We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellently located and immaculately presented”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milton Hayloft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bannockburn, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Debsuitca...
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellently located and immaculately presented”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This house was immaculate. The owners have clearly thought carefully about what their guests might need to enjoy a relaxing stay and then put it all into the house. It is beautifully presented and extremely well equipped. We chose the house for its location and its appearance on-line and we were not disappointed. We used the house mainly as a base to travel into Glasgow, however, there was also lots to see and do in and around Stirling and there are Castles and Lochs within easy reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open plan kitchen/dining/living space, very sociable for our family group
Liked least: It tended to be a little too warm upstairs at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
Herford, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Milton Hayloft”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a very good time in Bannockburn/Stirling.
Besides good opportunities in the area the Milton Hayloft was a very well furbished, equipped and spacious home-from-home. Everything was as promised. The back yard/garden is good enough to step out and enjoy breakfast at the largre table with comfy chairs. Ideal for families with three toilets, two showers spacious ground floor even for a day in. Kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer, comfy beds, large cupboards free WIFI... definietly a recomodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bedrooms, beds, bathrooms, kitchen, large dining area, couches, patio doors, terrace....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Repp R
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Perfect Rental!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This immaculate house easily sleeps 6. DW,W/D,2 full & 1/2 bath. Very large patio.We had 32 people for a family get-together and it worked perfectly. Owners repeatedly went out of their way to meet our needs. The night I arrived the owners father came by to make sure everything was OK. I give them my highest recommendation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dozyarmad...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really comfortable week in Milton Hayloft. Its a fantastic base from which you can explore Stirling (less than 5 mins drive), the Trossachs, Glasgow etc. The house is really well equipped, it was a pleasure to come back and relax for the evening, and plan the next day's adventure. The garden is small but a great sun trap if you just want to sit and chat. There's also a large grassy area next to the cottage where you can play ball games to your heart's content if you need them to burn off some energy - my kids were very happy here. Would thoroughly recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croquetla...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent and well equipped.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were very impressed by the size of the property and it was very well equipped, including such items as a high chair, cot, and plastic cups and plates for children. Also a handy location for central Stirling provided you have a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnvande...
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Great house to live in and have vacation in. Everything you need is available, e.g. dishwasser, washer and dryer. Nice furniture. Great TV's in every bedroom too.
Nice seat in the garden.
Children friendly also for little children.
Much to see (also shopping) in Stirling, Glasgow and Edinburgh. Brochures etc are available.
In the village you can also walk around.
In Stirling you have an nice movie theater and a Franky and Johnny's (Amrican style).
Also it's possible to travel by train to Edinburgh, great city!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quick service, quick reply/conformation, quick return deposit, very clean house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lupin2
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice house, good location”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights in Milton Hayloft. The house is cosy and comfortable with nice decor. We especially enjoyed the very comfy mattresses on the beds and the luxury of having a television in every room. We were most surprised to be told to strip the beds on departure! We have been on many, many self catering holidays and even though we often do strip the beds, this is the first time we have ever been TOLD to do it!
Our refundable deposit was not returned on departure as stated, but four days later.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable mattresses on the beds
Liked least: Being told that beds had to be stripped on leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2013
Hi. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay at Milton Hayloft.
I am glad that you find the property cosy, comfortable and appreciated the luxury of a TV in each bedroom.
Guests' comfort and overall satisfaction at all of our properties is something we pride ourselves on and constantly maintain.
I apologise if you felt the wording in the Welcome Folder '...We would be grateful if you could strip all beds that have been used during your stay of all fitted sheets, pillow slips and duvet covers...' to be too direct in its intent however in order to ensure the cleaners have enough time to thoroughly clean and prepare the property for the next guests this is something we find helpful; not all guests are seasoned self caterers therefore a polite request is often required.
Regarding the return of the security deposit- the wording on all our documentation pertaining to the return of this states 'returned after departure' not 'on departure'. It is impossible to return on the day of departure as we have to await the relevant paperwork from the cleaners and laundry to ensure that everything is as it should be.
This money is then refunded onto the card used for payment. Depending on departure day, this refund can sometimes take up to 5 days to be processed.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and I hope that you will choose one of our properties again in the future.
Kirsteen Barr-Kearsey, Director of Stirling Self Catering Ltd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing