We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good wee hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good wee hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had an overnight stay at this hotel as it was the location of a friends wedding we were pleasantly surprised with our room, it was a lot bigger than most of the hotels we have ever stayed in and the bed was really comfy :-) The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked plus there was cereal, toast, juice tea, coffee etc that you helped yourself to only down side we experienced was having to wait for about 10 - 15mins at reception to check in because there was nobody there and no bell to ring for attention but check in was fast when someone did appear.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ahla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    87
    44
    30
    34
See reviews for
68
83
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one night only on our way back from the Isle of Skye as it was about half way, all we needed was a good night's sleep. Unfortunately we were not aware that we would be kept awake with loud music until 1am. Other residents were inconsiderate when returning to their rooms and kept us awake until 2.30am, needless to say sleep was out of the question!

The staff and food are brilliant, rooms basic

Room Tip: check for late night entertainment first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I travelled up from Liverpool, arriving at 10.20pm needing a good sleep. Very loud music until 1a.m. with D.J. the room was vibrating with the noise.. never again. Receptionist just about managed to book me in.. pay now.. deposit of £10 if you want the remote control for the television. Booklet re places to visit is for 2010-2011. Only hotel in Kilsyth.. what a pity.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpersofth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arrived at hotel to find some friends, who had booked a room at the beginning of August had tried to book in only to discover their room wasn't booked. My daughter went to book in and the attitude of the receptionist left a lot to be desired, my daughter took her to task for this. while talking to our friends another couple came in and were told there was no room booked for them either, once yes, mistakes can be made, but twice in less than 20 minutes, who are they trying to kid. We had been to a family party and came back to find the doors locked and no doorbell, we knocked another receptionist ignored us even after holding up room key, we finally got in after nearly knocking door down and a barmaid telling us place was closed until I pointed out we were residents. Food good, rooms small.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieLiz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilsyth hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were up from Liverpool with four other couples for a 60th birthday party nearby and stayed for two nights.

Rooms were ok - clean enough and just about big enough. Minor gripe was that there's no phone or remote control for the TV. Of more concern was the kettle turned the water brown when filled (rusty element?) and the hot water for the shower ran out if we weren't up quick enough!

Cooked breakfast was substantial but the lack of choice was irritating. It's Full Cooked or nothing. Kippers or even porridge would have been nice.

We got a small discount for the cold water problem but I'm not sure we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with baths, others with a small shower cubicle. State your preference on booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Was here twice this month for dinner, once with a party of four and once with a party of two. Both times the food was very nice-no complaints there. However, both times the service was not very good e.g. our table was full of empty glasses at one point so we had to ask a waiter to clear them to give us space to eat but he only cleared a few of them. On the other occasion they forgot my starter and I eventually had to ask for it, leaving me to eat alone. The waitress was however very apologetic and pleasant which made a lovely change from the less than pleasant blonde older woman that serves in there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mandz1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I'll keep this short, me and my partner decided to take advantage of the hotels meal deal (2 courses for £8.95 each) I ordered the Haggis and Black pudding fritters for starters and when the first plate arrived the inside of the fritters were frozen , so I sent it back requesting the same dish and to my disgust the exact same thing happened again.....totally un-professional and a lack of attention to detail taken not only for the first attempt but the second also. We both decided at this point to pick at our food not knowing if a qualified chef had even looked at the food never mind cooked it, we were given a 20% discount which fell well short of what we expected... what they also didn't know was that we were actually considering the venue for our wedding.....so thanks for making our mind up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justaweeclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
4.3 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.3 mi away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glasgow Stepps Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Parkfoot Street | Glasgow, Kilsyth G65 0SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel And Restaurant
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing