We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great wee find”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great wee find”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stumbled across this great wee place after needing some accommodation for a family wedding nearby. We decided to make a week of it and so glad we did. Heather and her family were the perfect hosts and Heather's attention to the little things made things all the more comfortable. We have had a fabulous week and will be booking again very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Marie and family, thank you so much for your great review. We are all glad that you had a great time here, and especially because you were having wedding times, which are always happy times. We would be so glad to see you all again the next time you are up visiting family. Hopefully the weather will cheer up a bit soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley a
1 review
“Warm welcome!”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a lovely little hidey hole to stay!! Lovely warm welcome from the family. Fantastic surprise welcome pack full of goodies! Clean and perfectly decorated little cottage with lots of interesting little gems hidden around the place. My only gripe.....was we didn't have enough time there to relax and appreciate this lovely farm location. Practically perfect in every way! Xxxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
What a generous review. It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We have tried to make the bothy homely, and we think we have made the bothy even homelier than our own home!!. We are just waiting on a quiet, sunny spell and we might just book in ourselves! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The lambs are ewing and Heather and her family are happy.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great place to stay. Everything you need and tucked a bit inside away from the main stream, but close enough to get where you want to go. Wonderful "surprise" basket. Treated like family. Heather sent her son's and daughters and herself as well to make sure we had all we needed. Got to see the solar eclipse due to Heathers attention to our needs. Clean well stocked accommodations. Wish we couldn't stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to our needs.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
We thank you so much for your kind review and warm words in our wee visitor book too. You had a lovely time at the bothy with your husband, and it was gorgeous Spring weather in Scotland. At that time of the year we were lambing, and it was nice to let you see that aspect of farm life. You are more than welcome to come all the way back over the "pond" and stay here again. We hope we showed you a genuine little corner of Scotland. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahP500...
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended!!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I was searching the web for overnight accommodation for a friend's wedding at Glenskirlie Castle (5 mins drive away), when I came across this gem of a place! Based on the reviews I decided we should extend our stay to 4 nights & take the kids along as well. I'm so glad I did, Heather is the perfect host and made us feel so welcome despite it being their busy lambing season. The Bothy is a lovely cosy place with amazing views & lots of little extras like baby lambs! I only wished we could have stayed longer! Many thanks to Heather & Dov, a very hardworking couple!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie D
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Fabulous hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. Cottage is fully equipped with everything you require including beverages, snacks, all linen, cleaning products and even painkillers which thankfully we didn't need. Likely to return again soon.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you to you all. I always have the pain killers..whether it's Hogmanay or not! Nothing worse than a headache on your holidays! So glad that you had a good stay and we would be really pleased for you all to return anytime.X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSLT
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful Country Home From Home”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely peaceful stay at the Stoury Bothy. It was pristinely clean and we were wonderfully surprised by the generous welcome basket, which Heather provided.

The main bedroom was generously sized, with an additional single bed. The other double bedroom was beautifully decorated and set out.

There was access from both the kitchen and the 2nd bedroom to the bathroom, which was large, warm and attractive.

The views from the Bothy were lovely, especially the one towards Banton Loch, which was the main reason we were visiting Kilsyth.

Although the lounge/kitchen was a bit 'nippy' on arrival, they didn't take long to heat up.

I cannot heap enough praise on the Stoury Bothy and Heather's hosting skills (nothing was too much trouble and she had a wealth of knowledge and a sunny disposition). We genuinely didn't want to leave and cannot wait to go back.

Heather should be proud.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so happy that you found what you came for. It was really moving to hear your reason for coming, and we will gladly welcome you back - perhaps in the summer time, when Banton looks even bonnier!. Take care and come back soon ! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynis L
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were made very welcome at this pretty cottage,warm and cosy with great views.everything we needed was there on arrival,milk,bread and butter and a lovely hamper containing local products and a bottle of wine which we enjoyed sitting outside admiring the view and farm life.
We enjoyed a trip to Loch Lomond and were very impressed with the nearby Falkirk Wheel,a great feat of engineering.
We would like to thank Heather for looking after us so well and being so kind to our ageing black Labrador Jack!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. You were more than welcome and we are so glad that you enjoyed the Golf and the nearby visitor attractions. Jack was an exemplary guest and I think he quite enjoyed his wee break too! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing