We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location. Helpful staff .”
Review of King Robert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Robert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Westayed here rather than get ripped off by the Glagow hotels during the Commonwealth Games. The whole booking procedure was friendly and efficient and I was pleased with the quote. I didn't even pay a deposit just paid the bill on our departure and used a card with no extra fee! We used it as a base . It's not far from central Stirling which is a great city with lots to see and do.
We ate in on the day of our arrival and thought the food was very good indeed. Portions were generous just how we like them. Breakfast was good. Maybe the cereals could be of a higher quality but we loved the fresh fruit every day. You can really fill your boots if you are inclined! The staff worked really hard and were very nice to us.
We had bikes and were able to lock them away with the help of the receptionist. There are some great rides close by.
It's adjacent to the Bannockburn memorial so you should take a look at that . Stirling Castle is fascinating. The town is nice. We loved it all.
Yes the rooms are a bit tired but we slept well and the rooms were clean & functional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whereamI2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Checked into this hotel Last minute cos of an error at another hotel. Service was good but check in did take a while. First glance it was okay. Lots of parking and the bar area was modern. However, the music was so quiet all you could hear were others conversations. The food was below average. My chicken was watery and rubbery, and I suspect it was microwaved. The chips were very greasy and hollow. My friend ordered pie, which turned out to be a small 3inch square of pastry on top of a small amount of meat and gravy. Service at the bar was slow despite not many being in it.
The room had a lovely modern bathroom, but even though the shower was huge, the shower head wasn't very powerful and it took a while to wash my hair because of that. The actual room was dated, with dark wooden furniture and side board. The bed was very uncomfortable and hard. I had a terrible sleep because we were next to the door that entered the upper floor. We had a big flat screen tv. The window looked onto a park, but immediately below was an overflowing bin full of rubbish.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel. Very overpriced for the facilities and service.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff were friendly. Room was tired, wall paper bubbling off the walls and loose floor tiles in the bathroom but the room and bathroom were clean. The shower was over the bath but powerful and easy to use. We had two evening meals there and they were good. Breakfast was not to our taste. Buffet style kept warm. Looked a bit like school dinners, bacon looked wet and eggs overdone so we just had fruit salad, a carton yogurt and a pastry. Tables were sticky. However other people seemed happy so maybe we are just fussy. Room service was supposed to be until 2200 but we arrived back at 2130 and were told it was closed. Reception couldn't explain, just said the kitchen was closed. There was a function on and it was quite noisy but when we got to our room, which was on the ground floor overlooking the Bannockburn site we couldn't hear it. Bus stop to town just outside hotel and good rail links from Stirling. We got a taxi back from Stirling and it cost us £5.00. Very disappointed to find clean towels and linen outside our door on the floor when we checked out, not very hygienic.

Room Tip: No aircon so ground floor is cooler and overlooking Bannockburn site appears to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 747Webby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Outside appearance was deceiving. We approached a motel type building. The interior is inviting with modern decor. Our room was spotless, compact, modern with pale furnishings and everything a traveller on the move might need . The bathroom was brightly lit with polished cream tiles, very nice. Our coach party ate in the main dining room. Evening meal was good and buffet breakfast was excellent. The dining room is modern and nicely decorated snd is adjacent to a large bar. Do be careful of the bed frame. This is made of wood and I tripped over it and had a painful fall.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rumblintum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location for an event we were attending in Stirling but being a university sports team it was clear the bad rep they carry with them was immediately stamped on us when we arrived. Instead of being welcomed we were told what charges we would incur for damages and how easy it would be to lose our deposit. This was unfair as we take our sport very seriously and are not the rowdy crowd they seemed to think we were. We had a couple of pints in the bar post-event but are not big drinkers and caused no disturbances to any other guests or staff, however, we always felt like we were being watched and checked up on. The hotel itself was nice and clean, breakfast was lovely, although the evening entertainment was very loud and could be heard across the entire building late into the night. I would probably stay here again as the great location and rooms outweigh the negative vibes we got from the staff

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningMan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here july 14 hotel just ok the main problem was the heat and stuffiness in the our room. didnt sleep my whole trip. And the emergency door wasnt locked which made us feel a little unsafe in our room and after telling staff at desk she said she would sort it. Which she never done.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keelreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the King Robert Hotel. The rooms were nice and beds comfy, and it is a great location for the battle of Bannockburn. We wound up eating dinner and breakfast there, and both meals surprised my wife and I. They were reasonably priced, good, and good portions.

The soap dispensers in the bathrooms are bolted to the wall, and unfortunately the tube in ours was disconnected from the head (thus no soap would come out). The front desk gladly gave us extra shampoo and hand soap to use during our stay.

Sure, the rooms could use a little updating, but for a small local hotel, this place was great. We would be happy to stay there again if we were in Bannockburn.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bannockburn
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
592 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#11 of 20 in Stirling
1,018 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Robert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Robert Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 0LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bannockburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Price Range: £55 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Robert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your King Robert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Robert Stirling
King Robert Hotel Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing