We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waikava Harbour View
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Waikawa Lodge(North Island)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverton Beach Motel(Invercargill)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
65
41
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
41
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightfish and chipscurio baypeaceful locationlovely accommodationworked fineinternet access isremote areaperfect base to explorestayed longercatlins areafully equipped kitchencomfortable bedharbour viewthe main lodgeamazing viewslovely spot
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A wonderful clean and well equipped place to stay. Every need was catered for. Lots of information on things to do and serviced by wonderful cafés close by. The Blue Cod Blues two minutes walk away gave us a wonderful blue cod and chips meal and was very friendly. A wonderful informative museum and we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: If travelling in a group the lodge would be awesome. Sleeps up to ten
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had 8 of us and plenty of room. The location is beautiful and the house, spotless. Enjoyed take away from the little diner down the road. Be sure to bring groceries though-don't expect to shop for them in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PitmanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked the lodge and for us as a family it was the best place I have stayed in. It reminds me of home and was clean and nicely presented. I enjoyed the style the owners have obviously taken care to decorate with - very kiwi like. The environment is beyond magnificent and the history of the place from what I gather is very special, would have liked to learn more but ran out of time. I understand the museum down the road a bit would have helped me more in that regard.
I cannot recommend Waikava Harbour View enough.
If your children like outdoors then there is much for them to see and do nature-wise.

Room Tip: After squashed up accommodation in Dunedin we loved the opportunity to spread out and indulge in the extra space of the lodge.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raewynl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Two Aussies, one Pom and a Kiwi, all seasoned travellers (in more ways than one ?) enjoyed a most delightful stay in the Lodge. Clean with great views and Niagra Bar & Cafe just up the road.
We wanted for nothing. A most Beautiful part of South Island, and we shall return for a longer stay in the future, we wanted for nothing during our visit and enjoyed every moment, ( even the Kiwis won the ODI ) what a way to finish the day !
Many thanks,
Captain John May & Marilyn May.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Johnmay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in the Toi Toi cottage, just beautiful! Cottage is delightful with beautiful views. Recommend you read the visitors book. Internet is a bit slow so don't plan to upload too many photos here. Very close to Curio Bay. Go down an hour or two before dusk for little yellow-eyed penguin spotting (we saw chicks being fed) and the sea lions. the Catlins are magical, allow lots of time for travelling through. take your own food supplies as shops quite scarce.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews