We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lumpy Bumpy”

The Filling Station
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Longniddry
Cuisines: Scottish
Description: This may not look too encouraging; opposite a station just near a roundabout and roadworks on the main road. But the queues out the door are a good clue. Go inside and you find a very attractive owner and 5 or six very attractive girls all working their socks off in what may very well be the world's best sandwich store. Actually , if you are on the way to one of the 10 golf courses between here and Gullane this is the perfect place to stop for your (very substantial) snacks. How does a place earn the title of 'World's Best"? Well , for a start there are about 30 mixes you can choose from. I went with Curried Chicken and Mango and added assorted salad (including fresh beetroot!) on cracked wheat bread for a perfect picnic sandwich. Our picnic was on one of the 4 or 5 great windswept beaches nearby. The Filling Station do lots of fairly solid home baking as well. They leave free samples on the counter to tempt you. I had an Apple Cinamon 'Rock' cake as well. All in all, well worthy of the detour. Suggestions? Would have loved a Scotch Egg or a fresh Sausage Roll as well!
Restaurant details
Description: This may not look too encouraging; opposite a station just near a roundabout and roadworks on the main road. But the queues out the door are a good clue. Go inside and you find a very attractive owner and 5 or six very attractive girls all working their socks off in what may very well be the world's best sandwich store. Actually , if you are on the way to one of the 10 golf courses between here and Gullane this is the perfect place to stop for your (very substantial) snacks. How does a place earn the title of 'World's Best"? Well , for a start there are about 30 mixes you can choose from. I went with Curried Chicken and Mango and added assorted salad (including fresh beetroot!) on cracked wheat bread for a perfect picnic sandwich. Our picnic was on one of the 4 or 5 great windswept beaches nearby. The Filling Station do lots of fairly solid home baking as well. They leave free samples on the counter to tempt you. I had an Apple Cinamon 'Rock' cake as well. All in all, well worthy of the detour. Suggestions? Would have loved a Scotch Egg or a fresh Sausage Roll as well!
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lumpy Bumpy”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

The takeaway chocolate or toffee lumpy bumpy pudding is to die for. Worth picking up if your passing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank body_guard70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    6
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best filled rolls in East Lothian!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

A sub roll from here is a real experience. Freshly baked baguettes filled with delicious fillings and topped with every salad topping available. Delicious, only trouble is getting the gnashers around the roll :) coffee is also great, would eat here every day for lunch if lived closer. Try lumpy bumpy cake, especially chocolate variety. There is ALWAYS a queue despite lots of really brilliant staff, shows you how popular the place is. A quick trip down to Longniddry Bents is great place to enjoy your treats while looking out to the Forth.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pecanpie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Carrot Cake”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just had the most amazing carrot cake from the Filling Station. Fresh, moist and obviously home made. Brilliant!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gullane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stopped of here a few times for lunch takeaway and it never fails to impress. The rolls and fillings are always nice and fresh and their selection of cakes, scones etc are a real treat. Staff are always pleasant and always smiling. They all work so hard and are packed at lunchtime which is always a good sign that the place is good. They also do the most delightful coffee and teas , during the summer months you can sit outside with your coffee and enjoy the sunshine. Always consistent and never disappoints.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastLothianCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best bacon & egg rolls in the area”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I'm very fussy about my breakfast roll. I like REAL bread with a whiff of flour on the crust, I want crispy free range bacon that does not hang out but is evenly spread in the bun, and I need my egg to be fried in a way that the white is all hard but the yolk (that nice orange egg yolk that you know could only have come from free range chickens) is still runny in the middle. And this particular set up of a bacon and egg roll I can ALWAYS find in the Longniddry Filling Station. ...and this was only 1 type of breakfast roll, try the cheese scones or anything, really, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m_sunci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Filling Station also viewed

Longniddry, East Lothian
Longniddry, East Lothian
 
Longniddry, East Lothian
Gullane, East Lothian
 

Been to The Filling Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing