We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner for 2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum had just got back from shopping in Stirling on Sunday. So decided to give the this place another try as hadn't been in for years.

It was lovely. Even though it was really busy staff sat us pretty quickly in a lovely booth up back. Staff were friendly and polite.

Food was lovely too. I had onion rings for starter. Mum had soup. Then we both had the mac and cheese. And some ice cream to follow. It's was very nice and lots on the plate. So 3 courses each and 2 drinks came to just over £30. Which I would say is good value.

Will be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    87
    45
    31
    36
See reviews for
71
85
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel provides the finest food of any restuarant within a ten mile radius.
We have dined her many times and the staf are terrific, so very attentive.
The food is by far the best in this area and we have dined in many around here.
They have a great menu to suit all tastesand priced very reasonable.
They have a desert that I love , creamed rice and poached sultanas mmmmm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Three of us had dinner and I have to say it was superb. All main courses were great. I had lamb with ratatouille and requested a baked potato instead of mashed potato and this was agreed to without hesitation. My lamb was moist and succulent. And all this on a very busy Wednesday night. Service was excellent too. There was a bit of a wait till our meal came but we were kept informed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I came here for our 1st Anniversary!! The first night I didn't sleep too great due to a party but not complaining!! The place is very busy and the atmosphere is great!! The food was good until the last night when I had the Salmon special and I loved it!! Totally made my weekend! Had a great weekend here and would recommend the restaurant! Food is great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed on a Saturday and initially everything seemed reasonable - the room was spacious, not spotlessly clean (though if you are fanatic about beds, no protectors!!) and bathroom ok though no mirror.
It was when we returned after a family function that we found that the bar directly below the room has karaoke until midnight! So if you are looking to sleep before one am I wouldn't bother! Although it does finish at midnight, there is the obvious noise from revellers as they are leaving and then the cleaning up process.
As it was only one night and luckily we had had a the benefit of a few wines to help us sleep, it was just about bearable - but I certainly wouldn't book again!
The cooked breakfast was good, cooked to order so nice and hot - but the croissants tasted a bit stale and the milk for the cereal tasted off.
In the end we booked cheap and these days you get what you pay for - and I understand hotels are having a tough time and therefore need to generate money, but it would have been fairer for the hotel to mention that there would be noise in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms are all on one level but ask for one furthest from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room was clean and all facilities worked with no issues at all, bed and bedding was very comfortable.

Evening meal and breakfast the next day were hearty and delicious and staff genuinely friendly and seemed happy to serve us without being over the top and in our faces.

Excellent value for money and many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Booking a group of mates in as our first stop on a bike tour of Scotland, I thought I was in trouble. We stood in the car park, overlooked by rundown social housing & I thought the lads were going to lynch me. It does look like a pretty dodgy place...

They perked up once we were inside. Rooms are basic but clean - perfectly functional.

The big plus is the bar/restaurant area. Bright, clean, busy, good atmosphere. Excellent food, too - and reasonably priced. Not at all what you'd have expected from the outside.

There were a few grumbles in the morning from the light sleepers, as there was a disco in the function room with loud music - and chatty patrons at the past-midnight kicking-out time. But a good fried breakfast with excellent coffee made up for it.

And the bikes in the car park? Absolutely fine.

So despite the appearance from the outside, this was a great overnight stop. And excellent value too

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TallSimonWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
4.3 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.3 mi away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Parkfoot Street | Glasgow, Kilsyth G65 0SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel And Restaurant
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing