We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hillhead Farm Lets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hillhead Farm Lets
Ranked #2 of 2 Bannockburn B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Arrived here with my husband and 9 year old daughter late afternoon,after a day of trampling around the sights of Stirling..knackered,to find a lovely clean warm,welcoming room in perfect peaceful surroundings.A double bed and a camp bed(which was a bit uncomfortable,but,the room was so warm we just doubled the duvet and my daughter lay on that)tea/coffee facilities and a private shower/toilet...was a self-contained little unit that was very impressive.Was in a great location for visiting Stirling by car,and was in the heart of Bannockburn.Although there was no cooking facilities,there is a Premier in 2 minutes walk where we had a fantastic all you can eat brekkie and the kids eat free.Would absolutely recommend staying here.It was fabulous!!!

Room Tip: We had unit 1,,,excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    12
    11
    19
See reviews for
26
38
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Booked via Booking.com at a cheaper rate which was a bonus to start with. On arrival there was ample parking space and the owner was friendly, knowing who I was on arrival. Got shown to the room to find it was a twin rather than a double as requested but the owner offered to change this when i went out for tea which was great. Rooms feel they have recently been renovated and are comfy and modern. Only downfalls were the zip-link bed which isn't anywhere near as comfy as a standard double. Also the shower wasn't very powerful and took a while to drain. Bathroom was large with plenty of towels. Lot's of storage space and also a useful luggage stand. Wall mounted TV and IPod docking station was a bonus. Bedroom compendium was very useful. Overall a very pleasant stay and with a few little improvements it would be an 'excellent' rating

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachiepagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Booked through laterooms.com for an overnight stay. The accomodation itself was easy to find and first impressions were very positive. The owner was very friendly and approachable for any queries. The room was very clean and homely - ideal size and facilities. Being a Stirling local in the past found the tourist information provided ideally suited for any newcomers to the area - covered all the sights and places to visit that I would recommend to friends. Slightly different from a 'hotel experience' although my partner and myself actually preferred it on certain points. Overall, a great experience, very relaxing and would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MatheCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Had booked a room for two nights well in advance for a stop over on are way up to skye and on are way back. After traveling 300 miles in are car, we turn up at the B&B to be told we had not booked a room, after pointing out to the owner with the help of my phone recent contact, that I had only spoken to him a couple of days before coming up. To double check everything was ok with the booking. He said he must have made a mistake and he then gave us a address of another B&B. He rang him up and he just happened to have a room ready. So off we went and stayed the night as we where far to tied to be looking for a B&B so late on in the day. Now mistakes can be made, but it looked to me that the owner got the chance to book his room for the full weekend and took it, if this was so; then he should have rang me and I would have made other arrangments and not have helped out his friend. I can not coment on the owners rooms but I would recommend getting your booking in wrighting before setting off. If you feel having the booking in wrighting would still stop a MISTAKE like this from happening to you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanandrea483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bannockburn hotels

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The price is right, it's easy to fine, and the gardens are charming.

The owner is a bit shifty. We arrived with no one home. So I called and left a message on the cell phone and walked across the street for a beer. We waited an hour and didn't hear back, walked back to the house, ready to leave and found a note on the door that gave the room number and that the key was in the door.

The bed is extremely lumpy, there are springs showing in the mattress cover. I got a medium hot shower, very quick, and my husband got no shower at all.

When leaving, we finally found the owner who said that he had some king of emergency and that he left a note on the door for us, but it must have blown off. (gee, the second note didn't blow off, and why not use a cell phone?) We told him about the shower and he gave us a look of shock, stating that he was not aware of any shower problems at all. the guy is a flake, don't trust him.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Had booked a room with a dog. On arrival at 6pm found a letter of the manger: he would be back at 8pm - key at the room. It was a cold day - room was cold as well. Went for a walk - at 8 no one was to be found. We then discovered that there was NO ELECTRICITY for our room except for some lamps. That meant: no heating, no internet, no tv, no hot shower, no socket to make tea. We called and sent text to landline and mobile (would be available 'any time' the letter had stated) to ask for help - reached answering machine and no reaction. Around 10.30 or 11pm another guest helped us to find the fuse box and after loosening some screws(!!!!) switched on fuses. In the middle of the night at 0.40am a text from the manager arrived on my mobile: 'is it ok now?' I found that annoying. In the morning one was required to send a text so that the manager could arrive before departure. I did. He was there at once offering a hand shake ... which I was rather slow to accept. So I was told this was considered 'rude' in Scotland. When starting to talk bout OUR problems I was told the heating was on now and that I pointed with my finger which was again called 'rude'. Without us having asked, the manager told us that we would not have to pay but he considered our second booking booking as cancelled - that was that. Another text arrived in the evening which said 'so sorry about last night ...' but they would have a very good record. Well - we had an experience I wish not to repeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita-fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

Had to visit Stirling on business and found Hillhead farm lets through late bookings.com. Very impressed with the quality and standard of the rooms. Will definetly use again if I need to come back to the area on business.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CliveBurrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bannockburn
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
4.3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Barn Lodge
The Barn Lodge
#1 of 2 in Bannockburn
57 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillhead Farm Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillhead Farm Lets

Property: Hillhead Farm Lets
Address: Pirnhall Road | Nr Stirling, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bannockburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bannockburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillhead Farm Lets 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillhead Farm Lets provide six luxury rooms which have been converted from a traditional Scottish farm steading in June 2010. The rooms have been finished to a very high standard and are set around a traditional Scottish cottage garden with panoramic views towards Stirling Castle, the Wallace Monument and the Field of Bannockburn. Our rooms have free hi speed wifi internet. We are located in the countryside close to the historical town of Bannockburn, within walking distance of the Bannockburn Battlefield site where Robert the Bruce defeated the English armies in 1314. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hillhead Farm Lets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillhead Farm Lets Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing