We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put up with the facilities for the wildlife!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curio Bay Camp Ground
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Put up with the facilities for the wildlife!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

To be honest, the facilities were pretty basic - coin showers and a strange little hut for a kitchen - but that's not why you come here.

The campsite is fantastically located for wildlife. The yellow-eyed penguins come right up to the shore and you can see them from a very close distance as they play and waddle around and fall over at around dusk. The dolphins in the bay are easily visible too, and the petrified forest is fascinating. Put up with the facilities to spend a night here and you'll always remember that flap-flap-flap of penguin feet as they waddle right past you with nothing but a curious gaze.

But please keep quiet and respect the birds, they're wild animals - enjoy nature for what it is.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

You go to Curio Bay for the penguins and dolphins and this is the only place in the area to camp. It has very basic toilet and shower facilities. Frankly, I prefer the DOC campgrounds we stayed in in other parts of NZ.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fordwestvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waikawa hotels

Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My advice is to approach this Holiday Park with a good sense of humor. Ask yourself, now how many things could I make out of what look to be old, circular water tanks? Did you answer, “toilets, showers, and even a camp kitchen”? Then you would be right. We couldn’t even find the kitchen for the longest time because it didn’t occur to us it could be in a round thing that small; in addition, only 3 of the 4 stovetop burners worked but it certainly was a conversation starter with the other folks trying to cook up a meal. There is also not really a good place out of the weather to eat, but there is a shelter with a few picnic tables in it. The main toilet block by the office is better than the rest. You get what you pay for.

However, if you came for the beautiful surroundings, you won’t be disappointed with this terrific location, right between lovely Porpoise Bay and the cool, petrified forest floor of Curio Bay (with penguins!). The Hector’s dolphins are always about; if you don’t see them, you didn’t look hard enough. When we were there, the yellow-eyed penguin chicks were big and almost completely in their young-adult clothes. The nightly drama of parents returning to chicks falling all over themselves to be fed regurgitaetd fish by the parents played out very visibly to spectators inside the viewing ring. Don’t miss it!

Although I've given this place an overall average rating, I would definitely go back here to enjoy what this area has to offer.

Room Tip: Some find the sites among the flax a little claustrophobic. There are some spots on the cliff that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing location for a campground with very sheltered sites. Perfect for exploring the area and seeing lots of wildlife, sea lions, penguins and hectors dolphins. The camp is very basic with very dated facilities, a little paint would go a long way. Don't be put off though, the showers are great, nice and hot and powerful. Recommend having your own cooking setup to make life easier.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobsfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for one night at a powered site. We arrived late-ish at 7pm and asked for change for the laundry and showers. When we went to go and use the washing machine we found the hut it was in locked, and it stayed that way until 10am when we left the next morning. The toilets and showers need to be updated, even a lick of paint would do. And one small outside basin for the women's toilet block was poor. $2 for a 3 or 4 min lukewarm shower is not great, particularly as we were told it was for 5 mins and I had shower gel on my hands when the water stopped without warning. On the plus side, the site was clean and the plots are private, a generous size and very natural. The campsite is in an amazing location with penguins on one side and dolphins on the other. But we got the impression that the owner does not care about the site nor his customers and is in it for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Heide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fantastic site and very relaxing plus nice tent sites as well and we had great views over the bay to watch Hectors dolphins playing in the waves. Would say however that the facilities need URGENT attention, kitchen was one of the worst I've had to use and showers were also in need of an update, and make sure you take your own food as there is basically NOTHING here and no shops within 50km!!
Service was good though and hopefully get to go to the area again one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlosdajackel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely location, fantastic staff, excellent value for the money ! You can't go wrong here. It's certainly not a five star hotel but dollar for dollar little competes with the value offered at this wonderful campsite . We love it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZUKCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
13.0 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
3.0 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Camp Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Camp Ground

Property: Curio Bay Camp Ground
Address: 601 Waikawa-Curio Bay Rd, Waikawa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waikawa
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Camp Ground Waikawa, New Zealand - Southland Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing