We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant cottage in a lovely part of the world.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ochil Cottage

outside ochil cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
side entrance to Ochil cottage
well equipped kitchen with stanley range with seating for 7
upstairs double bedroom
down stairs double  bedroom
large sitting room with plenty seating
entrance porch with seat
small sitting room with futon and french windows to decking
large sitting room
bathroom with shower over bath
kitchen with every thing you need to cook a lovely meal
kitchen
view from courtyard
Robert the Bruce Statue at the Rotunda in Bannockburn a short walk  from the cottage
Stirling Castle 15 mins from cottage
quiet corner to relax
The Wallace Monument as the sun goes down
Lochs and lakes in and around the Stirling area
The Bannock burn 5 mins walk from cottage - one of many beautiful country walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bannockburn, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jim B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant cottage in a lovely part of the world.”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed as a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) in late October 2015. We found the cottage to be ideal for us. The booking was very easy and Anne was always contactable via email and phone if we had questions prior to arriving. We found the cottage to be as advertised. A previous review had mentioned about trouble parking but we found it not be a problem and could park our large estate car easily on the driveway. The WiFi is only accesible from the kitchen and small snug room but this didn't cause any major issues and Anne had advised us of this on arrival. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. It was extremely quiet during the evening and at night and we certainly had no incidents of noisy behaviour. The cottage is ideally located for exploring this area and beyond. It is perfectly positioned just off the M9 (5min drive) but is extremely quiet. We travelled to Edinburgh (35 mins), Loch Lomond (30 mins), Falkirk (15 mins) as well as the more local sights of Stirling and Bannockburn. We would happily return if we ever decided to come back to this area. Thanks Anne for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
thank you Jim for this very honest review

hope to welcome you back again sometime
kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
thank you for your review i am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ochil cottage and hope to welcome you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MegM25506...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst place ever. Don't stay here.”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We booked this place based on previous reviews but it is dreadful and the advertising is completely false and misleading. It is not furnished to a high standard as claimed - far from it. The beds are average, the lounge furniture is dirty and uncomfortable and the unreliable wifi can only be accessed from the small day room as the modem is actually in the owners house next door. The decking area outside was unusable as the BBQ was dirty and scattered with litter and the furniture was also dirty and broken. The kitchen was smelly and crockery was chipped. The utensils had food remains on them. The bath and tiles were mouldy and the coffee pot had mould inside it.The cottage is in a run down area at the end of a dirt road which is used as a walkway at all hours through to an estate at the rear. The window in the upstairs bedroom facing the road was broken and did not close properly so we were disturbed during the night as drunken locals use it regularly. Parking and turning were also difficult as you either conduct a many point turn or back into the cottage courtyard via a broken gate. There was a strong smell of diesel in the kitchen making it unpleasant to use and necessitating closure of all doors to prevent the rest of the house from smelling. The owner had opened the small kitchen window to try to let the smell out and denied it was a problem. We returned one afternoon and there were 4 plug in scent bottles in the area and it was obvious that the window and front door had been left open while we were out. Apart from the security issues, we were not happy and advised the owner we would be leaving the next day. We had paid in advance for the cottage and advised that we would pay for the 3 nights we had stayed and requested a refund of the remainder. It was expensive at $710 or 330 pounds for 3 unpleasant nights but we couldn't stand the smell and were feeling quite ill so we just wanted to leave. The owner gave us a cheque the next morning. She must have known that, as tourists, we would not be able to cash it as we did not have a UK bank account. We then lost 2 days of our holidays driving back to Bannockburn to return the cheque to the owner as she would not deposit money into our account until she had the cheque back.
AVOID THIS PLACE. It is not a luxury cottage. It is a very basic, poorly furnished, dirty, badly maintained and a total ripoff.
If you want to stay in the area, stay at Salruth Cottage in Alloa. We have stayed there previously and it is what a self catering cottage should be.
If you are in any doubt, please take a look at the photos. I have only uploaded a few but I have many more to illustrate the poor standard of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing. Avoid at all costs.
Liked least: Location, access and condition of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
i don't know how one person can find a property so dreadful when other people find it so nice ,comfortable ,good area , great for family's
it was unfortunate that this one person did have a few problems with various things that have now been sorted and i am very sorry for the problems it caused for you
i don't however agree with the long rant you have posted and after 10 years of having a holiday let have never experienced anything like this ever
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah R
1 review
“very nice house within easy reach of lovely places”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

very clean and comfortable, very nice landlady. big garden for kids to play in, nice area, within easy reach of nice places to visit

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
happy you enjoyed your time at ochil cottage hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dglgkg
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Amazing cottage"”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we are just back from an amazing weekend at this gorgeous cottage we couldn't have possibly asked for anything else there was 7 of us in total four adults and 3 kids and the dog there was more than enough room for everyone and a lovely outdoor area to and the owner Anne is lovely couldn't recommend this beautiful cottage enough absolutely amazing will Defo be back x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
so happy you all had a good time and are very welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey F
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My extended family and I (6 adults and a toddler) had a very sunny weeks stay. The cottage is in a lovely quiet location (at the end of a lane) and was plenty big enough for us all (the toddler took the futon in the sun room). We had the downstairs bedroom and the bed was comfortable.
Since there is a bedroom and the bathroom is on the ground floor, the cottage would be suitable for holiday makers with mobility issues.
I especially liked that there were plenty of chairs to sit in the lounge and there was a good selection of kitchenware for cooking. There was even the option of an aga or electric hob/oven.
The heating was efficient and plenty of hot water and there was wifi access - however this was a little bit patchy depending on which room you were in.
The cottage was well situated for motorway access meaning Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth etc were all under an hour away. Stirling is lovely.
We had a meal at Hendersons Bistro in Stirling which is an absolute must if you are visiting. There is also a golf club at the end of the lane and a Brewers Fayre a little bit further, both of which serve food.
All in all, enjoyable stay. Comfortable and clean cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
thank you for your review i am delighted you enjoyed your stay at ochil cottage
kind
regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A deceptively roomy cottage. As it was a family get together we had 3 cars but there was no trouble parking even though it was a small lane. There were 6 adults and one child in our party, so the second lounge was turned into a bedroom for the little one. We also had to use it to get wifi.
The cottage was very clean and all the chairs were comfy, a big plus factor. The bedrooms were compact but because of the large wardrobes it wasn't a problem. Enough room in the kitchen for everyone to sit and loads of workspace if you wish to cook. Plenty of hot water all the time. The owner was very helpful.
A couple of minor minus points - the kitchen cupboards had food left by previous renters. It would have been better to clear these as we had no way of knowing how long the food had been there, and it would have been useful to have a list of what was recyclable and which bin it was supposed to go in! We did manage to sort it eventually!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
thank you for your review i will take into account the packets of food that were left and i will have instructions printed out about recycling and which bins to use
kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing