We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A group of us stayed over two nights for a wedding locally. The meal on the evening of arrival was very good value for the money. The staff throughout were attentive and helpful.
The problems mentioned by previous guests regarding hot water in the bathroom were easily solved on contacting the management who advised that there was a long pipe run from the storage tank to the bedrooms. Let it run until the water from the bedroom tap is hot and it is OK. There was noise from the bars until 1 am but as we were up late on both nights, not a major problem.

The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. Beyond the call of duty especially the breakfast waitress on the morning of Sunday 19/3/14 - I struggled to get her to take a small tip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyall w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    88
    47
    31
    37
See reviews for
73
86
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I visited The Coachman on Mothers day with my family and they served up a fantastic Full Scottish breakfast. I had not eaten here for almost a year, as my last visit was ruined by extremely poor service (which a lot of previous reviewers have experienced) Yesterday they got it almost right ,there were four of us and we all enjoyed our brekkie , plenty on the plate and I felt we had good value for money .Service was fine too.However ,there is still room for improvement ,no one asked if everything was ok ,or if we needed any top ups of coffee tea etc. One thing that has always irked me is probably "the manager" berating staff in front of the diners ???? It is not nice and by the content of other reviews it is not working .The Coachman should be achieving 5 stars from every diner and customer service seems to be where they fail . However I had an overall enjoyable experience ,would just like it be like that every time I visit

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbird59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 7 for Mother's Day lunch, I expected it to be busy and was happy to relax, take our time and have a nice meal. Unfortunately this was not even close to the service we received. I have bullet pointed the issues below:
£16.50 pp for a set meal, we asked to substitute a starter for garlic bread instead (much lesser value than a goats cheese tartlet or Stornaway black pudding etc) but we were advised it was not possible. We accepted this, weknew it was a set menu so not a massive issue just more disappointed than anything else for £16.50.

Took 50 minutes for the started to come. Even if its busy... 50 mins is excessive. Further to this, no one came to ask if we needed more drinks or update us etc.

Child's meal finally came out, it was another 10 mins before our started did.

Main meal was another half hour wait after starters.

Fathers meal of roast beef was so tough he couldn't cut through it, the idea of waiting another half hour meant he didn't want to send it back, on telling the staff they simply said sorry they would have exchanged but didn't remove it from the bill or anything.

Lastly, we had to request drinks, meals came with peas when we had requested they didn't etc, silly wee things that I normally wouldn't care about but it just all added to the dreadful service.

No dessert simply due to timing and poor service.

Not what I expect from the coachman, its normally great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparklexxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Food here was very tasty and had a wide variety to choose from.
They have deals on midweek and on their facebook they add deals frequently.
The restaurant is clean and staff friendly.
I had haggis and black pudding fritters for starter and then the ham salad and there was plenty of it and very tasty

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently visited the restaurant with my family. The staff were quite unfriendly and there was a very bad atmosphere. We waited on our food for around half an hour before being told the our order hadn't yet been processed and we would have to wait another 20 mins. Overall, the food was relatively nice but definitely not worth the price we paid. Very poor service and I don't expect to be back anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgowreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Decided to try here after hearing the food is good and they do a "two can dine for £14.99" offer. Went on a thursday and informed that the deal is only on certain days but decided to stay. Food was good and portions large but i think menu was overpriced. There was 4 of us, 4 starters and 4 mains and 4 cokes £75...not exactly a cheap mid week family dinner. Would def come again but ill be looking for the meal deal.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Migailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed over as we were attending a party. Reception was cold and unmanned. We had to prepay our rooms and were asked if we wanted to pay a £10 deposit per room for using the TV remote control - erm, no thanks. Both rooms were freezing - no thermostats on the radiators and a draught coming in at the window. A lot of road noise - went down to (the unmanned) reception (there are no phones in the rooms) - we couldn't move as everyone had checked in. Then we tried to have a bath - impossible due to lack of (lukewarm) water. Had to go down again (unmanned) and was told to let it run. We had and every time someone else nearby turned their taps on, our shower/taps went off! The manager came up and acknowledged the room was cold and sent up heaters. He offered to try and get a plumber but we've no idea if he was successful at 7pm on a Saturday night. When I pointed out that our toilet seat had dried blood spots on it and that I had to rinse hairs out of the bath, we were offered a room free which we accepted - he was helpful and pleasant. Horrible nights sleep - followed by a fantastic cooked breakfast. Our breakfast waitress was lovely - can't say the same about the rest. Such a shame as we really enjoyed the function. We heard many other guests leaving their rooms in the morning, all swapping stories of complaints. Appreciate that we weren't paying premium prices but a hotel room should be clean, warm, wind and watertight and have hot running water as a basic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlypow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilsyth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
4.3 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
498 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
136 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glazert Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Parkfoot Street | Glasgow, Kilsyth G65 0SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel And Restaurant
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing