We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Faside Estate B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$97
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ducks Inn(Aberlady)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalhousie Castle(Bonnyrigg)
US$291
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
48
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiral staircasehuge bedroomcontinental breakfastgracious hostslog burnerpainted ceilingchanged dailyarthur's seatmary queen of scotsianbattlementsmusselburghscotlanddungeonwoodburnersetter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Amazingly authentic, that's what we loved about 2 nights in The Tower Suite. Atmosphere in abundance. Can't fault the accommodation in any way and the lovely lady keeper of the castle Sue gives the most excellent hospitality. Just the most perfect hideaway!! We will definitely return, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitastoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

This was my families first visit to scotland. This place looked so interesting on the internet so I booked. It did not disappoint, we were warmly greeted by the owners son. The apartment was clean and comfortable and views down to sea were jaw dropping.
We had fresh eggs from the resident chickens, bread and milk given too us. Later during our stay a personal tour of the castle by the owner. Our only think i wish was different was our stay was too short.

We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjackson-jsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We where two families staying in the two self catering apartments at Faside. Gateside and Woodside fullfilled all our expectations. Well equipped, nicely furnished and great views. Big law, perfect for outdoor activities. We received a warm welcome by the hosts and even a guided tour inside the castle...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

On 11.11.11 a car picked us up from our wedding reception and brought us to our unknown location. This was a surprise present: a stay at Fa'side Tower! The experience was utterly amazing. We were met at the door by a lovely lady who gave us a guided tour and a little history (loved the dungeon) then showed us our beautiful accommodation with a rooftop terrace and stunning panoramic views. With a bed big enough for a giant and a gorgeous double ended bath, we had a relaxing and very romantic night.
Thank u so much, it was the perfect way to end a perfect day :)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biddulph111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have just returned from a three night stay in the Tower at Fa'side Castle just a few miles outside of Edinburgh. This castle was for many years a ruin and used as a playground for local children, including my husband! Set on the top of a hill, down a rural lane, the castle has wonderful views of the countryside and out to sea. The castle, which is owned by a lovely couple, has been rebuilt in recent years and now offers bed and continental breakfast to guests. The breakfast consisted of a variety of meats, cheese, pastries, bread, fresh fruit etc. all of which was changed daily. The Tower offers couples a unique opportunity. The bedroom is large with the luxury of both a massive bed and roll top bath. The linen and bath towels were all crisp and clean. Access to the Great Hall with its log fire, big sofa and comfy chairs proved very welcoming.The access to the roof top battlements provided an added bonus and a view for miles on a clear day. Great to see the history of the castle detailed in their very own book. Good well maintained grounds and gardens also. A car is a must if you wish to venture out but personally I would have been happy staying put for three days and enjoying the luxury! The steps up the four floors are very step so don't pack a huge heavy suitcase unless you have someone strong to carry it. Not a cheap stay but well worth it for a special event. Excellent facility.

Room Tip: Only one room available so unique!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeftravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FasideEstate, Front Office Manager at Faside Estate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Contributor

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Faside Estate.

Kind Regards

The Team at Faside Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews