We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, impressive cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ochil Cottage

outside ochil cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
side entrance to Ochil cottage
well equipped kitchen with stanley range with seating for 7
upstairs double bedroom
down stairs double  bedroom
large sitting room with plenty seating
entrance porch with seat
small sitting room with futon and french windows to decking
large sitting room
bathroom with shower over bath
kitchen with every thing you need to cook a lovely meal
kitchen
view from courtyard
Robert the Bruce Statue at the Rotunda in Bannockburn a short walk  from the cottage
Stirling Castle 15 mins from cottage
quiet corner to relax
The Wallace Monument as the sun goes down
Lochs and lakes in and around the Stirling area
The Bannock burn 5 mins walk from cottage - one of many beautiful country walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bannockburn, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gavin N
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, impressive cottage”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed here for a week during Hogmany. We were delighted to finally see some snow this year so travelled 400+ miles to see it, which meant we could finally build a snow man. This delightful 3 bedroom cottage suited our family and our friends (6 in total) and pet dog. Well situated to go just about anywhere in Scotland and a good range of amenities in the property, the owner, Anne, couldn't have been more accommodating for us, making it a truly pleasurable stay. Plenty of walks and trails to follow right on your doorstep.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage
Lovely to have you all here
And hope you can manage to come back in the summer time perhaps
Kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
thank you for taking the time to write a review
enjoyed have you here and meeting you all
im very happy you enjoyed staying at ochil cottage and hope to welcome you back again soon
kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
i am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ochil cottage and hope to welcome you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience - more than just one thing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thanks very much your review was interesting and informative
Hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stacey F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful experience, would have left early if we did not have our dogs and had to be in area all week on business.”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Overall a very poor experience which we had to endure as needed to be in area, had our dogs with us and three young children.

Following events made it an awful experience.

Fridge door top shelf broken, second shelf broke when my daughter opened door advised Ann who was not impressed and said couldn't be fixed apparently shelves in fridge door are not meant to take 4pint of milk despite fact I keep 3/4 in my fridge door frequently at home and have never had an issue.

Ants found all over kitchen work surface that were not sealed on further inspection were coming from cupboards where bits of food and debris were still deposited. My other half spent hours bleaching and scrubbing cupboards out and eradicating ants. Had to buy ant powder as were also all over hallway and downstairs bedroom. Meaning our baby could not crawl around as had to leavepowder in place until we left. Again advised Ann but were told well it's an old cottage.

Wifi useless as only very intermittent use in kitchen resulted in a £55mobile wifi bill as had to use mobile network to work.

On last evening our baby was poorly and was sick all over him and I, had to wash clothes which we had done all week without issue this time the washer door would not open. Had to leave clothes again advised Ann who was not impressed and said couldn't get anyone until Monday and that we had broken it, despite using it all week. We left £20 to cover postage and felt obliged too as she insinuated we had been too rough with it.

Rang on return to advise we had left blackout blind in upstairs bedroom to be told well I did see it but I'm not sending it to you until I see how much the washer door costs to fix. Did send our clothes back which cost a whole £2.95 after admitting had seen blind but didn't include it in package. I have waited to review to see if blind was returned but it has still not arrived.

Bathroom was adequate in our opinion but certainly not luxury with a makeshift painted glass panels. Kitchen was fairly well equipped but dare not leave anything out on surfaces incase attracted mass of ants again.

Day room smelled foisty or fishy we tried to ventilate by opening patio doors, windows even candles but could not get rid of smell so avoided that room at all costs as made us feel sick.

Outside area was good for kids to play and dogs but all play bikes and scoters etc were rusted and broken would have been better without as when kids saw them wanted to play with them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Well I'm very happy that you are only the third person in 10 years that has complained so much but I am so sorry you did not enjoy Ochil cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheenaEB
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy cottage ”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Ochil Cottage. It was ideally situated for both easy access to Stirling and Edinburgh and also some lovely walks right on the doorstep (our dog loved going straight out without a lead on). The cottage was clean and had everything we needed for our break. There was plenty of hot water and the heating was so efficient we had to turn it off as we were too warm! We found it very quiet and relaxing. Anne was easily contactable and helpful when we had any queries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thanking you for taking the time to write a review
happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ochil cottage hope to see you again
kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma T
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In desperate need of repair”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We did write a review on the 30th December, however not sure but it hasn't appeared.
Overall very disappointing, the heating kept breaking down, rooms were cold and dirty, cobwebs all over.
Crockery was chipped and dirty and pubic hair on the inside of the bathroom door. The shower leaked and the only ventilation was a window which opened into the small hall, which had seating,not pleasant.
The location is amazing and thankfully a lovely golf clubhouse nearby who kindly let Us borrow champagne glasses.
Overall the property was very disappointing, especially Xmas day when the AGar broke again , not helpful.
The house from arrival to departure smelt strongly of oil and a stair light was broken, we were told she was expecting both to be repaired, however that didn't happen, smoke alarms with no batteries, we replaced them and told Anne but not forthcoming with the money for the batteries
We did share our concerns with Ann who simply stated no one else has said this and you should have told me, which we did several times...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
well i am so sorry about the Stanly cooker it is fixed now and there was an electric cooker
the house was not dirty but again sorry you found cobwebs on a light fitting and cracked crockery i have now left note for any found please leave out and every thing else had been rectified
the leak you say was in bathroom has not been found the people that had Ochil cottage for new year just after you found none of these problems as you can read there review
but am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay
kind regards
A Pollock
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing