We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place to Drop Anchor!”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boathouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilsyth B&B and Inns
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a nice place to Drop Anchor!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked to stay here for a Reunion with former schoolfriends. We had arranged a Lunch and they gave us a Room separate from the main restaurant for a bit more privacy and they even turned off the Music so we could all hear each other! Food was excellent although the Fixed Menu is confusing as you can only order a Starter + a Main but not a Main + a Dessert, unlike most other places! Service was discreet but there when we needed them. At the evening Dinner, the Service and Food were once again excellent but although there was a good choice of Beers, surprisingly they do not offer House Wines with the Meals and the cost of a Bottle of Wine is about 20% more expensive compared to most other Pub/Restaurant Chains and Independents. Our Room was larger than we expected; with very comfortable beds and the Bathroom was spotless! Tea/Coffee facilities, Free Wifi, Ironing Boards and an Iron plus a Fridge come with the Room as does a Telephone which many Guests would welcome in case of an Emergency rather than having to leave the room to get help or use your own phone to contact the national number.Many Chain Hotels don't offer this and this Hotel should be applauded for providing this extra peace of mind for it's Guests. Breakfast was superb but carries a Warning - you will need to be really hungry to tackle the Big Scottish Breakfast as well as the Full Breakfast but there's lots of choices for those with less of an appetite. If you want a walk after that there is the Marina to go around or the beautiful Sensory Gardens next to the Hotel are well worth visiting. The Hotel offers excellent value for money and look for the special all-inclusive Offers during the week. Don't miss this.

Room Tip: There are 10 Rooms here, 5 on each of the Ground and First Floors, so Less Enabled Travellers are we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    103
    46
    35
    20
See reviews for
87
127
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A beautiful location for a lazy Saturday brunch. A table with a view will allow you to gaze over at the barges as well as cyclists and runners. Excellent value breakfast - the simple french toast is fabulous. Second time here for breakfast and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Would recommend booking online in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcroberts622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We called at the Boathouse for dinner whilst on a canal boat holiday and it was so good we went again the next night. We had steak the first night which melted in your mouth and fish the next night.
Our only critical comment is on the special menu it was the same vegetarian menu on both nights

Staff good service excellent

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Teapotsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here on a business trip recently. Didn't do room service which was a bit disappointing as I feel uncomfortable as a single female sitting in a restaurant on my own. However the food was very good. The rooms were very comfortable, however, I agree with another reviewer regarding plug points not near any mirrors (must have been a man that designed this!!) My room overlooked the marina and had a lovely view. Worth a visit to stay and eat though

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModGirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last night. The food is superb and well worth going for.

What was the biggest disappointment was the room. It was very tired with chipped furniture, lamps that were so big on the bedside table you could't put anything on it, no plug beside a mirror which for the ladies is a big inconvience when doing you hair. The bathroom was grubby with yellow stains around the base of the toilet, paint peeling off the walls and a shower head that was so full of muck the water couldn't flow out of it. The bed was so soft neither of us got a good sleep. When we spoke to the manager, we were told that they were 'just a pub with rooms' and yet it is advertised as a four star hotel - luxery it is not and a disappointment as we expected better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanera10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our room was very comfortable and clean and overlooked the marina. Such a lovely setting! Food in the restaurant was fine and there was a nice atmosphere. I can imagine it is very popular in the summer as it has decking with the same views and walks along the canal nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Our daughter stays in lenzie so we went there for lunch as it is only 10 mins from her home , we were not dissapointed , it was very busy (sat afternoon) so service was a bit slow but the food was amazing my son in law and i both had the burgers , the best burgers i have ever had , my wife and were at a certain place in gartocharn and was not a patch on the boathouse £2 more for the burger well worth it , cant wait to go back , also a lovely place

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 269andymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
2.8 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
0.8 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
9.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
825 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing