We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best in Betty’s Bay!,”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio at swimming pool area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio at swimming pool area
Fynbos in our garden Helene Segal, the host.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Patio at swimming pool area
Fynbos in our garden
Helene Segal, the host.
Relax infront of the fire with a glass of wine.
Communal area with fire place stackaway doors..let nature entire your home for your stay!
African Penguins
Stony Point, African Penguins
Attracons:  Harold Porter Botanical Garden
Hiking Trails in Harold PorterBotanicl Garden
Kogelberg Nature Reserve
Front of Stay at Friends, Bettys Bay
Comunual lounge for boutique rooms
Thesea is 640 m away.  Silver Sandbeach
Breafast at an addtional cost 120 zar fresh fruit, joughurt, juice, coffee, tea and omelette
Omelette filled with freshly fried vegetables or bacon and cheese
Blankets to keep you warm.
Swimmng towels
Patio to relax and rejeuvenate
Boutique room 2: The  Cape Sugarbird ..en suite..
En suite Bathroom of the Cape Sugarbird
The seating area in the Cape Sugarbird
Facilities in Cape Sugarbird
En suite Bathroom: The Cape Sugarbird
Boutique room 2: The Cape Sugarbird
Boutique room 2: The Paradise Flycatcher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Betty's Bay, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
James_dh...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best in Betty’s Bay!,”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I don’t really know how to start!, Amazing! Brilliant! Exceptional! This is the place to stay when visiting Betty’s Bay. Helene is the best hostess ever,we have travelled around South Africa frequently and have rarely found anywhere like Stay at Friends.
From checking in we were made to feel so special, nothing too much trouble. Thanks to Andi too for looking after us both, fetching our breakfasts to our room every morning and making our stay comfortable.
Helene cooked for all her guests whilst here on two nights, do not miss the Bobotie or the Lamb shanks!,she is a first class chef!!!! We stayed in Franschhoek the week before and never had food to match Helene’s. The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. This is how a guest house should be, you must stay here, you will not be disappointed!
The wonderful beach a 2 minute walk away, restaurants close by, we ate at Tides highly recommended.
We arrived as guests but are leaving as friends!
Thank you so much Helene you are a special person , keep doing what you’re doing , it works wonderfully.
Dave and Heather ( aka David aka Mr ? !!) xx
We will definitely be back .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi2945...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best of the best,”
Reviewed 10 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just returned home after a fabulous trip to South Africa. We stayed in some really lovely places but this was the best . This is beautifully situated, has beautiful rooms and lovely areas to relax. But this place has something more, something special....it comes in the form of Helene, the owner. Helene is on site and welcomes all her guests with open arms. She genuinely cares about each person.
She tried to book us a table at a local restaurant but it was closed, Instead she cooked us a beautiful meal and we shared a glass or two and chatted away.
Breakfast is relaxed and beautiful.This place is aptly named because we felt as if we were staying with friends. Thank you Helene.
If you are travelling to Cape Town my advice would be drive out to Betty’s Bay and stay here rather than in town. Relax with Helene, you will not regret it,
Mitzi and Barry

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisanne P
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best service EVER!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Location is close to penguins & has beautiful view over the area. The room is spacious and has a lovely shower! Value for money is great.
But this is not all, the welcome was superb by getting a snack and glass of orange juice from the most lovely host! Helene and her husband, the owners, are literally the best people we have met for a LONG time. They understand how to treat their guests and were very helpful in our search for a shark dive company in Gansbaai. We would absolutely recommend staying here; it's one of the best accommodation we have stayed at in South-Africa.
We wish Helene and her husband all the best xx

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trolli_19...
Elmshorn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for family ”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Stay at Friends 3 nights in November 2017. It was a perfect time there. We had our own flat with 2 bedrooms, 1 for the kids and 1 for us. When we arrived there, we got a very warm welcome with a cool refreshment and very delicious finger food.
The flat was very clean, well equipped with everything what we needed. The offered breakfast, wow, absolutely perfect. And also the team was everytime very friendly and helpful if needed.
The guesthouse is located in a safe area.
We would definitely stay again there and can recommend it to everyone else.
Thanks for the very good time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChidoF2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at Stay with Friends”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in Betty's bay thanks to Helene and her staff member Andi. They really made us and our baby feel most welcome. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
You are most Welcome! We strive to better our service everyday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivalSons
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple perfect”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The place is very clean & tastefully decorated, Helen is lovely & always available to help you to have a wonderful journey like was mine! You will enjoy your stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thank you for making use of our accommodation. It was a pleasure to have hosted you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5835QXte...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay made special”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Really enjoyed my stay. Was absolutely beautiful. The service and care received this past weekend was exceptional. Friendly people. Room was exactly what the images reflected. The comfort. Definitely felt like home away from home. The view from our room. Could wake up to this daily. Definitely good spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thank you for staying at Stay at Friends. You were special guests! You welcome to revisit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing