluate the freedoms we all take for granted every day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souda Bay War Cemetery also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Souda Bay War Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing