We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of King Robert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Robert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I randomly booked this hotel for 2 nights last minute, as family members were gonna be staying there. I am so glad I did. For anyone who has bad things to say about this hotel, they shouldn't for what you pay. People like to nit pick, and moan about everything. I certainly do not like to spend time nit picking on a hotel which is such great value. If I paid over the odds, then yes, I booked a single room, dinner, bed and breakfast, for the two nights, and was given a double room. Had everything you need in the room. The choice of food was good for the evening meal, freshly made, and huge! Special mention to the waitress Joanne, what a great member of staff she is. Although, every member of staff, all friendly. Close to local bus stops, and right next to Bannockburn attraction. Room itself, was great, comfy bed, and plenty of pillows, and towels for bathroom etc. No complaints whatsoever, none! Highly recommend. Would, and will defo stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lianne6520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    173
    93
    36
    24
See reviews for
84
198
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night and thank goodness for that!! The hotel is rundown and the rooms are in desperate need of a complete overhaul.. Bar and restaurant and other public areas are nice! Our room was large but had a smell of damp!! All in all I suppose we got what we paid for!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The King Robert was a great, inexpensive place to stay. The breakfast was hearty, and the dinners in the restaurant were great. Best of all, the staff was extremely helpful and kind. Best of all, the location on the historic fields of Bannockburn can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ding0Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked a double room for my husband and I and a single room for our son, through book.com, which cost around £88 in total. Both rooms were very clean, were of a high standard, and provided good amenities in keeping with their 3star visitscotland rating, although we felt that the double room was slightly nicer than the single in terms of decor/fittings. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were advised that if we wanted to eat in the hotel restaurant, then we should book. This was indeed good advice as the Bruce Bistro became quite busy fairly quickly. The meals were tasty, varied and well-priced. They didn't pretend to be anything fancy- just well-cooked and well-considered; we enjoyed it all. For three starters, three mains, two desserts plus four soft drinks, a hot chocolate and two glasses of wine, it cost just under £60. Breakfast was very good and was included in the price of the room. A huge selection of foods, and as much of it as we liked. Cereals, croissants, brioche, toast, cooked breakfast, juices, continental; you name it! The hotel is located directly next to the newly revamped Bannockburn visitor centre, and there are a number of pubs/restaurants nearby. We felt that the hotel is a good base for sight-seeing and would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bek-Ola-Ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to the new Bannockburn exhibition which we wanted to visit. We found it perfect for an overnight stay but not our idea of a romantic or scenic break, if that is what you are looking for. It sits just off a main road behind a car rental depot.
Check in was no problem, the receptionist was very helpful and efficient.. She explained that the bar and lounge was undergoing a major refit and they were using alternative spaces. Our room was to the rear of the hotel overlooking Bannockburn battlefield and was very quiet - apart from the creaky floorboards. The furniture and fittings were a bit dark and dated but the room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean with crisp white bed linen and towels. There was good supply of tea coffee biscuits etc.
There was a lovely bistro serving a varied menu of very reasonably priced food. Main meals averaged between £7.50 and £8.00, starters and sweets were between £3.50 and £4.00. They had a kids/pensioners menu priced at £3.99. Excellent value .Drink prices were also very fair for a hotel.
Breakfast was served in a large somewhat dull dining area. I think it would normally be served in the area being renovated, which if it is as nice as the bistro, will be lovely. Breakfast was excellent. As much as you could eat from the cold selection followed by a full cooked breakfast. The lady who served breakfast was very pleasant. Our fellow guests consisted of tourists, business people and workmen.
We booked on a late deal and got a good price which we felt was great value for money. The area around the hotel, apart from the battlefield, is pretty uninteresting with few amenities but if you are just looking for a good base to tour it would be quite acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed the weekend and found food & rooms very good and staff lovely .Entertainment was also provided in the lounge on the Friday and the young female singer was great too ! Tribute act ( Freddy Mercury) on the Saturday was excellent . Only small gripe was lack of choice in Saturday dinner , but meal was ok . All in all excellent value for money .Will def be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Well, we came as a group to visit Scotland & stayed 2 nights.To be frank comfy n very large rooms did shock me. Especially meal price is quite affordable. The only bad thing is WiFi . As a Turkish guy it was a bit COLD for me; but this is Scotland so if come abroad in June , please note that it is essential to bring your jumpers! Because the heater doesn't work. I can prefer staying there again resolutely. See U soon Scotland :)

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deniz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bannockburn
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Robert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Robert Hotel

Property: King Robert Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 0LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bannockburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Robert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Robert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Robert Stirling
King Robert Hotel Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing